We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly scrumptious”

Alfonso's Mexican Food
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly scrumptious”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had really low expectations walking into a gas station restaurant in a town with a name that means "rat". However, I would have been very happy with this meal had I walked into an upscale restaurant rather than a gas station. Although, be warned, portions are huge! The burritos are fat and authentic and have a nice selection of peppers to spice them up with. Best of all, our family of four ate for only twenty bucks! Awesome!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amphimixus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    9
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raton, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I would go back tomorrow!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent New Mexico/Arizona style food from this restaurant (actually one of a chain). There was only one cook and one cashier and we had to ask for our table to be cleaned before we could eat. But the food was first rate and servings are huge - you can split.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Commtexx11116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get here early”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place gets crowded by 12:15-12:30 on weekdays, and there's a good reason why -- the food is awesome!

Don't let the Conoco gas station outside scare you away. Try the #12 Carnitas plate -- the pork is succulent, the guac and pico are fresh, and the tortillas are steaming hot.

Don't miss the little fixins bar off to the side with cucumbers, peppers, and sauces inside. Be prepared to get your order to go because there are only half a dozen tables and they fill up fast!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyShoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Being from Texas, we know good Mexican food...”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

...this just happens not to be it. To be honest, I saw someone eating a straightforward chicken quesadilla and it looked delicious! And my wife got a taco that was fried and she said was excellent. But, the rellanos, enchiladas, and children's quesadilla were adequate. The sauce seemed to be from a can - and everything was just a bit too salty. The refried beans were not good and the rice was passable. I did, however, like their salsas very much.

We like to support local eateries, so I may swing back again if I'm through the area, but I'll be ordering the chicken quesadillas...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank musictraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First-rate Mexican food.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The earlier reviews about this place are accurate. The food is outstanding. It doesn't look like much from the outside (attached to a Conoco station/convenience store), but the chili verde was great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinR0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfonso's Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Alfonso's Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing