We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night's stay with the same great service as years ago.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I only wish Roy, one of the co-owners, had been there. Chickie was there, and always as kind as he was. I'll never forget his Halloween garb he had on at the front desk some 5 or so years ago when I last stayed there. What a great young man! You feel like family at Roy's hotel with people like Chickie manning the front desk. I stayed on a point's redemption and had an upgrade to one of their suites. I must have stayed at the hotel too long 5 years back because I knew exactly which suite it was I'd have when I saw the number assigned me.

The breakfast bar is as good as ever. They go above and beyond what you would have at the normal Holiday Inn Express. I left after breakfast but they used to have--and may still have--an evening hot snack. You could make a meal out of it if you wanted. Great when you had to work on reports.

This is one of those hotels that the Intercontinental Family ought be most proud. I'm glad I got to return for a night after these many years away.

[By the way, the hotel does not have room service but I accidentally selected that as an option to rate and could not clear it out. So, disregard the room service rating.]

Room Tip: I can't remember what the suite number is, but, there's one suite that is particularly great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments as well as your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it has been shared with the entire staff.

We looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Owner/Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 356 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Room 198, then 183, king, N/S

Chosen on a walk-in basis, fairly late in the day(7pm) so room choices were limited.
First room was 198 and it appeared very clean, large, and well-equipped for a suite.
However immediately upon entering room we could clearly hear the folks through
the wall, both adult voices and a crying baby. Check-in staff then gave us 183, same-sized
room, though handicap accessible, which eliminated the nice couch & overall was not
as nice as 198. As in 198, sounds traveled through the wall much too easily. Fortunately
the folks in the adjoining room were very quiet until their 2;30am wake-up call when
just their ordinary getting up & going was noticeable, especially in the bathroom.
As nice as this hotel looks--it has nice grounds and attractive public spaces inside, the
matter of poor sound insulation between rooms is a serious downside.
The staff across the board was polite, friendly, and helpful.
Our other concern is paying nearly $200 (including tax) for a decent but not exceptional
room, especially in-light of the sound problems.
This motel is on far southside of town; not convenient to restaurants, gas stations, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay at our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the accommodations, and found the staff to be friendly and professional.
Please accept my sincerest apologies for your concerns about hearing the activity in the room next to yours.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again when your travels bring you to the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Hotel was OK, had to cut trip short one day. So was out one night stay.
Overall it was average to good. The staff was very cordial and helpful. The non-smoking room had mold smell, triggered allergy reaction.

Modeere


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Russell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback.
We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your staff and found the staff to be friendly and professional.

Please accept our apologies for the allergic reaction you experienced, we appreciate your bringing to our attention.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.


Sincerely,
Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager

Marilyn Edwards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We were surprised by the clean, comfortable accommodations in Raton. A great night's sleep, followed by a great breakfast in the morning, made this hotel one to remember. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We have been impressed with our last two stays in HI Express hotels. Holiday Inn seems to be interested in improving their reputation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mystery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, revenue manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to the Holiday Inn Express brand, and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stopped here on our way from Dallas to Denver. The hotel is on the far side of town, away from the other hotels and restaurants, but the town is small enough that everything was still within a couple of minutes. The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. There was a very nice lady working the front desk who even let us get some yogurt and oatmeal from the breakfast area at 4am when my two young children wouldn't sleep. Breakfast was good and had a large number of hot items.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mm317516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments, our guest feedback is very important to us. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and that you received excellent service from the staff.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had had a terrible drive from Childress Texas to Raton. We'd battled two blizzards, and getting stuck once. So when we checked in, we told the nice desk clerk what we had been up to, and he found us a room. And not only a room, but a suite. Nice touch, from a caring desk clerk.

Of course, the breakfast was wonderful, and a good way for us to make the trek on home.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longbranch102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback. We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your suite, and that you were able to relax after a stressful drive.

We hope to be your hotel of choice in the Raton area.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pet friendly hotel but those rooms are downstairs and walls and floors are paper thin! I had asked the clerk to not put anyone above us if at all possible, but no such luck. Floors were dirty, bathroom door frame was rusted. Bedding was updated and street noise was non existent. However to get a more restful night you might try the Best Western in Raton instead. Hotel restaurant (Mulligans) food is fabulous and I bet the rooms are built better!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarleyJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marilyn1714, Revenue Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments after your recent stay with us, we sincerely appreciate our guest feedback, and are working hard to address the issues you experienced to insure we strive to exceed our guest's expectations each and every time.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again when traveling to Raton.

Sincerely,

Marilyn Edwards
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
124 reviews
19.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
19.2 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#3 of 10 in Trinidad
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton

Address: 101 Card Avenue, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Raton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#4 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range: $142 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great hotel in Raton? Enjoy a western experience in Raton, New Mexico at the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton. Located in the mountains of Northeastern New Mexico, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton offers exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable lodging to travelers on I-25 and Highway 87. We now have 34 new luxury suites including two-room Kid's Suites and private spa suites. Our guests are welcomed with a complimentary evening Priority Club social and our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are open 24 hours for play and relaxation at any time. Enjoy the new Express Start complimentary breakfast bar featuring the famous cinnamon roll. Our new meeting/banquet room comfortably seats 40-75 people and we would love to host your next retreat meeting or seminar. Conveniently located equidistant (220 miles) from Denver, Albuquerque, and Amarillo. We are just one and a half hour from some of the finest snow skiing in the world, and the outdoor enthusiasts will love the viewing opportunities for deer, elk, bear, mountain lion and other species. Trout fishing at Lake Maloya in Sugarite State Park is only 8 miles away. Famous Vermejo Park Ranch is only 34 miles west of our hotel. While in Raton it is well worth a stop at our new Visitor's Center and Chamber office located one mile north of our Hotel. Come and enjoy the pure enchantment of our hotel and our wonderful community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Raton Hotel Raton
Holiday Inn Raton
Raton Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing