We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Breakfast, Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Breakfast, Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We love HIE hotels, and this was on our way to Albuquerque. When checking in, the front desk upgraded our room because we were priority members (a free program!) for free! Now everyone got their own bed. We were a bit hungry but didn't want to go out. The staff informed us that there were snacks available until 9! I was scarfing down cookies, and so they made me a hot fresh batch to take back to my room! Room was comfortable, and tv was great. Wifi was fast. Breakfast was huge! Automatic pancake machine, could toast French toast, waffles, bagels, and bread! Omeletes, cereal, yogurt, and many drink choices! Good pool and hot tub. If we ever come back here, I will go OUT OF MY WAY to stay here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobMalinowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    78
    23
    12
    1
See reviews for
137
100
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Nice and clean. We stayed here twice now on vacations to Colorado. They have a good breakfast with patio seating. There is also outdoor chairs around a fire pit.and an outdoor swing to watch the sun set on the mountains.
Hotel is clean, kids had a great time in the pool. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatmommacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
232 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

When in the area we usually stay at the Holiday Inn in Trinidad, Co. or in Las Veas, NM. But we'll be back here again. We had bypassed it before as we thought it was expensive but it is the best motel in an area with limited options. Although an older complex than most Holiday Inn Express motels we've stayed at, it is very well maintained. The unique lobby is not found in other HIEs. Staff was welcoming and efficient. While we didn't try the sandwich layout in the evening we understand it was worth while. The breakfast was the usual HIE and not bad at all.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabundos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Through the years we've used several hotels/motels in Raton as a springboard to getting to Vermejo Park Ranch. This hotel is the best (and more expensive). Be sure to ask for the Vermejo rate. Honestly, I don't know how much that takes off the bill.

The front staff was friendly and helpful. Check-in was a breeze.

We stayed in 291 - a very good room. It was large, clean, had new bedding, and lots of counter space in the bathroom. It is away from the Interstate so noise was not an issue. In reality, the property is far enough away from the Interstate so that no room should have noise problem.

The TV needs to be upgraded although the channel selection was good. The WiFi connection worked just fine.

We do a lot of outdoor activities so we stay in many Holiday Inn Expresses off the beaten track. This is one of the better ones.

Room Tip: Room 291 is spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

We usually stay in Trinidad, CO, but stopped 25 miles south in Raton this year. We will return on every trip in the future. All the staff (front desk, housekeepers, breakfast room) were very friendly and helpful. We thought it might be a new hotel because it was so immaculate. But it is 13 years old and just really well-maintained. In the evening, they offer complimentary pre-made simple sandwiches, salad, veggies, dip, chips and salsa, and cookies. The full, hot breakfast in the morning was very good. The money you'd spend elsewhere on a light supper and full breakfast certainly make this a fairly priced hotel. We smelled no smoke odors. Clean, comfortable, quiet, and priced competitively----a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: We requested an upper floor room away from elevator.....room 232 is a double queen and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

After a miscommunication with a hotel in Springer, we were stranded at 10:30pm without shelter and 2 sleeping boys. We decided to drive a half hour further to Raton and tried the Holiday Inn Express. The had a room for us and it turned out to be a beautiful hotel with swimming pool and full breakfast. Barbara at the front desk went above and beyond and was a wonderful help. We were thoroughly impressed. Thank You for taking care of our family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYgRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

In the last couple of years I have become more and more impressed with Holiday Inn Express, and am using it as much or more than my old standby -- Hampton Inns. The HIE at Raton, NM is no exception. Very pleasant lobby and good parking lot. Friendly service at the front desk. The hallways are a tad narrow, but that's a very minor point. The room I had was a queen suite. Nice bathroom with a great walk-in shower and the normal amenities. Pleasant room with a wet bar and pull-out sofa and run-of-the-mill television. Good work area with very good internet connection (wifi). Comfortable bed and pleasant hotel decoration.

Though non-smoking, I could definitely detect cigarette odor. Not a problem, and I adjusted to it within minutes of walking into the room. I did mention it to the desk, just to assure I would not be charged for a "deep cleaning".

You are about 5 minutes from downtown. And a Raton is a pleasant little town to drive through, including the overlook at the Raton sign on the hillside...worth a few pics. Not any restaurants adjacent to the hotel, they mostly center around the next exit north (just a mile or so). The hotel is adjacent to the small local hospital.

high marks! I may stay here again. BTW, pleasant little outdoor courtyard! Perhaps a tad overpriced, considering the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
19.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
19.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Address: 101 Card Avenue, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Raton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#4 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great hotel in Raton? Enjoy a western experience in Raton, New Mexico at the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton. Located in the mountains of Northeastern New Mexico, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-Raton offers exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable lodging to travelers on I-25 and Highway 87. We now have 34 new luxury suites including two-room Kid's Suites and private spa suites. Our guests are welcomed with a complimentary evening Priority Club social and our indoor swimming pool and hot tub are open 24 hours for play and relaxation at any time. Enjoy the new Express Start complimentary breakfast bar featuring the famous cinnamon roll. Our new meeting/banquet room comfortably seats 40-75 people and we would love to host your next retreat meeting or seminar. Conveniently located equidistant (220 miles) from Denver, Albuquerque, and Amarillo. We are just one and a half hour from some of the finest snow skiing in the world, and the outdoor enthusiasts will love the viewing opportunities for deer, elk, bear, mountain lion and other species. Trout fishing at Lake Maloya in Sugarite State Park is only 8 miles away. Famous Vermejo Park Ranch is only 34 miles west of our hotel. While in Raton it is well worth a stop at our new Visitor's Center and Chamber office located one mile north of our Hotel. Come and enjoy the pure enchantment of our hotel and our wonderful community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Raton Hotel Raton
Holiday Inn Raton
Raton Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing