We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best Hotel Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Dalhart, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Incredible.
Spoiled us on this trip.
No other Best Western compare
The rooms Beautiful : Immaculate 1st class all the way.
Loved our stay there
Five Star Couldn't ask for better:
Only place I've ever stayed better was Hyatt & they are few & far between.
I've given up on choice awards they are a farce. Go for Best Western Awards

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank butler847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    129
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
255
174
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We arrived late evening around 8pm and discovered because of our change of travel dates I had neglected to change my hotel date of arrival. The hotel front desk clerk had a room for us anyway (luckily). We were very impressed that Best Western has properties that compete with the best of the Holiday Inn Expresses, Hilton Gardens, etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 34williaml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in April 2014 & met the owner. He definitely has a "hands-on" approach. We loved this motel, clean, updated & a very friendly & helpful staff. The owner, Mike Mulligan, greeted us & was "on the spot" helpful. We would highly recommend this motel. Marie Marcuzzo

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

These hotel rooms are really nice, quiet, the beds are comfy and the staff at the front desk and breakfast area go out of their way to please. The hot breakfast is good. Lounge and restaurant onsite. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and I will stay here anytime I am in the area and need a hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandKWGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stumbled upon this hotel after midnight on a road trip that was taking us from Houston to Breckenridge in February. 4 very resourceful and bright ladies, yet not willing to rough it and camp for the night, we found the Best Western PLUS. We had two adjoining rooms and it was perfect. The night hotel staff was lovely. The rooms were very clean, very comfortable and the room was nice and toasty despite the snow on the ground. Breakfast was awesome. I was preparing myself for pastries packaged in the 80's and some yogurt...but it was a hot cooked breakfast with plenty of coffee, hot chocolate and tea. The manager was on hand to greet people and chatted with us a bit about our journey.

I am not sure if I will ever be in this part of New Mexico again so I can have another stay, but if you need a place to stay, you definitely should.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddiepitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We found this hotel through the AAA book late at night and what a gem it turned out to be. We were traveling with our dog so our choices were limited in this remote area. If I didn't know better I'd say the room was taken out of a high-priced, top of the line hotel. It was spotless, nicely decorated, towels folded fancy, big tv, quiet. Couldn't have asked for a better night's stay and we wished we could have stayed there longer. Our dog was even treated to two big biscuits and doggie waste bags were provided!

If we are even in that area again we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OakForest_ILMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed one night here traveling to visit family and get in a little vacation. This hotel has the most beautiful lobby and very larger pool area I've even seen! I felt like we were in a 5 star hotel. We recommend the restaurant on site and try the BBQ. The rooms were very large with desk, seating area for two and a king size bed, also room for our dog to stretch out. This would be a great location to stay for a few days to visit, a stop with kids on the way to skiing, Santa Fe and Denver.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 19 in Raton
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
18.0 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#3 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
Address: 473 Clayton Road, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western + Iniative, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing