We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Condo # 8 - Rustic Mountain Heaven!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edelweiss Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edelweiss Condominiums
Certificate of Excellence
Checotah, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Condo # 8 - Rustic Mountain Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

My family and a friend stayed in Condo # 8 for 4 nights in mid- October. We wanted to just move in and stay as soon as we saw it! The country / rustic decor and comfort combined to make this much more than just a place to sleep after a long day of playing! The location, right on the edge of town and on the edge of the forest, was perfect. Get up in the morning, start the 4 wheelers and ride right into the forest! Full kitchen and outside propane grill makes you want to stay in for dinner and enjoy this place rather than eating out. Upstairs bedrooms with the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in... and watching the starry sky or a mountain sunrise from the balcony... wow!

Room Tip: Number 8 faces the east... great for stepping out of bed, onto the bacony to enjoy a mountain sunris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissManager, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for this review of Condo # 8. We are happy to announce that after a short time off of the rental pool, the new owners of this condo have placed it back in the rental pool and it is available for rental in the future. ~Steve and Missy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    8
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
76
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Checotah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

We have made two trips to Red River, NM this summer, staying a week each time in the newly remodeled #8 condo @ Edelweiss. This western theme condo is spectacuar and so comfortable. We and another couple shared the condo each time and the two king size beds with lots of pillows made the stay super restful after a long day of riding 4 wheelers in the mountains...we loved being able to ride out from the condo without trailering! The condo was well equipped with high quality furnishings, kitchen appliances, and three high-def tv's...cable, too. The condo also had bunk beds built in which would make it ideal for a family get-away. The heated pool and sauna were a great way to relax at the end of the day. Mallett Park is right out the back door and we had a blast playing on the disc golf course. We look forward to our next stay in #8!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, May 12, 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope to meet you on your next visit to Red River.

Phil and Kolleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

Staying at Edelweiss is like transporting your own home to the mountains! Ours was a condominium with full kitchen, dining area, living area, and two upstairs bedrooms: a double for the kids and a large king with a balcony for my wife and I, one full bath upstairs and one half bath downstairs. The complex is small and intimate but includes a heated swimming pool with barbecue grills and a coin-op laundry. We like to bring our own groceries with us which makes the stay very economical as a family. And we also take advantage of the laundry so we don't come home to a lot of washing. Edelweiss also has towel and cleaning service on request. The owners are super nice and glad to help you anytime. He even gave us his personal cell phone number in case of any emergencies. There are no (land) phones in the condos so you will need your cell but this is actually a blessing not a curse. They have free high-speed internet if you wish to stay in touch with the outside world. But the location is so nice! It is located just one block off of Main Street at High Street and Mallette Roads, so you are not in the middle of the traffic but you are walking distance from all the shops and attractions. We stayed on the side bordered by Mallette Road and had a view of the ski mountain from our balcony every morning!. Mallette Road eventually becomes a gravel forest road leading into the Carson National Forest. The Condos are on one side and a fir and aspen tree-covered hill is on the other. Just behind the Edelweiss on this same road (before you get into the forest) is Mallette Park. A really nice kids park with a playground, tennis court, and skateboard park. This park backs up to a hill with two mining tunnels right there (closed to public entrance). With all the fir trees and wildlife, this is an enchanted place to spend quality time with young children! The Edelweiss also has lots of hummingbird feeders and the little birds are everywhere and lots of fun for young children (and adults, lol!) to watch. Edelweiss is a great place to come home to and relax after a day of four-wheeling, fishing, or hiking. It is quiet and peaceful. It is also so nice in the morning to open the sliding glass balcony door (there is a screen) and let the cool clean mountain air rush in! It is a wonderful break from the summer heat! We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to take advantage of their "seventh night is free" deal and stayed an extra day. Though it meant a long driving day the next day, it was worth it to get one more day there! Edelweiss is a great family-friendly retreat and has all the comforts of home in the mountains!

Room Tip: Plan and reserve ahead of time. We usually book at least a month ahead but earlier won't hurt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, May 5, 2016
Thank you for your review, we hope you remember us on your next trip to Red River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskogee, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

This was our First trip to Red River. We spent 5 Nights in the Most Awesome Condo "Edelweiss #8". The Condo was newly remodeled and decorated in a Western Theme throughout. My wife was amazed at the quality of the kitchen. The King Size Beds were a welcome retreat after a long day of 4 wheeling. My boys loved the bunk beds. All of the kids enjoyed the heated pool and the park (just outside our door). It was great to be able to ride 4 wheelers from the front door...No Trailering!! We enjoyed the abundance of wildlife (including elk, fox, deer, and even bear). We cannot say enough Great Things about Red River and We Certainly Cannot Say Enough about the Awesome Condo #8 at the Edelweiss. We are already planning our Next Trip to Red River and Will Definately Stay in Condo #8!!!

Room Tip: Condo #8 Is Newly Remodeled and Has Comfortable King Size Beds, Bunks and Sleeper Sofas
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mountainhigh2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, May 12, 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope to meet you on your next visit to Red River.

Phil and Kolleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2010

We've been traveling to Red River for over 20 years, mostly in the winter, but occasionally in the summer months. It took a while to discover Edelweiss since we were usually travellng with a big group, but once we did, we decided we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The condos are very well equipped with full size kitchens, fireplaces, 2-3 bedrooms and plenty of space for ski gear. I like the fact that the kitchens have all the pots, pans, bakeware, knives and gadgets you are likely to need. There is always a coffee maker and the microwave and range work well.

The managers are outstanding and will go above and beyond the call of duty for their guests. In our case, the fridge in our unit went out right before we were scheduled to arrive. The manager drove down to Taos and picked up a fridge, installing it as we were unpacking the car. He could have just put us in another unit, or waited for the delivery over the weekend, but he didn't. We were able to have our unit that faced the ski slope and a brand new fridge.

This is typical of the managers at Edelweiss. Over the years, we have had several situations arise and they have always been exceptionally helpful and accomodating. We can't say enough good things about the way they treat their guests.

You don't have to worry about being kept up half the night by loud neighbors either. While we were there, there was a problem with noise in one of the units around the corner from us. Apparently the manager spoke to them several times and when they didn't quiet down, he sent them packing. Literally. He put them on the road at 11pm. Another good reason to stay in a complex with on-site managers, and in this case, one that isn't afraid to stand up to rude guests.

The beds and linens have always been very comfortable with lots of extra blankets and pillows on-hand. Our family of five has plenty of room to hang out together in the living area, or in their own rooms when they want some quiet.

I think the prices are very reasonable for a fully equipped condo. Obviously, the week between Christmas and New Year is the most expensive, but that's the case no matter where you stay. They have a web site with pictures of all the rooms here: http://www.red-river-newmexico.com/edelweiss/summary/summary_main.html.

We highly recommend units 21, 22, 23 and 24 as they are in the front so you have views of the mountain. There are also units that face the forest in the back. They have a heated pool that is very well maintained as well as a dry sauna. There is plenty of firewood on hand so you can enjoy a warm fire on a cold night.

They think of everything, so you don't have to! Just bring your food and you are good to go!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MizTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, May 12, 2016
Thank you for your review. We hope to meet you on your next visit to Red River.

Phil and Kolleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2009

We go to Red River usually every summer and sometimes on spring break. We have stayed at the Edelweiss at least five times. It is a great place to stay with family. They are medium sized fully equipped condos. They supply towels, sheets, etc. and they bring fresh towels, and other necessities every morning. There is a wonderful heated pool and sauna year round in the courtyard of all of the condos. I recommend anyone to stay here. Very clean and nice but they are a little pricey.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderlust86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdelweissManager, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Thank you for your review of our Condos. We strive to maintain a clean and comfortable environment for each of our guests. In order to achieve this goal we are constantly looking for ways to improve on things here. For instance, since your review in 2009 we have replaced all of the decks, patio doors, windows, roofs, completely renovated the pool and replaced all of the underground gas and sewer lines.

Each condo is individually owned. The owners of the condos have been able to do all of these projects with their own "out-of-pocket" money without transferring the financial burden on to our customers in the form of higher prices. In fact, this Spring Break, our rates, in some cases, were actually lowered by almost 40%. ~Steve & Missy~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harper, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

We went to Red River to trail ride, and one of my friends has been staying at this condo for years, and made the res directly by phone. We paid $167 per night for a two bedroom (one king, one queen), one and a half bath condo with fireplace and full kitchen. There is a living-dining area with a patio door with a gas grill shared by several units just outside. The kitchen has a full sized regrigerator, stove, micorwave and dishwasher. It's stocked with a fairly adequate set of cookware and dishes as well as sugar, spices, dish detergent, etc.
The pool is open year round and was heated to 92 degrees, and there is a suana, too. There is free wireless throughout the property. No restaurant on site, but several in town. Parking was convenient right at the door. Two things I didn't like: no pets, and I couldn't get the blinds to work due to missing remote, so couldn't darken the room. I did like that the unit was non-smoking. My bed was very comfortable. The unit was clean, and the decor was nothing fancy, but pleasant enough. Management was friendly, and I'm sure would have taken care of the blind problem had I remembered to bring it to their attention. This isn't a handicap accessible condo--it's two story with both bedrooms upstairs.
The condo is located on the west edge of town; we kept our horses at the Red River Stables on the east side of town. This was a nice outfit, and they do trail rides if you don't have your own horse (from an hour to multi-day pack trips). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skipaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelweiss575, Manager at Edelweiss Condominiums, responded to this review, May 5, 2016
Thank you for your review, we hope you remember us on your next trip to Red River.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
BEST WESTERN Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
8.3 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
13.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#3 of 4 in Eagle Nest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edelweiss Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edelweiss Condominiums

Property: Edelweiss Condominiums
Address: 500 W High, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Edelweiss Condos are built around a central courtyard that includes a pool/that is heated to 92 degrees year 'round, dry sauna, 6 gas grills and a picnic area. We currently have 21 units available for rental. Each condo is individually owned and decorated to the owner's taste. Each condo has 2 bedrooms and at a minimum 1 1/2 baths. A few of our condos have added an additional bath upstairs and two have even added a shower in the bath on the main floor. All of the bedrooms are located on the second floor level with the full bathroom between the two bedrooms. The main level has a fully equipped kitchen, dining and living room area with a wood burning fireplace. All wood is provided at no extra cost. Some of our condos include use of the local gym. We also have coin operated laundry services for your use on-site. We are a PET FREE facility but some of our owners bring their pets up from time to time and those rooms are marked with an ALERGY ALERT on our website. Although the condos were built originally in the 60's we have completed some major renovations over the past three years to include: New metal roofs, new vinyl double pane insulated windows and patio doors, new redwood decks, sewer and gas lines, and most importantly the pool has undergone a major renovation during the fall of 2011 and is in like new condition! We are the only lodging in the Town of Red River where you can legally unload an ATV/OHV/Snowmobile and ride directly from your condo to the trails that surround Greenie Peak. And we have ample parking to accommodate your trailers too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edelweiss Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing