We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "MUST" place to eat in Red River”

Sundance Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Red River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A "MUST" place to eat in Red River”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

While we often get great "Tex-Mex" in the DFW area, we were craving authentic Mexican/New Mexico food. We were very impressed with the unique menu items along with some of the classic original mexican food selections. I went with the stuffed sopapilla and my husband had the carne adovada burrito. Both were wonderfully prepared and presented. Our waitress was a "home grown" Red River native...so she was also very helpful with local information...right down to where we could see elk roaming the pastures at night...and where was a good place to buy beef jerky. We were pleasantly surprised by the "complimentary" dessert...and you'll just have to go there to eat to see what they serve you! All in all, a great experience!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank basslakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    105
    45
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK Tex Mex”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The food is consistent. Pretty good Tex Mex. Good salsa.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kparham104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had a terriffic waitress and the food was pretty good. I had the fajita chicken taco salad. It was great. The guacamole salad was very good. Their salsa, not great. Tastes like tomatoes from a can with no seasoning. I added a lot of salt and pepper to it and that made it taste better. Overall everyone liked their dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YumEFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not great, not bad...”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

After reading great reviews online for Sundance, we decided to give it a shot. It was ok. I guess we're spoiled living in a town with tons of great Tex-Mex (Austin, TX). Chips were a bit hard/stale; salsa had big chunks of green peppers in it which was unusual. Queso was sort of cheez-wiz-like. It's not inexpensive, either! The saving grace was the fabulous, fluffy, homemade sopapillas that come at the end of the meal. Oh, and our waitress, Liz, was great!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ThreeTexasTots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview,Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner In Red River”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our second trip to Red River and it could not end without a meal at the Sundance. As we new a reservation is needed on most nights. We were seated at the requested time and the restaurant was full. We requested help from our waitress from the Sundance specials menu and chose the Super Burrito. The food was great! We as last year left full and completely satisfied with the food, service and price of our meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcodaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundance Restaurant also viewed

Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 
Red River, Taos County
Red River, Taos County
 

Been to Sundance Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing