We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vey nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2010

arrived here in the middle of a snowstorm. picked the first place we could find and happy we stayed here. rooms are large, clean and comfortable. nice shower, lots of hot water, good shower pressure. our room and a microwave and fridge. lots of towels. only problem was no in-room coffee maker or mugs! everything else was perfect! ^_^

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animetart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 286 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2010

This was a great motel we stopped at to get some shut eye after a long drive. What a pleasant surprise to have found a motel that is clean. The towles were fresh and clean and the bathroom was the same. The grounds around the motel are also very well kept. The staff were extremley nice during our booking and upon our arrival. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3rcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here because we couldn't make it home in 1 day - so not by choice. It turned out to be a very pleasant experience - the rooms are large and well appointed (steam shower was great), and the place is sparkling clean. The manager was very personable and helpful, and the breakfast, although light, was fine - esppecially considering that we paid under $50!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else in this area.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akp1590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

This place looks a little unfriendly on the outside, but it had the best reviews on tripadvisor of any other place in Raton, so we gave it a try. The rooms look a little dated, but are extremely clean and comfortable. We had a beautiful wood ceiling in our large room! The shower was equipped with a steam feature which worked like a sauna. Breakfast was a bit light for those of us who like to eat and be able to drive several hours before needing to stop again. Toast, cereal, muffins and juice were available, but I really can't complain because we got a great rate and we were the only ones eating at the time. We got a great deal on the room! Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drwatson32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

In this day and age of cookie cutter hotels when you can hardly distinguish one from the next, the Budget Host Melodie Lane motel really stands out. We stayed here merely to break up a 7 hour drive from Denver to Albequerque and are very glad we did. It was nice to be able to park five feet from your motel door, grab the things you need out of the car and hit the hay. Other reviews are accurate in describing the amenities. The free breakfast went over well with all of us, saving us money and time before jumping in the car to finish our journey.

While Raton is a sleepy little town that pretty well shuts down after 7 pm, the folks there have done an amazing job of preserving nostalgia - not just at this motel, buth throughout the town. The front desk manager informed me that a horse track and casino are scheduled to open sometime in 2010 which will definitely liven up the town.

Tip if you're arriving in Raton from the north: get off at the first exit and proceed south. Knowing this would have saved us about 10 minutes in trying to find the motel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campfiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

We were looking for a decent place to stay near Capulin Volcano. I checked Tripadvisor and this place came up. Looks a little questionable on the outside as these types of motels you never know what to expect. What a gem, truly a clean, friendly, mom and pop type of establishment. Cheap rate. If I had any complaint, it might be that the breakfast was a little light - but what you do expect for the $. I can honestly say that for us, all things considered (including price) - this was our favorite stay in New Mexico.
On a side note, TripAdvisor led us to this place and it is much appreciated. I hope TripAdvisor helps to keep motels like this running successfully.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redeyez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

First time we stayed at this motel was in 1994, again we returned here in Oct 2009 and stayed on our way to CO and on our way back to AZ. The whole property is clean and neat as a pin. Our Cocker Spaniel is as welcome as we are, and the rooms are immaculate! Be sure to include this neat place in your travel plans!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mare P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
1.5 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Raton
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Tower 64 Motel & RV
Tower 64 Motel & RV
#6 of 10 in Trinidad
120 reviews
16.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Raton Pass Inn
Raton Pass Inn
#3 of 18 in Raton
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Melody Lane Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Melody Lane Motel

Address: 136 Canyon Dr, Raton, NM 87740-3524
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Raton
#3 Business Hotel in Raton
Price Range: $55 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Host Melody Lane Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Budget Host Melody Lane Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Melody Lane Hotel Raton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing