We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop between Texas and Colorado” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect stop between Texas and Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Raton twice in the last two weeks. On 6/8 on the way to Glenwood Springs, Co. And, this last Tuesday 6/17 on the way back to the Houston area. I chose this hotel strictly due to TripAdvisor ratings and a personal note from a TripAdvisor reviewer. I couldn't be any happier with the choice we made!

This hotel was perfect for us. It is literally 1/4 of a mile off Interstate 25. Easy off and easy on to get back on the highway.

There were two things that made this hotel standout. First, the people could not have been any nicer or friendlier. Be it the front desk staff, the waitress, or the manager. Everybody was so extremely friendly it added a nice personal touch to the stay.

The other thing that stood out about this hotel was the restaurant. Seriously. I never would have expected a Best Western (or any hotel, for that matter) to have such an outstanding restaurant. I believe it was called Mulligan's. We arrived at the hotel at 8:30 on a Sunday evening and the front desk lady warned us that most of the restaurants in town were either already closed or closing at 9:00. So, we dropped our luggage in the room and went straight to the restaurant downstairs. For late on a Sunday night, I was pleasantly surprised by how many locals were eating there. We took this as a good sign. In all honesty, the Fish & Chips were the absolute best I have ever had in my life. I kid you not. They were fresh fillets with a homemade batter that was out of this world. The margaritas were tremendous also. Both my wife and I were absolutely floored by how good this restaurant was.\

It was so good that we planned on eating there on our way back to Texas. Unfortunately we didn't get back to Raton until after 10:00 that evening and misssed getting to eat there again. :(

If staying in Raton, you can't go wrong with the Best Western Plus. I wish we had had time to take advantage of the pool and indoor atrium. I also highly encourage you to eat dinner at Mulligan's. It really will blow you away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the indoor atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbaileyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    149
    29
    10
    7
See reviews for
282
197
42
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here overnight while on our way to Colorado Springs. Clean room, welcoming staff, nice restaurant and quiet. After a very long drive it was nice to relax in a clean room and know that we only had to walk a few steps to eat. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

best hotel in Raton, NM everyting you need is at the hotel. The food, drinks, pool, workout gym, parking and rooms are the best. Would highly recommend this place and the beds are awesome to sleep in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank gregh737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff was amazing, very attentive. The stay was the best hotel experience I have had in the last 10 years. Everyone on the staff was very helpful and alway's addressed us as we came and went. I recomend this location to everyone visiting the Raton New Mexico area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

this is now second time we have stayed at this location first was just spouse and I - this time was with 2 teenaged boys - clean, safe and great breakfast at reasonable price (arent all hotels getting more and more expensive?)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank heathercaudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

I just waned to thank the staff of this hotel, everyone there was very kind and helpful. I especially would like to thank Kimber for all her help. She helped my father and I with our room and gave us some good travel plans there were very helpful in the rest of or trip. She made us feel very welcome. Highly recommend if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Love the rooms interior and exterior entry very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guthrie, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stopped for the night on our way to Loveland Colorado. What a pleasant surprise. We booked our room with a military discount great reasonable rate. The room was very clean ( I would say spotless) the hot breakfast was good too. I definately would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mscruzer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 19 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing