We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raton Pass Inn
Nearby Hotels
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
147
39
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
39
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswestern themeblast from the pastmid centurydecorated differentlyhorror moviedifferent themedenver airportinteresting storiesnice layoutfamily styleretro feelwarmth and friendlinesspets are allowedother travelersfriendly folkssimple breakfastpersonable staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 195 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Jan has been welcoming me for several years as I pass through Raton. Yes it is small and 50s looking, but it's her charm and friendly smile that makes the place. The rooms are dated but always clean. She has DVDs that she loans and coffee and breeakfast in the morning. It's a great place to sit on the porch and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: Ask Jan where to eat. She always has the latest food reviews.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Experiencedtrav07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

It doesn't look like much at first glance, but glance again. It has 50's charm, but comfy beds, great heaters for those cold evenings, and personable staff. CLean, comfy and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mom_with_Teenagers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have stayed at this little motel for years. Not only is it clean and pleasant but the innkeeper is delightful. She remembers you - try to find THAT in a city. The breakfast is quite a spread even if there are only a few people staying. More like bed and breakfast. Quiet and always welcoming - western hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here by default, having arrived in Raton in the middle of the night with no reservations and all of the national chains full. The innkeeper took our reservation (if you call it that on 15 min. notice) and ran down to put extra towels in our room, since we're a family of 5. The hotel is about 60 years old, but it's clean and tidy. It was just what we needed. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gray_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were going on day 3 of a 2-day fun road trip, and decided Raton as a good stopping point. After checking Tripadvisor, as I always do, we decided on the Raton Pass Inn. I called and made a reservation from nearby Cimerron. The owner was very friendly on the phone, and I liked her immediately!
We arrived and she knew I was the one who called! There wasn't a crowd (the summertime peak is just starting to pick up) so we had no issues with getting a room or checking in. A King bed room cost us about $50.00.
We checked in and chatted with the friendly owner, who made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We learned she is retired military (a BONUS in my book!)
She only opens the motel in the summer - so if you're a winter travler, you're out of luck!
We went to our room, to find a very, VERY clean room, with comfortable furnishings. Besides the king bed, there was a nightstand, table, desk, chest, TV, mini-fridge, and microwave, alarm clock. There was no blow dryer. There IS free wi-fi connections.
She recommended a few restaurants in town after we asked. We chose Crystals, a wonderful Italian restaurant in town. She knows the town and local area very well.
The room was quiet -- almost TOO quiet! It was wonderful.
The next morning, we had a great continental breakfast, and wonderful company as she sat and chatted with us.

This is the kind of person with an outgoing, warm personality, who makes you feel at ease right off the bat. The hotel and rooms were very comfortable. I highly recommend this place to anyone going through Raton. You get a cleaner room, and better service here for 50 bucks than at many of the $100.+ chain hotels. AND a little bowl of candy in the room -- how many chains do that?

I'd call this a "hidden gem" for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank afmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews