We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Above-and-Beyond!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edelweiss Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We had a fantastic time in Red River while staying at the Edelweiss! The facility was very clean and well-maintained. Prior to our arrival, Steve Hilyar (the manager) had driven over to Taos and gotten a new 40-inch screen HGTV and hooked it up in our unit (simply because we asked if the unit had a dvd player)! He also shared his personal number with us, should we have any problems...and we did call him a couple of times with silly questions about movies, etc. And he was happy to help no matter the request. On the day we were to depart, we discovered we had a flat tire. Steve went above and beyond to get us in touch with the only tire fellow in Red River after hours. Steve even used his personal air compressor twice to help us diagnose the problem, then to get us safely to the auto shop. When I tried to at least tip him, he refused my money. Very family-oriented happy place to stay.....very obvious the whole family is involved in making guest as comfortable as possible. By the way, the 92 degree pool is WONDERFUL...you can swim in it anytime, and dry off in the sauna so you don't freeze...very nice!

Room Tip: We were in unit 24 this time, and LOVED the way it was decorated. Very pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissManager, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thanks for the glowing review Sue. It was our pleasure to help make your stay in Red River a positive one. We hope to see you back in the near future...ski season will be here sooner than you think!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

WOW! Brand new everything in Unit 1. New kitchen, new flat screens, new beds, new bathroom. This was so much nicer than a hotel. The unit we stayed in is located in the back, and has an incredible view of a meadow. We accidently left our car unlocked overnight. No worries, no one came by to disturb it.

Someone put a lot of effort into this unit. I really appreciated all the details. The artwork was a nice touch. Very quite complex, even in the morning when I went for a run.

What a treasure! Didn't know these condominiums were available. Glad I found them so I know where to go this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2016

Thank you for your review, we hope you remember us on your next trip to Red River. Come check out the latest remodel on #1!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My family took a much needed break to Red River. Our condominium overlooked the
meadow. Deer came every night to eat the grass and sleep. My husband began to say "cue the deer" as the sunset. Two hours later they would arrive. New stove in the condo made cooking dinner easy. Plenty of spices, new pots and pans, spotless fridge. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen are spotless.

Hubby wanted to stay in and watch TV, so my son and I walked around town. Everything is close to the Condos. Der Mart Grocery Store is across the street for the morning paper, and a cute coffee shop around the corner.

What a wonderful place these condo's are. More like a private home. No traffic and the condo we stayed in had everything. Can't wait to come back and "cue the deer".

Room Tip: There was another unit next to us, unit 1. It also looked out onto the meadow with the deer. When...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Thank you for your review. We hope to meet you on your next visit to Red River.

Phil and Kolleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Nice condo in Red River, best snow I've seen there in years. The condominium was clean comfortable and had an excellent price for eight adults, plenty of room and the wood burning fire place and outdoor heated pool and hot tub when were a big plus, there's nothing like sitting in a hoy tub with friends and family while it's snowing. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jlrd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissManager, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you for visiting Red River, NM; Ski Town of the Southwest! However, we do not have a hot tub at the Edelweiss Condos of Red River. We do, however, have a pool that is heated to at least 92 degrees year 'round. We just wanted prospective customers to be informed. ~Steve & Missy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We just got back from a ski trip and stayed at the Edelweiss once again. Steve and Missy Hilyar are some of the best condo managers we have ever come into contact yet. Those of you who travel with kids know how important it is to have good beds, thick walls and a great kitchen. Just call, tell them what you need, and they will set you up with the perfect condo. In our case, we made a last minute change and they were more than happy to accommodate us. They got housekeeping to start working and it was ready in record time (just enough for us to get our ski equipment at Sitzmark where we go every single time for reliable equipment and excellent customer service).

After skiing for three blissful days with no injuries, our luck ran out on our drive back home. 15 minutes outside of Red River, our van overheated. We coasted into Eagle Nest where we found an amazing community of mountain people who stepped up and helped us get a new thermostat. Since the tow truck would only take one person with our car, Steve volunteered to come get the rest of our family and take us back to the condo in Red River. They let us hang out there all afternoon while our van was being fixed. Without their kindness, we would have been stranded in Eagle Nest all afternoon.

I cannot say enough things about how well they treated our family while we were there. If you need something, they will try their best to get it for you. There is firewood stacked outside, complete with kindling so you can actually get a fire going in the evenings. The heated pool and sauna are wonderful after a long day on the mountain. From a cook's perspective, I am always impressed with the quality of the appliances and the amount of cookware/utencils. You can quite literally, arrive with nothing, shop at Dermarkt and cook just about anything in the condo. They have grills outside, but in the winter, it's a bit chilly to grill steaks.

We've been coming to Red River since we were in college and have stayed in other places, but none of them compare to the Edelweiss. The Hilyars don't tolerate loud or disruptive groups in their condo and since they are on-site, you get great peace of mind, knowing that your family can get a good nights' sleep while you are there. The beds and linens are comfortable, there are plenty of towels, they have washer/dryers, and lots of storage space. I can't think of a single thing that we wished they had.

We will never stay anywhere else. Period.

Room Tip: Tell the Hilyars what you need and let them set you up with the perfect unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MizTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissManager, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and compliments. Our key in management at the Edelweiss is to remember that we too go on vacation and we try to treat our guests the way that we would like to be treated. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip back to Red River. ~Steve and Missy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

My family and a friend stayed in Condo # 8 for 4 nights in mid- October. We wanted to just move in and stay as soon as we saw it! The country / rustic decor and comfort combined to make this much more than just a place to sleep after a long day of playing! The location, right on the edge of town and on the edge of the forest, was perfect. Get up in the morning, start the 4 wheelers and ride right into the forest! Full kitchen and outside propane grill makes you want to stay in for dinner and enjoy this place rather than eating out. Upstairs bedrooms with the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in... and watching the starry sky or a mountain sunrise from the balcony... wow!

Room Tip: Number 8 faces the east... great for stepping out of bed, onto the bacony to enjoy a mountain sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissManager, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2012

Thank you for this review of Condo # 8. We are happy to announce that after a short time off of the rental pool, the new owners of this condo have placed it back in the rental pool and it is available for rental in the future. ~Steve and Missy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have made two trips to Red River, NM this summer, staying a week each time in the newly remodeled #8 condo @ Edelweiss. This western theme condo is spectacuar and so comfortable. We and another couple shared the condo each time and the two king size beds with lots of pillows made the stay super restful after a long day of riding 4 wheelers in the mountains...we loved being able to ride out from the condo without trailering! The condo was well equipped with high quality furnishings, kitchen appliances, and three high-def tv's...cable, too. The condo also had bunk beds built in which would make it ideal for a family get-away. The heated pool and sauna were a great way to relax at the end of the day. Mallett Park is right out the back door and we had a blast playing on the disc golf course. We look forward to our next stay in #8!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2016

Thank you for your review. We hope to meet you on your next visit to Red River.

Phil and Kolleen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 9 in Red River
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 9 in Red River
567 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#9 of 9 in Red River
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
148 reviews
13.6 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golden Eagle Lodge
Golden Eagle Lodge
#6 of 9 in Red River
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Condominiums

Address: 500 W High, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Price Range: $137 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edelweiss Condos are built around a central courtyard that includes a pool/that is heated to 92 degrees year 'round, dry sauna, 6 gas grills and a picnic area. We currently have 21 units available for rental. Each condo is individually owned and decorated to the owner's taste. Each condo has 2 bedrooms and at a minimum 1 1/2 baths. A few of our condos have added an additional bath upstairs and two have even added a shower in the bath on the main floor. All of the bedrooms are located on the second floor level with the full bathroom between the two bedrooms. The main level has a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room area with a wood burning fireplace. All wood is provided at no extra cost. Some of our condos include use of the local gym. We also have coin operated laundry services for your use on-site. We are a PET FREE facility but some of our owners bring their pets up from time to time and those rooms are marked with an ALERGY ALERT on our website. Although the condos were built originally in the 60's we have completed some major renovations over the past three years to include: New metal roofs, new vinyl double pane insulated windows and patio doors, new redwood decks, sewer and gas lines, and most importantly the pool has undergone a major renovation during the fall of 2011 and is in like new condition! We are the only lodging in the Town of Red River where you can legally unload an ATV/OHV/Snowmobile and ride directly from your condo to the trails that surround Greenie Peak. And we have ample parking to accommodate your trailers too! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing