We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Red River!”
Review of Hotel Ryland

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Ryland
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We loved staying at the Lazy Miner Lodge. The owners were friendly, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the location is convenient to restaurants. We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rainerrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ryland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 117 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was my third time to stay at Lazy Miner Lodge over the last 9 years, and the place has never changed. It is small and family owned and operated. The lodge is definiltely older and could use a few updates, but it is a great little place for a bunch of ski bums who plan to hit the slopes. Don't expect the Ritz, but do expect to be treated nicely, promptly and with respect.

Room Tip: Be prepared because all of the walls are thin. My husband and I had to whisper so we didn't wake...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We decided to stay at the Lazy Miner because they accepted pets (kudos for that) but quickly realized the error of our ways. First, if you're going to be there during the winter bring a pen and paper when you check in because you're going to need to take notes on some rather complicated instructions on the proper and improper ways to adjust the gas fireplace and heater--not what I wanted after a long day of travel. Apparently if you turn the heater/fireplace dials the wrong way you're going to need to call the owners to fix the problem (I had a quick vision of me causing a massive gas explosion by turning the dial the wrong way). But ok, whatever. Then we get in the room and find out that the Lazy Miner doesn't provide soap or shampoo. I found the owner outside and asked for soap and shampoo and he said they didn't provide it but he'd go look to see if other guests had left some there as they sometimes do. Of course, no guests had left their soap or shampoo. Not that I would have used someone elses soap but, again, whatever. The rooms could use a litle updating, particulrly, the bathrooms. They were old with a grungy feeling although they were clean. Lastly, it felt as if the owners were eyeing us. And not in a friendly way. Just a feeling--nothing more. At any rate we recently spent 3 nights at the Best Western and would highly recommend it over the Lazy Miner (they take pets, provide a sweet breakfast, are right next to the ski area and are friendly).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Lazy Miner sits right on Main Street, close to dining, fun and all things Red River!

The grounds have a Picnic-Play area with a couple of BBQ grills, a small swing-set, a place to play horse-shoes and its just up from the actual river.

This is is your typical mountain cabin, there are several individual rooms upstairs and downstairs. The two main rooms downstairs connect to accommodate up to 16, we know, that's how many we had! We had double kitchens and living rooms, great for family dining and games! We recommend Head Bands!

Keep in mind this is a rustic cabin, don't expect a diamond resort and you'll have a great time. The owners were helpful on multiple occasions and very nice!

Parking is a bit tight, with plenty of street parking. We had no luck with the listed phone number or email on Red River website.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DFamilyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Nicest folks. Very accommodating!!!! Great value for the holiday season.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Anyone who has ever stayed at the Miner since Wes and Mega took over has had the best stay ever. They bend over backwards to make the guest feel welcome, to get you what ever you need, the rooms are nice and cozy, fully equipped and the atmosphere is beyond your wildest dreams. It doesnt matter what time of the year you go or how long you stay they will have you feeling like family before you leave. My husband and I go there once a month more if we can and I wouldnt trade them, or the lodge for all the riches in the world or the fanciest motel available. The Lazy Minor tops them all by far. Dont believe me give it a try. Oh and yes the town does shut down at 9 except for the bars but you have so much fun all day who makes it past 9 any how.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redrivernm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

New owners. They were pleasant and helpful. But the descriptions I read here did not reflect our visit.

We were running late and tried to call the hotel, but all numbers on their printed material did not work. They said they are working on that. We arrived past 9 PM and were told taxes had gone up in town and we owed another $30. Then we found out all restaurants in town close at 9 PM and there was nowhere to get any dinner. However, we went out to walk on the Main Street which was full of Music from the bars and accidentally met the owner of the rib shop who opened up so we could get Ribs to go!

Our suite: Hard beds Tiny bedrooms! Sofa was a futon which kept slipping off the frame.
All other chairs were kitchen table chairs. No screens in bedroom windows and you need them open at night because of no air conditioning. So you get bugs. Front door lock was broken .Nothing was up to date or matched in the rooms. Kitchen was adequate.

The Inn was full and they are limited on parking. We ended up parking on the street or in an unlighted , unpaved side yard.

The cleaning ladies were nice and helpful.

The free historical tour of the town on the streetcar was fun. Townspeople were friendly and wandering around shopping was fun for a day. The town has added lots of little family attractions. Gorgeous countryside.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DadAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.5 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#4 of 8 in Red River
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
145 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
96 reviews
13.0 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ryland

Address: 505 E. Main Street, PO Box 836, Red River, NM 87558 (Formerly Lazy Miner Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Red River
Price Range: $49 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience your Red River vacation at the Hotel Ryland. Our family owned and historic Red River hotel is nestled in the heart of Red River. You will love the hotel suites, cozy cabins and the fabulous location near restaurants, shops, galleries and Red River special events. Close enough to crawl to the local saloons, live music and dancing. In town for skiing? The Red River Ski Area slopes are located one block behind the hotel and the hotel offers a free On Demand Shuttle to any of the 3 Red River chair lifts or anywhere else in town. AT A GLANCE: Situated on Main Street in the center of downtown Red River, New Mexico. The Hotel Ryland offers guests a budget friendly and stylish place to say during their Red River vacation. This boutique Red River hotel is conveniently located in the middle of historic Red River, near the river, Copper chair lift, shopping, great dining, shopping and night life. The budget friendly hotel suites and cabins are ideal for an extended stay, weekend ski trip, romantic getaway, family reunion or any special event. Feel at home in the cabin inspired design, rich earth toned color scheme and comfortable furnishings. Enjoy separate living and sleeping area's. Relax and enjoy a movie on the flat screen T.V. Or indulge in the luxurious triple sheet bed linens and the premium bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lazy Miner Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing