We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“raton new mexico is a real place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Broomfield, Colorado, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“raton new mexico is a real place”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

seriously! just out for a two day motorcycle ride. had no idea what to expect in raton except that it had a best western. found that raton can be seen end to end from the freeway. the best western was exceptional with it's huge atrium and in door pool. it had a restaurant and lounge but I was just to bushed from riding in the wind to try them. here's the fun part- decided an arby's sandwich from across the street sounded good. four lane road without a car in site. I could have eaten my sandwich in any lane and taken a nap without being bothered. joked with the manager Cyndi about such an inviting motel in downtown nowhere. she took me in the gift shop where i purchased a t-shirt that explained it all. it said " raton, new mexico not the end of the world but you can see it from here." to my biker brothers, good ride with a really comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    166
    34
    12
    9
See reviews for
317
227
47
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Beach, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is the best hotel we've stayed at after traveling more than 6,000 miles (from Oregon to Boston and now on our way back again). Everything about it is good: large, warm pool, nice breakfast, comfortable bed and big room, friendly staff. We came here by accident, after traveling 514 miles from the south and just looking for a hotel next to a promising restaurant. We say Mulligan's restaurant, which is part of the Raton Hotel. Jackpot! We're now planing an "on purpose" stay here next year, combined with a planned business trip to Dallas and a visit to our magazine's cover artist, Don Childers, who lives in Colorado.

Room Tip: Above the pool was fine or us, but maybe it would be too noisy during heir busy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backwoods H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearfield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well maintained and up-to-date facility. Hotel was clean, new, and very pleasant. Great lounge. I had driven thru the Carolinas and Tenn. but Best Western Raton had the best pulled port sandwich. Very filling. Management team led by Mike M very professional and courteous. Raton located in beautiful part of New Mexico.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel numerous times on our trips from denver to santa fe. my kids love the pool while we love the well furnished clean rooms. the outside does not match the inside so do not be fooled. the rooms are newly updated and the restaurant/bar has good food.
i would not stay anywhere else between denver to santa fe and my kids beg to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

After a great day in the tiny town of Creede, high in Colorado's San Juan mountains, we arrived late in Raton and were relieved to find an alert friendly staff and a great room: spacious and clean. The room is accessed from the parking lot on one side, and another door on the opposite side of the room opened on a large, strangely bare, covered courtyard. There was a restaurant off the lobby accessible through the courtyard: we had a late dinner and breakfast the next morning. Servers and management were very good and made a valiant effort but the food itself was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centaur41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have recently stayed at the hotel the rooms where wonderful.. I also ate many meal's in the restaurant. The food was good the servers were nice except the server i had was very slow. I kept having to ask another server in the restaurant for things i needed like mayo extra items etc.... The young man that kept helping me and refilling my drinks had Black "spiky hair" he was very kind and courteous even though he wasn't my server.... After I finished my meal i read the name on the receipt the server's name was Jarrod he was nice but i felt like he forgot and didn't care about my table.. Overall my experience was good especially the Breakfast... The general manager was also very helpful at breakfast it shows he cares about his customers..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very surprised to find such a nice hotel in Raton, NM! Great staff. Room was very comfy, clean and quiet. The room had an outside entrance but also an entrance into the courtyard which contained the very nice pool and hot tub. You could also get to the restaurant/bar through the courtyard and not have to go outside. Bed was very comfortable but too many pillows for me. We just had coffee in the breakfast room, but it was set up very well and was very spacious. There was even a staff member to make your waffles/pancakes. Would highly reccomend this Best Western to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank krismart50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Raton Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Address: 473 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing