We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant well priced gem”
Review of Raton Pass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Raton Pass Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A pleasant well priced gem”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

It doesn't look like much at first glance, but glance again. It has 50's charm, but comfy beds, great heaters for those cold evenings, and personable staff. CLean, comfy and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mom_with_Teenagers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    34
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
53
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I have stayed at this little motel for years. Not only is it clean and pleasant but the innkeeper is delightful. She remembers you - try to find THAT in a city. The breakfast is quite a spread even if there are only a few people staying. More like bed and breakfast. Quiet and always welcoming - western hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here by default, having arrived in Raton in the middle of the night with no reservations and all of the national chains full. The innkeeper took our reservation (if you call it that on 15 min. notice) and ran down to put extra towels in our room, since we're a family of 5. The hotel is about 60 years old, but it's clean and tidy. It was just what we needed. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gray_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were going on day 3 of a 2-day fun road trip, and decided Raton as a good stopping point. After checking Tripadvisor, as I always do, we decided on the Raton Pass Inn. I called and made a reservation from nearby Cimerron. The owner was very friendly on the phone, and I liked her immediately!
We arrived and she knew I was the one who called! There wasn't a crowd (the summertime peak is just starting to pick up) so we had no issues with getting a room or checking in. A King bed room cost us about $50.00.
We checked in and chatted with the friendly owner, who made us feel very welcome and comfortable. We learned she is retired military (a BONUS in my book!)
She only opens the motel in the summer - so if you're a winter travler, you're out of luck!
We went to our room, to find a very, VERY clean room, with comfortable furnishings. Besides the king bed, there was a nightstand, table, desk, chest, TV, mini-fridge, and microwave, alarm clock. There was no blow dryer. There IS free wi-fi connections.
She recommended a few restaurants in town after we asked. We chose Crystals, a wonderful Italian restaurant in town. She knows the town and local area very well.
The room was quiet -- almost TOO quiet! It was wonderful.
The next morning, we had a great continental breakfast, and wonderful company as she sat and chatted with us.

This is the kind of person with an outgoing, warm personality, who makes you feel at ease right off the bat. The hotel and rooms were very comfortable. I highly recommend this place to anyone going through Raton. You get a cleaner room, and better service here for 50 bucks than at many of the $100.+ chain hotels. AND a little bowl of candy in the room -- how many chains do that?

I'd call this a "hidden gem" for sure!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank afmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We accidentally found this motel a number of years ago and decided to try it. It is a 1950s style tourist court type place, and a bit different from the larger chain motels. After that first stay, we have been returning at least twice a year on our way to Colorado. The rooms have been refurbished and the owner insures that they are super clean. Free wi-fi is now available which has added an extra value to the room. For those who want a comfortable, clean, and well established place to stay, this is a great choice. Jan (the owner) greets everyone with a warm and friendly smile...and remembers the quirks of her returning guests. For such a small place, the included breakfast menu is pretty varied. If you try it, I think you'll probably visit again if you have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bl2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St' Louis MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Small one level (no steps to climb!) older building.
However, the rooms were fresh and clean.
Stay includes a nice continental breakfast.
Owner runs the desk and breakfast, and she is very friendly and helpful.
Not all of the amenities of the big chains, but we were on our way to Philmont Boy Scout Ranch, so this was going to be the most comfortable sleep we would have for the next two weeks - and the beds were very comffortable!
The showers rocked!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InfrequentTraveler04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

I found the Raton Pass Inn during a rain storm one night while traveling in Raton New Mexico, as some of the other motels in town had some outrageously expensive rates and they were in bad shape, also they were empty. This little motel had the friendly owner come outside to greet me, and it was a decent rate offered. It looks like it was an old 1950's era place that has cemented the pool out front, placing flowers and chairs on the lawn above it, painted the motel and left the old cafe/office intact with the original sign (if you like route 66).

It is a comfortable little place that you easily park your car in front, then unload all your stuff right into your room. The rooms are very nicely renovated, very clean, looked new and they smelled good. Everything was great, including the beds. I enjoyed the night inside the room, a nice touch was candy, books to read and the art prints on the wall. All rooms are Non-smoking. They have an Air Conditioner, Microwave Oven, Cable Television, and Refrigerator. In the morning, there was a great Breakfast which included toast, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, cup fruit, waffles. In all, a great place to stay for the night or for a small vacation in Raton. Sugarite State Park - is only 5 miles away. A definite choice to stay, and a lovely little business.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Zypcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.7 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
16.2 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raton Pass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raton Pass Inn

Property: Raton Pass Inn
Address: 308 Canyon Dr, Raton, NM 87740-3717
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Raton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Raton
#5 Family Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Raton Pass Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Raton Pass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raton Pass Hotel Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing