We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in town!”
Review of Hotel Ryland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ryland
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Right in town!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Nicest folks. Very accommodating!!!! Great value for the holiday season.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    20
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wichita,ks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Anyone who has ever stayed at the Miner since Wes and Mega took over has had the best stay ever. They bend over backwards to make the guest feel welcome, to get you what ever you need, the rooms are nice and cozy, fully equipped and the atmosphere is beyond your wildest dreams. It doesnt matter what time of the year you go or how long you stay they will have you feeling like family before you leave. My husband and I go there once a month more if we can and I wouldnt trade them, or the lodge for all the riches in the world or the fanciest motel available. The Lazy Minor tops them all by far. Dont believe me give it a try. Oh and yes the town does shut down at 9 except for the bars but you have so much fun all day who makes it past 9 any how.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redrivernm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

New owners. They were pleasant and helpful. But the descriptions I read here did not reflect our visit.

We were running late and tried to call the hotel, but all numbers on their printed material did not work. They said they are working on that. We arrived past 9 PM and were told taxes had gone up in town and we owed another $30. Then we found out all restaurants in town close at 9 PM and there was nowhere to get any dinner. However, we went out to walk on the Main Street which was full of Music from the bars and accidentally met the owner of the rib shop who opened up so we could get Ribs to go!

Our suite: Hard beds Tiny bedrooms! Sofa was a futon which kept slipping off the frame.
All other chairs were kitchen table chairs. No screens in bedroom windows and you need them open at night because of no air conditioning. So you get bugs. Front door lock was broken .Nothing was up to date or matched in the rooms. Kitchen was adequate.

The Inn was full and they are limited on parking. We ended up parking on the street or in an unlighted , unpaved side yard.

The cleaning ladies were nice and helpful.

The free historical tour of the town on the streetcar was fun. Townspeople were friendly and wandering around shopping was fun for a day. The town has added lots of little family attractions. Gorgeous countryside.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DadAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I wish we would've went there for our ski trip this year. We instead tried a new resort and was very disappointed. The Lazy Miner is unsurpassed in friendliness, price and coziness. We had the upstairs suite that faced the street. The quaint shops surrounding the motel makes for a nice view. The balcony with seating was next to our room where we could hang out. We had a little den with a sofa bed (which was VERY comfortable where I fell asleep one night watching TV) in front of the fireplace. I desperately want to return.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasMist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onalaska, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Somewhat dated but friendly staff, very hospitable. Rooms were clean, spacious and pretty well equipped. Location is great for access to town. Nice grassy area to relax (and grill), playground is a little old (but that didn't stop our kids). Great deal for the money, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — relaxed feel, had a living room with couches
  • Disliked — it's a little dated
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyGuy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2007

My family and I are new residents to the state of NM moving here only a year ago from NC. We live in Rio Rancho and since my husband had to go into the Northern Mountains of NM for business my girls and I decided to go with him to see this part of NM. It was Good Friday and schools and most businesses were closed. We extremely enjoyed the Mountains and Scenery of this part of the state. We were waiting patiently for God to show us His Glory along the way in means of any type of Wild Life. It got late in the day and we were going to head home when I begged my husband to drive through Red River since we were already so close. When we came upon Lazy Minor Lodge we felt "right at home". We decided to call it a day and rest there that evening. The owner, Richard Green was so pleasant. He showed us our room and stated that anytime now the deer would come feed and we'd enjoy the "show" from our room! A short time later several wild deer came to eat the feed Richard had out for them right in front of our room! My family & I were in awe of God's Glory!!! We even got to feed the deer our favorite Pink Lady Apples! What a day! It was the best Good Friday ever! Thanks Richard and Mary for a wonderful evening.

  • Liked — The beautiful scenery, wildlife, and staff
  • Disliked — We had to leave!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzRioRancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2004

We have stayed at Lazy Miner Lodge on numerous occasions. We go to Red River at least once a year and always stay at the Lazy Miner. The innkeepers, Richard and Mary, always make you feel at home and just like you are cherished family members. The accomodations while rustic, have all the comforts of home and are comparable in condition to many other places in Red River that are much more expensive. We wholeheartedly recommend Lazy Miner to anyone.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#6 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryland

Property: Hotel Ryland
Address: 505 E. Main Street, PO Box 836, Red River, NM 87558 (Formerly Lazy Miner Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your Red River vacation at the Hotel Ryland. Under new ownership, our historic Red River hotel is nestled in the heart of Red River. You will love the hotel suites, cozy cabins and the fabulous location near restaurants, shops, galleries and Red River special events. Close enough to crawl to the local saloons, live music and dancing. In town for skiing? The Red River Ski Area slopes are located one block behind the hotel and the hotel offers a free On Demand Shuttle to any of the 3 Red River chair lifts or anywhere else in town. AT A GLANCE: Situated on Main Street in the center of downtown Red River, New Mexico. TheHotel Ryland offers guests a budget friendly and stylish place to say during their Red River vacation. This boutique Red River hotel is conveniently located in the middle of historic Red River, near the river, Copper chair lift, shopping, great dining, shopping and night life. The budget friendly hotel suites and cabins are ideal for an extended stay, weekend ski trip, romantic getaway, family reunion or any special event. Feel at home in the cabin inspired design, rich earth toned color scheme and comfortable furnishings. Enjoy separate living and sleeping area's. Relax and enjoy a movie on the flat screen T.V. Or indulge in the luxurious triple sheet bed linens and the premium bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Miner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing