We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Retro Fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raton Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Raton Pass Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Retro Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

If you want to dive back into the 60's when you could get a decent sized room, park just outside the door, and not pay an arm and a leg, then this is the place for you. Jan has done a great job of making the place sparkle. Our bed was very comfortable. Our dog was properly welcomed. And the breakfast was personally looked over by Jan. If you want some ideas of things to do in the area, Jan can fill you in. Our room had a personal touch with a small bowl of Hersey kisses on the desk and bottle water on the refrigerator. I especially liked the dressing table where I could sit and do my hair and makeup. If we are ever back in the area, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaltLakeCityTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
40
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stopped in for the night on our way to Crested Butte. Read the reviews and was happy to learn they were spot on. Very clean and tidy room. Truly enjoyed visiting with Jan (the owner) during breakfast. She is a wealth of information about the area. Will definitely put on my list to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Deana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We found it to be great value. The other reviews are right on. Jan was great, welcomed us and our new pooch. We were pulling a utility trailer and she had room for us to park that as well. She also gave us a recommendation for the Icehouse for dinner which also was great.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank texasrrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdalena, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Raton Pass Inn was well reviewed but didn't really say how wonderful and comfortable facility it really was. Clean, interesting, great breakfast and coffee. Right on the Pass Road. It should be your first choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeeScholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Quick overnight stay while on our way to Yellowstone. Pictures don't do the interior justice and the shower was better than anything I've had in 5 star hotels with multiple heads. Jan the owner is extremely personable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Like staying with family & the price is amazing.

Jan is a doll. We were coming over the pass and lost the call but she was there when we got to the other side and waited for us to arrive even though she was closing for the night.

The room was cozy & super clean. 102 had a huge king bed homey furnishings not like those cookie cutter chains. Loved the vanity/closet. Only draw back: bad pillows double up or bring your own.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarrieSuzieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Traveling between Tucson and Denver, I decided to spend the night at Raton Pass Inn after reading good reviews. They weren't wrong. It is an old motel gradually being renovated by the attentive owner about 1 minute off I-25. She even checked the room for me to insure that everything was in order. Everything I needed was there--microwave, small fridge, TV. Handing me a map, she recommended places to eat in town, and the next morning offered a very nice breakfast spread with cereal, muffins, yogurt, waffles, juice, coffee, etc. You should call first since she closes for some of the winter months.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGB1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.7 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 19 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
16.3 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raton Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raton Pass Inn

Property: Raton Pass Inn
Address: 308 Canyon Dr, Raton, NM 87740-3717
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Raton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#5 Family Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Raton Pass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Raton Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raton Pass Hotel Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing