We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place”
Review of Raton Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raton Pass Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great little place”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My cousin and I made reservations on this sites recommendations. We were not disappointed. We needed a place to spend the night at the half way mark of our destination. Easy to find, very clean, with a quick breakfast. After a quiet nights sleep and breakfast off we went. Helped make our trip a success. For a mere extra 2 bucks, my doggy was welcome. All non-smoking rooms which was a plus for us.

Room Tip: I had a room so my doggy could stay. My cousin had a non-doggy room. No smoking rooms a plus for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaerisad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    31
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
46
15
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel for a weekend of bike riding and alittle bit of partying before heading to Colorado. We highly recommend this property. Price was good clean rooms and could actually sleep at night. service was good and value and location were also good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awils58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you are looking for a haven from the storms of corporate lodging, you'll find it here! Once you're past the fifties pink and green exterior, the charm of the individually and personally decorated immaculately maintained rooms will make you decide to return.

Located north of old Town Raton, the Inn is away from heavy traffic and very quiet. Microwaves and refrigerators make dining in possible. Be careful not to spill anything on the new carpet!

The ample cold breakfast that comes close to a B & B standard is accompanied by the innkeeper's lively extolling of the virtues of Raton and its surrounding area. Five stars is hardly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here coming and going to a camping trip in Colorado. Raton is a sleepy little interstate town that seems lost in time, but I digress... The Raton Pass Inn is a first-rate budget motel. If you see the place and decide to pass because of the 'Bates Motel' vibe, think again - the rooms are clean, comfortable, pet-friendly ($2 extra charge for our pooch), and the owner (Jan) is friendly and accommodating. Forget the chains - stay at this locally-owned motel - you won't be disappointed! FYI - they are open in the summer months only - I believe late spring through mid-October.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveB240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT MYERS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It might look like a motel, but Raton Pass Inn feels more like a B&B. Great value for our money, very clean, cheerful rooms, and a nice breakfast next morning Located north of town on the main road, my wife and I were indeed surprised when we found this little gem on our trip around the West. Jan, a very nice hostess, gave us good directions to restaurants and sights around this cute little town. We live on a fixed income and we are always looking for the best value for our money and we have some hits and some misses. This is definitely a hit. We highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monk36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reserve, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Staying at the Raton Pass Inn was a complete delight. Its management nothing but first class. Clean as a whistle. The welcome friendly and helpful. While modest in its offerings, it nevertheless deserves five stars in my book.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJCoggeshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Updated and beautiful room, friendly and active owner, decent breakfast, I was really impressed. If you have ever wondered what a 1940's old motel was like when brand new this is your chance. Very charming. I wish it was also open in winter. I will return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KipColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.7 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 18 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raton Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raton Pass Inn

Property: Raton Pass Inn
Address: 308 Canyon Dr, Raton, NM 87740-3717
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#5 Family Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Raton Pass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Raton Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raton Pass Hotel Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing