We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The things you expect in a room were there - clean, modern, bright, coffee, tea, toiletries, fluffy white towels. Then the extras - we were traveling with 2 dogs so thought it might be a problem - not- blankets for the dogs with treats !
Shampoo etc but first rate Bath & Body Soap and lotion and Shampoo - imagine in a little off the road Raton hotel!
On to the eatery! Evening at Mulligans with a lively crowd of locals as well as some guests. Good food but the clincher - on the house super berry cobbler with rich vanila ice cream - yummy! Then a wonderful hot breakfast buffet in addition to the usual fruit, yoghurt cereal etc.
Top all this with a friendly, gracious staff and wew had a mini vactaion not just a night on the road!

Room Tip: We had the dogs so the rooms were we could stay were specific. We opted for a ground level room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 852 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Room was very dark and heat did not work. Had to get up several times during the night to keep turning it up, would not come on automatically. Cold night. Checking out all they said was we are sorry..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank DorisA98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwratongm, General Manager at Best Western Plus Raton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Unfortunately it would appear we will not have another opportunity to proactively address and solve the issues this guest encountered. The preponderance of comments herein note that the staff is attentive and friendly. Not much can be done to correct problems encountered if these are brought to the staff's attention as the guest is leaving the Hotel.

The guests rooms were designed and laid out by Best Western Design. Each bedroom, without bathroom and vanity/closet area, is approximately 400 sq. ft. Within that 400 sg. ft. are four lamps. The placement of the lamps are such that a soft ambience is provided to relax, watch TV and sleep. Room photos (lighted) are available on this web site.

January is one of the coldest months in Raton. To conserve energy, once the room is cleaned, room thermostats are set at 60 F. In each room is an instruction set noting how to adjust the digital thermostat. Simply pushing the "up" arrow on the unit will adjust the temperature setting to the desired level. If any confusion is encountered, the front desk is more than willing to assist.

The Hotel staff does not have a chance to solve problems when these are presented after the fact. Therein, we are sorry that a poor experience may have been perceived/encountered and hope going forward the staff is presented a chance to proactively address these issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Best Westen great bitter cold with snow outside room very comfortable inside of hotel comfortable good food at breakfast and nice dining area at night great sleeping great room service was hunting at Ted Turner's Vermejo Park Ranch convenient good for resting after a long day

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank MICHAEL E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am always wary of the cleanliness of hotel rooms but we have stayed here twice and it has been spotless. That is very impt to me. It was quiet too. Restaurant is inside hotel and usually included in stay. Good for families

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank JULIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stopped here for one night on the way to Colorado. They have specific pet rooms that we made a phone call to reserve. I didn't see a way to book it online and the website said that pets were accepted based on availability of pet rooms. The pet friendly rooms had tile flooring and the rooms had great decor. The rooms were very spacious and the beds very comfortable. The hotel itself looked a little dated from the outside, so I was totally surprised by the updated interior. There is a nice, full-size hair dryer provided and Bath & Body Works toiletries. They provide a coupon for a free breakfast, but we did not take advantage.

For pet owners, you will have to sign additional forms promising not to let your on furniture and that there will be cleaning fees if there is evidence of pets on furniture. They would not disclose how much the cleaning fee would be. While I prefer the more relaxed policies of other pet friendly hotels, this was not the strictest place I've stayed with my dogs.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank aggiebeth01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

You'd never think to find a hotel of this caliber in a town the size of Raton NM.
This is the best managed hotel in Northern New Mexico or Southern Colorado for that matter.
The room was absolutely perfect and up to date.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Started the day with a broken truck, and a forced stay. Ended the day with a smile and a good memory. Great hotel, great restaurant and great staff. Cudo's to Paula and Katie, servers at the restaurant. Give those two a raise, they turned an expected bad day into a great one! They sure know how to stack em up!
The room was very updated and very clean. We will find a way to make it back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Raton
128 reviews
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Raton Hotel

Address: 473 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740-2344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range: $119 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing