We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    171
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
323
234
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The rooms were updated and nice. The breakfast was great and the staff was very courteous. If you are looking for a great deal this is the place. We will definitely stay here the next time we pass through Raton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaclyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel was just ok for a Best Western Plus . The room was just ok but clean. The room had all tile floors that were very cold as the temperatures outside were well below freezing. Maybe a rug or two would help. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty scant but you could find something to hold you over and the service was very good.

Room Tip: ask to be in the newer main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olive21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Joy and Dean: This place is a gem. We travel a good bit and this is a true find. From the outside it looks like a dated motel with outside entry doors. Don't be fooled. Each room has a door that leads to the interior courtyard as well. The facility was upgraded 2 years ago and looks like almost new. Large, very well appointed rooms, comfortable beds and immaculate. Super pool and nice work out facility. Complimentary breakfast was good with lots of choices including fresh pancakes and/or waffles which they prepare for you. All of the staff was super. Diane and Jolene in the restaurant were exceptional. Dinner was very good. Certainly not fine dining but very good and fresh and the service was top drawer. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Obviously away from the highway would be quieter. We stayed on the ground floor on the east side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skicatdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The things you expect in a room were there - clean, modern, bright, coffee, tea, toiletries, fluffy white towels. Then the extras - we were traveling with 2 dogs so thought it might be a problem - not- blankets for the dogs with treats !
Shampoo etc but first rate Bath & Body Soap and lotion and Shampoo - imagine in a little off the road Raton hotel!
On to the eatery! Evening at Mulligans with a lively crowd of locals as well as some guests. Good food but the clincher - on the house super berry cobbler with rich vanila ice cream - yummy! Then a wonderful hot breakfast buffet in addition to the usual fruit, yoghurt cereal etc.
Top all this with a friendly, gracious staff and wew had a mini vactaion not just a night on the road!

Room Tip: We had the dogs so the rooms were we could stay were specific. We opted for a ground level room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Room was very dark and heat did not work. Had to get up several times during the night to keep turning it up, would not come on automatically. Cold night. Checking out all they said was we are sorry..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank DorisA98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwratongm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Unfortunately it would appear we will not have another opportunity to proactively address and solve the issues this guest encountered. The preponderance of comments herein note that the staff is attentive and friendly. Not much can be done to correct problems encountered if these are brought to the staff's attention as the guest is leaving the Hotel.

The guests rooms were designed and laid out by Best Western Design. Each bedroom, without bathroom and vanity/closet area, is approximately 400 sq. ft. Within that 400 sg. ft. are four lamps. The placement of the lamps are such that a soft ambience is provided to relax, watch TV and sleep. Room photos (lighted) are available on this web site.

January is one of the coldest months in Raton. To conserve energy, once the room is cleaned, room thermostats are set at 60 F. In each room is an instruction set noting how to adjust the digital thermostat. Simply pushing the "up" arrow on the unit will adjust the temperature setting to the desired level. If any confusion is encountered, the front desk is more than willing to assist.

The Hotel staff does not have a chance to solve problems when these are presented after the fact. Therein, we are sorry that a poor experience may have been perceived/encountered and hope going forward the staff is presented a chance to proactively address these issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Best Westen great bitter cold with snow outside room very comfortable inside of hotel comfortable good food at breakfast and nice dining area at night great sleeping great room service was hunting at Ted Turner's Vermejo Park Ranch convenient good for resting after a long day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Raton Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Address: 473 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing