We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice in the middle of nowhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Well, to the folks who live in Raton it isn't "nowhere," but it isn't a very big place to have such a surprisingly nice hotel. Unusual floor plan - the windows in the rooms face into the atrium so the rooms are sort of dark, not much natural daylight. But it is a beautiful atrium, quite large, with an indoor swimming pool.

Very well appointed guestroom. Nice size. Convenient place to plug in one's computer. Fan in bathroom was rather noisy and loud. Two doors, one to outside and one to interior atrium, so one's car was very handy if one had a room on the first floor. One of those "light between the two beds but not on the outside of each bed" situations which really annoys me because both my husband and I like to read in bed. Floor lamp by easy chair that also had an ottoman is a nice touch.

We had dinner in the hotel restaurant (Mulligan's) and the food was pretty good and they had a reasonably nice beer list (and we're very picky about our beer). Hotel guests get a free hot breakfast in the Day Break Cafe (which is Mulligan's in the morning) - service very slow, but they needed more wait staff - food was almost cold when we got it - not good for eggs and waffles - definitely not a HOT breakfast. No waiting for the buffet items, e.g., coffee, pastries, cereal, yogurt.

Hotel was out of complimentary shampoo and conditioner because the firefighters battling the Arizona and New Mexico fires had used it all up - which sounded like a good use of shampoo and conditioner to me!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wibbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    171
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
323
232
48
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maricopa, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2011

This was a great value for a room. The place is nice and clean, the onsite restaraunt is also nice. The indoor pool is also nice. The breakfast is amazing, it is made to order eggs, not just crummy scrambled eggs and microwave bacon. Real bacon, good juice, potatoes and waffles or pancakes to order, that is taking the next step. We will always stay here when traveling through northern New Mexico. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: They have a military discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irvinprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel at least once a year for the past 5 years. Before the improvements, we ignored the condition of the place because the kids simply loved the indoor pool area. This year we went and were blown away by the improvements. The bedding was new and cozy, a great night's rest. The pool area has the same layout with updated features. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. It's clean, updated and the rates are comparable to new hotels in the area. We will definitely find excuses to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Brand new hotel with spacious clean rooms and a great restaurant and bar. Off the beaten path and well worth staying here. We'll stay here every time we come through the area. Great staff too! This is the only place to stay in Raton. We first stayed here in December 2010.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilosophersStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I was driving from Fort Worth to Greeley Co and I needed a in between place to spend the night. After searhcing, I picked Raton, NM, rooms ranging from 69 to 109. I choose the Best Western Plus, and after getting there the $69 motels look really scary. I received a $99 rate, I checked in where the people were very friendly. When I went into the room, there was a flat screen tv, refrig., microwave, etc., but what really impressed me the most was the bed, I felt like crying when I sat on it and didnt want to get back up. But, unfortunately the wife was hungry. So another plus was they had a restaurant and bar inside the hotel, called " Mulligans". They had imprt beer on tap. Widmer being my favorite and the food was terrifice, we had sliced brisquet. To sum it up, I was going to take a shortcut back home, but decided to drive the extra miles to stay at the Best Western Plus.

Room Tip: Tell them your a AAA member they dont check. LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saf863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

The hotel was all new and remodeled with elegant materials. All the staff was friendly and very helpful. Very clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: upper level has better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harriett32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Exceptional service. Clean, well-kept rooms. Extremely reasonable rates. Wonderful restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtlynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
18.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Raton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Raton Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Address: 473 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Raton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Raton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing