We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Red River”
Review of Hotel Ryland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ryland
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

A great place to stay right in the middle of Red River, NM. The owners were very kind and hospitable; willing to go out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We would definitely stay at Hotel Ryland again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovegetaways04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 119 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

They even have a doggie happy hour - meet people outside around their outdoor fireplaces. Clean and well maintained. Fishing and river walk not far away. Texas Reds, Bull of the Woods, Motherlode just minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IceManNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I love the way the beds were separated into 2 rooms. Place was great. The view of the town and mountains was great. I spent a lot of time on the porch. It was also nice that Stephanie checked on me before and after arrival.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soberingwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is probably the best place I've stayed at. I have stayed there when it was the Lazy Miner, but it has improved tremendously. We enjoyed visiting with the owners and had a fun time on Saturday evening. We didn't pick a good time to go fishing as the wind blew hard all week-end, but over all, we will go back to the hotel Ryland next year, if not before. Maybe in the fall
The only thing I missed was that there were no Hummingbird feeders out.
Me and my friends are from Texline, Tx; Folsum, NM and Clayton, NM
We difinately recommend this place!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Hotel Ryland has been recently renovated and is very pleasant to stay at! My 6 year old son had a blast playing in the grass area and making s'mores (that are provided by the staff!) We had a wonderful time chatting with the owners and grilling steaks out on the gas grills that are also provided, as well as coolers full of beverages. All around welcoming and "at home" feeling. The only qualm I had, that had nothing to do with the hotel/staff itself, is that they allow dogs and the room directly next to us had 3 dogs that barked, barked and barked on and off all night long! I give this hotel two thumbs up and will suggest to all our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I had a great visit to this wonderful hotel. The staff were warm and friendly, and my visit was just delightful! Would definitely recommend to my friends and family when they go to Red River, New Mexico to visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was our 7th time in Red River to ski. This place was definitely the most fun we've had. The cabins were being upgraded, and our room was very nice with a full kitchen, flat screen, even new paint. They have a big courtyard right on mainstreet where we grilled out and had a bonfire while the kids played on the playsets. The new manager came out and got the bonfire going and gave us stuff for smores! A bunch of guests came out and and we had a great time. They have bikes and sleds that they let us use too. It was cheaper than the other hotels we've stayed at in town and a lot better. This is our second time staying here and it's gotten a lot better. They've made a lot of improvements and have a new manager. We'll be back!

Room Tip: tell them if you want to have a bonfire, and they'll hook it up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 9 in Red River
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#9 of 9 in Red River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
148 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
99 reviews
23.1 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryland

Address: 505 E. Main Street, PO Box 836, Red River, NM 87558 (Formerly Lazy Miner Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: $49 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your Red River vacation at the Hotel Ryland. Our family owned and historic Red River hotel is nestled in the heart of Red River. You will love the hotel suites, cozy cabins and the fabulous location near restaurants, shops, galleries and Red River special events. Close enough to crawl to the local saloons, live music and dancing. In town for skiing? The Red River Ski Area slopes are located one block behind the hotel and the hotel offers a free On Demand Shuttle to any of the 3 Red River chair lifts or anywhere else in town. AT A GLANCE: Situated on Main Street in the center of downtown Red River, New Mexico. The Hotel Ryland offers guests a budget friendly and stylish place to say during their Red River vacation. This boutique Red River hotel is conveniently located in the middle of historic Red River, near the river, Copper chair lift, shopping, great dining, shopping and night life. The budget friendly hotel suites and cabins are ideal for an extended stay, weekend ski trip, romantic getaway, family reunion or any special event. Feel at home in the cabin inspired design, rich earth toned color scheme and comfortable furnishings. Enjoy separate living and sleeping area's. Relax and enjoy a movie on the flat screen T.V. Or indulge in the luxurious triple sheet bed linens and the premium bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Miner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing