We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NASTY”
Review of Hotel Ryland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ryland
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I wouldn't begin to have enough space to write everything that was so disgusting with our stay. Paid for two nights in advanced, couldn't bring myself to spend more then one night there. Was relieved to lose my money for the second night just so I would not be tortured to spend another second there. Travel alot and never been in any place that even would come close to this disgusting place. Dirty beyond words.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihito13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ryland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 117 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We reserved a room for 2 night stay,The hotel was dirty, screens busted out,therefor if you opened your window for air,because there was no air conditioning you will be sleeping with bugs biting you all night long,and that is the least of their problems. Our bed spread had blood spots on it,when they tried to offer another room the bed in that room had even more blood spots all over the bed,when we refused to stay the second night they would not refund our money,We left and stayed at best western. This was a horrible experience for my family!! Would not advise anyone to stay.. Almost ruined our entire trip,and had to spend more money than expected.We should have gotten a refund for the second night,very very unfair and disrespectful!!!!! To be totally honest Lazy Minor Lodge is a nasty dirty bug infested place to stay!!

Room Tip: Best Western
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwoodrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

What a wonderful surprise we found here. Spent Memorial Day weekend 2012 here. I've stayed in hotels all across the US and Canada but in my opinion, the Lazy Miner Lodge is up there with the best of them. We were treated just like family by a real down home management couple. Yeah, there's no pool or hot tub. No fancy high priced attached restaurant but how about hosts that cook you a $10.00 per person steak grilled the way you want dinner with more trimmings than you could ever eat. That was Saturday night. Sunday night was smoked ribs. Yeah we sat outside on picnic tables but we didn't come here for a sterile visit. Later we sat around the fire pit with the deer grazing just yards from us. Can't get that at the upscale places because everything is blacktop and cement. You best believe we are coming back again next year to enjoy this jewel on the strip. Mike M. Phoenix, AZ

Room Tip: Room sizes vary from single to three unit apartment size. Some units have full kitchens others just...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We loved staying at the Lazy Miner Lodge. The owners were friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location is convenient to restaurants. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainerrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was my third time to stay at Lazy Miner Lodge over the last 9 years, and the place has never changed. It is small and family owned and operated. The lodge is definiltely older and could use a few updates, but it is a great little place for a bunch of ski bums who plan to hit the slopes. Don't expect the Ritz, but do expect to be treated nicely, promptly and with respect.

Room Tip: Be prepared because all of the walls are thin. My husband and I had to whisper so we didn't wake...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We decided to stay at the Lazy Miner because they accepted pets (kudos for that) but quickly realized the error of our ways. First, if you're going to be there during the winter bring a pen and paper when you check in because you're going to need to take notes on some rather complicated instructions on the proper and improper ways to adjust the gas fireplace and heater--not what I wanted after a long day of travel. Apparently if you turn the heater/fireplace dials the wrong way you're going to need to call the owners to fix the problem (I had a quick vision of me causing a massive gas explosion by turning the dial the wrong way). But ok, whatever. Then we get in the room and find out that the Lazy Miner doesn't provide soap or shampoo. I found the owner outside and asked for soap and shampoo and he said they didn't provide it but he'd go look to see if other guests had left some there as they sometimes do. Of course, no guests had left their soap or shampoo. Not that I would have used someone elses soap but, again, whatever. The rooms could use a litle updating, particulrly, the bathrooms. They were old with a grungy feeling although they were clean. Lastly, it felt as if the owners were eyeing us. And not in a friendly way. Just a feeling--nothing more. At any rate we recently spent 3 nights at the Best Western and would highly recommend it over the Lazy Miner (they take pets, provide a sweet breakfast, are right next to the ski area and are friendly).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Lazy Miner sits right on Main Street, close to dining, fun and all things Red River!

The grounds have a Picnic-Play area with a couple of BBQ grills, a small swing-set, a place to play horse-shoes and its just up from the actual river.

This is is your typical mountain cabin, there are several individual rooms upstairs and downstairs. The two main rooms downstairs connect to accommodate up to 16, we know, that's how many we had! We had double kitchens and living rooms, great for family dining and games! We recommend Head Bands!

Keep in mind this is a rustic cabin, don't expect a diamond resort and you'll have a great time. The owners were helpful on multiple occasions and very nice!

Parking is a bit tight, with plenty of street parking. We had no luck with the listed phone number or email on Red River website.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFamilyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Red River
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
96 reviews
13.0 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryland

Address: 505 E. Main Street, PO Box 836, Red River, NM 87558 (Formerly Lazy Miner Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: $49 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your Red River vacation at the Hotel Ryland. Our family owned and historic Red River hotel is nestled in the heart of Red River. You will love the hotel suites, cozy cabins and the fabulous location near restaurants, shops, galleries and Red River special events. Close enough to crawl to the local saloons, live music and dancing. In town for skiing? The Red River Ski Area slopes are located one block behind the hotel and the hotel offers a free On Demand Shuttle to any of the 3 Red River chair lifts or anywhere else in town. AT A GLANCE: Situated on Main Street in the center of downtown Red River, New Mexico. The Hotel Ryland offers guests a budget friendly and stylish place to say during their Red River vacation. This boutique Red River hotel is conveniently located in the middle of historic Red River, near the river, Copper chair lift, shopping, great dining, shopping and night life. The budget friendly hotel suites and cabins are ideal for an extended stay, weekend ski trip, romantic getaway, family reunion or any special event. Feel at home in the cabin inspired design, rich earth toned color scheme and comfortable furnishings. Enjoy separate living and sleeping area's. Relax and enjoy a movie on the flat screen T.V. Or indulge in the luxurious triple sheet bed linens and the premium bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Miner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing