We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room but A/C not working well”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Raton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Raton
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Van Buren
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean room but A/C not working well”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The Super 8 in Raton was easy to find and very clean. When we were there, the temperature was above 100 degrees and the A/C didn't work well. We turned it on high cool and down to 66 degrees and the room never cooled liked it should have. The only other complaint we had was that we left a wake-up call but weren't called the next morning. we were glad we had the cell phone as a back-up.

Room Tip: We were put at the back of the hotel and it seemed much quieter away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanBurenZgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    51
    30
    23
See reviews for
64
45
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
OGLALA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2012

what started out as a $60 something room ended up costing us almost $80.00 because of the hidden charges... and the money is better spent at a much nicer place...don't be fooled by it's reputation...super 8 isn't the chain it used to be, the rooms are dated and the price is inflated

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Raton hotels

Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
324 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We got to the Super 8 after trying two higher end hotels that were sold out. At 1AM with blowing snow, it is hard to be too picky. The room was basic and looked a little unclean, but I think it was more worn out than dirty. The bathroom was the same - lots of extra caulking and working on their second hook on the back of the door with evidence of several previous repair jobs. But this is all cosmetic- the Super8 was a place to sleep and they had a room when we needed one.

We were both tired, so even though the bed was fairly basic - no pillow top with three firmness levels on the pillows, we slept well.

Did not like being billed for the unused, unquoted and unrequested safe in our room, but that was the only major complaint. The breakfast is basic and if you aren't on a diet it will do as long as you like muffins, juice and coffee. Even if you are on a diet, just have one muffin and you'll be fine but still hungry. There is a McDonalds just a few doors down and several other eateries nearby for some other options.

The people at the front desk were nice enough in the evening and in the morning. The towels are predictably thin and rough for a hotel in this price range, but they got the water off. We were not very impressed but we got what we needed at a decent price, so can't complain. We would come back in a snow storm when the other hotels are sold out on our next trip if needed!

Room Tip: Get one that is unoccupied! Really, can't think of any tips - it is off the road so you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moved2Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

We stay at the Super 8 in Raton every March on our way to Colorado for spring break. You can't beat the price, and the rooms are always clean and ready for us whenever we arrive (which is usually between midnight and 3am!).

Our group always requests non smoking rooms with 2 queens. I can't remember a time when there was a room we couldn't stay in due to uncleanliness or smell. I always check the bathrooms (sink, toilet, floors, and tub), the sheets, and the towels. The linens have always been nice and white (although you can use the to exfoliate - they are very rough).

If you plan on getting good sleep, bring ear plugs... the walls are paper thin.

Continental breakfast in the morning usually consists of coffe and juice, cereal, and some basic pastries/muffins. Some in our group choose to eat, some don't.

My husband and I also stayed here when driving to Colorado this summer, and our experience was consistent.

I've stayed in other hotels at this price point for quick stops, but appreciate this one the most.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasM313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Right off I25. Gas and fast food within walking distance. Simple. Smiley receptionist. Ask for the safe use fee taken off if you don't intend to use it. Basic, clean room. Firm beds (that to me is positive). Good enough for a night of sleep. Attention: no pets.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamburuChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mena, AR
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

7/26/11 Stayed one night with business traveling group. Arrived late. Lots of parking although the poor-natured desk clerk told us that the donut shop next door would have us towed if we didn't move one of our vehicles. We were there to sleep only on our way through town. The mattresses were poor quality. The rooms were looked clean but didn't smell or seem clean. The towels were threadbare and left lint on us. It was OK for one night although I wouldn't have wanted my kids playing on the floor in the room. Seemed a little overpriced for the quality. It was only OK - we weren't afraid for our lives or anything, but it wasn't a place where we really felt welcomed or comfortable either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0X1E5RULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My stay at the Super 8 was great customer service was excellent. I was also given the oppurtunity to see a black bear in the area of the hotel it was Awesome. People were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobydoo1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Raton
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
1.7 mi away
Raton Pass Inn
Raton Pass Inn
#3 of 18 in Raton
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Raton
Motel 6 Raton
#10 of 18 in Raton
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Raton

Property: Super 8 Raton
Address: 1610 Cedar, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Raton 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Raton
Raton Super Eight
Raton Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing