We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Value and Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Value and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

For the price, the rooms are really nice, comfy cozy bed, large-sized television, wet-bar, medium-sized refrigerator, and ample desk space. They offer hot food at evenings, which was chicken-noodle soup, but the usual high-carb breakfast with no-meat options. No gym, but they do give you complimentary access to another gym in town, and no spa, which is what I really wanted after a long drive. But the rooms were quiet and Wi-Fi worked really well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    270
    85
    25
    21
See reviews for
270
218
78
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

I had a great experience at the Microtel in Raton. It was clean, comfortable, quiet, affordable & the staff went above & beyond to make it a great stay. I'm going back as soon as I can. It is NOT a plush luxury hotel but it is very nice.

Room Tip: It is a 2 story hotel but does not have an elevator so you may want to request downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
436 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

I like Microtels in general and this one specifically as I have always found it clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location is close to the freeway but you don't hear freeway noise.

I had a suite this time, and like the other rooms, it had the padded bench underneath the window which is great for storing extra luggage and had lights running the width of the bed which really illuminates the room, especially for reading In bed. The breakfast was above average, there is a guest laundry, and the staff was most helpful in directing me to restaurants and some of the Victorian architecture in the historic area. (Raton is a charming town with some beautiful, old buildings).

The one negative was although there are lots of TV channels available, my room did not have a listing where to find a particular channel and the front desk was no help. It required the use of two remotes to turn the TV on and not being tech savvy, I never did figure out how to find a specific channel or program. I was so frustrated I gave up trying to watch TV.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here again last week, and found it is still an excellent choice. Rooms were comfortable, clean, good beds, a huge (200+) selection of TV channels to look at. Folks were friendly and the breakfast excellent--Belgian waffles, dry cereal, juice, pastries, coffee, yogurt, fruit. This is really a good, relatively inexpensive place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Raton was a fabulous stopover as was the Microtel. The staff was very friendly and wanted to make sure we were happy during our entire stay. We requested extra pillows and a ground level room before arriving AND both requests were honored! The breakfast is just fine. They offer waffles which is my favorite at such "free" breakfast offerings. We will stay here again. Raton has much more to offer than one would imagine. Look into the history, including the still functioning Shuler Theater (1915), the still functioning movie theater (1930) and the old golf course (1919). Well worth at least one night's stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.3 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 19 in Raton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Address: 1640 Cedar St, Raton, NM 87740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Raton
#3 Family Hotel in Raton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Raton Hotel Raton
Microtel Raton
Raton Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing