We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Already booked again for 2011”
Review of Sitzmark Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sitzmark Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“Great experience! Already booked again for 2011”
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We just returned home from our third annual vacation and stay at the Sitzmark, Red River,NM. Our group of eleven family members appreciate the staff for providing comfortable rooms at affordable rates...our view from the second floor balcony of the ski slopes and mountains was stunning. Sitzmark and Red River provide a very safe place for families to vacation and have fun in a great family atmosphere.
We will definetely return to the Sitzmark and Red River as we already have our two condo apartments booked for 2011...I would highly recommend the Sitzmark if you are interested in clean rooms, great kitchen facilities, friendly staff, all at a very reasonable price...
Sincerely,
Owen G. Christian & family, Fort Worth,Tx.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ogchristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fritch, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2010

The room was extremely affordable, very clean, and the staff was so helpful in booking adventures for our family that it made our vacation unstressful and relaxing! The people of Red River were so nice and warm and made us feel so welcomed! This is one of the best vacations we have had in a long time, never a worry about what we were going to do because a list of "things to do in Red River" was given to us and when calling the front desk, they were more than helpful in offering to book activities for us. I can honestly say I have NEVER been more relaxed and in awe of the beauty of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tdawn914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red River, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We loved staying at the Sitzmark. Clean rooms and service were great. I love the personal warm reception from the staff. You made us feel like family. Thanks so much for care of us. Hope to see you again next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skisalot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Our family (7) stayed at the Casita and had a great time. Our accomadations were exactly as stated and were eperfect for our family, two bedrooms, two bathrooms and day bed for the children. We could cook in the kitchen and eat out as we disired. The maid service was great. It didn't hurt that the ski slopes were great too. Overall I would
reccomend Sitzmark Lodging for their location and excellent accomadation and service.

We came to Red River to enjoy the Winter Sports but got even more from the family enviorment. Everybody went home know ing we had a great time and a great value for our money, Gladys

mon





recco

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gladysmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lousiana
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We stayed at Sitzmark March 9-13, 2008.

Let me say that you do not go to Red River looking for a classy/lavish stay at a hotel. With that being said the Sitzmark Lodge is a perfect option at Red River. We wanted something that was close enough to walk to the main ski lift. I looked at others on the internet, and the pictures just didn’t look as nice as Sitzmark with the exception of maybe Auslender and Best Western.

I’ll give my opinion on some of the other lodges in case people are wondering. I do have to say that I haven’t been in these lodges, but have seen pictures of them on the internet which you can see for yourselves. Best Western was right up on the side of the mountain with great views from the balconies, and is close to the main lift (less than 5 minute walk). I would stay at Best Western, however, don’t think of it as a Best Western b/c it does not look like one. It’s hard to judge Copper King from the outside, but the good thing about Copper King is that it is almost touching one of the ski lifts. Auslender looks pretty nice, and I would probably stay there. It is close to the ski lift where the ski lessons are, but you can take that lift and then ski to the main lift. Alpine looks o.k. and is closest to the main ski lift. It also has a hot tub.

The rooms at Sitzmark are newly renovated (or at least ours was). We paid only $90/night and got the 4th night free and the 4th day of ski rental and lift tickets free. You can get that deal if you check in on Sunday or Monday. All rooms are different, but ours had bedroom (with 2 queens beds) kitchen combination, and of course, a bathroom. The kitchen had a refrigerator, sink, cabinets with plates and bowls, and drawers with utensils. We didn’t use any of the plates, bowls, or utensils b/c we brought our own plastic ones. If you use theirs, you have to wash them, or there will be a $20 charge for them to wash them. The refrigerator was nice to have because there are not many places that sell beer, except of course the restaurants and bars.

We arrived at Red River at 12:30 and checked in, but they told us our room would not be ready until 2:00, which is the check-in time so we expected that. So we just walk around town until 2:00. Right when we got into town we fell in love with it. Red River is a charming little town where you don’t even need to get into your car the whole time you are there. The town is probably less than 1.5 miles long, so everything is within walking distance. I’m a guy, but the only word I can think of is that it was a “cute” town. After putting our stuff in our room we went tubing at 4:15 (only $10/tube for 45 minutes). It was a lot of fun. It was like a nice welcome to the fun.

The room at Sitzmark was clean and the maid came in and restocked the bathroom, made the beds, and cleaned everyday. There is really nothing to complain about. They had a rack in our room for us to mount our skis and boots, which I thought was cool. It also prevented the ice from the skis and boots from getting on the floor. Our room was across the street from the office of Sitzmark. It was about a 3-5 minute walk from our room to the main ski lift (depending if you were carrying skis and had ski boots on). Was it fancy with marble flooring and granite countertops, and what not? No. But like I said, that is not what you go to Red River for. It was clean, and like any average hotels/condo.

There are a few restaurants in Red River, but we did not try them all. Shotgun Willie’s is like a fast food restaurant, but I would say it is better quality than say McDonalds or Wendys. The prices at Shotgun Willie’s are very reasonable with really good food. It is right by the ski lift, so if you want you can walk 2 minutes to eat there for lunch. We enjoyed their breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We ate at Timbers Steakhouse twice, and they had average service, and the food was above average in my opinion. We ate at Sundance, which is Mexican with other options, and it was pretty good. We mainly went for the margaritas, which were not margaritas, but wine margaritas. We did not mind this fact, but apparently some people do. The guy sitting behind me was complaining about the margaritas, the food not being edible, and the whole town of Red River to the waitress. I don’t understand why people just complain when they go on vacation. So I was expecting my food that was about to come out to not be good at all. Fortunately, I enjoyed it, and enjoyed the leftovers even more the next day. Anyway, we also ate at Capo’s, which is an Italian restaurant. We had pizza, and it was fantastic. I would definitely recommend eating there, b/c almost anyone loves pizza. I’m sure their other stuff was good too.

We had a great vacation and will go back, and bring others with us to experience it. We’ll possibly stay at Sitzmark, Auslender, Alpine, or Best Western. We have skied twice before, and we had a lot of fun skiing here. There is a good mixture of slopes for everyone. At night it got down to 6 degrees once. In the morning it was in the teens, but by 11:00 it was 40 degrees, and got up to 60 one day. It weather felt great most of the time. We loved it here!!!!

(i'll post some pics later)

  • Liked — It was close to the main ski lift and resteraunts.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cajunscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red River
0.1 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
139 reviews
13.5 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
88 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Blake
The Blake
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sitzmark Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sitzmark Lodge

Property: Sitzmark Lodge
Address: 416 West Main, Red River, NM 87558
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Red River
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Red River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Best Customer Service", we offer eight comfortable condos and a cabin, most with spectacular views of the Ski Area. Located 1/2 block from the Platinum Chair Lift and river. Flat screen TV's, Free WiFi. Two bedroom units have washers and dryers. Winter: On site first class ski/snowboard/accessory rentals. Quality service department. Oakley and Zeal sunglasses and goggles. Summer: Bike rentals and repair, fishing licenses and supplies, surrey rental. Bookings for horseback rides, jeep rentals, Cowboy cookouts and rafting trips! Open 7 days a week (yes, even holidays). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sitzmark Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing