We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We came in late and were greeted by a nice lady, who helped us put the cold nights ride to an end.
We had hot soup and toast, coffee in the breakfast nook after we checked in, which is very nice spacious and well laid out.
Breakfast was awesome and helped us make the trip on time as there was no need to stop down the road later for a top up.
We will be stopping in next time we stay in Raton.

Room Tip: There are some fast food restaurants nearby and a few gas stations, so no need to venture far from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WingRider2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

878 - 884 of 929 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Probably one of the worst experiences I've ever had with a motel/hotel. We booked through Priceline, and no where on Priceline does it say that there are no elevators here. They do however say that if we have any special needs or other requirements, to speak to the hotel staff who should accommodate. Upon arrival, the gentleman behind the counter mentioned he was new... so that's understandable... there will be a few things that take a little longer to do, he'll be unfamiliar with some things... no problem. But... unfortunately, it eventually crossed a line from inexperienced into unaccommodating. First, even though we were prepaid, he wanted to run our credit card again, saying that it wasn't paid for yet. Upon some questioning of that... he called someone for help and like we thought, we were prepaid... so good thing we didn't get charged twice. Then, upon being told that there were no elevators, we let him know that my father has mobility issues and it's very difficult for him to get up stairs and asked if there were any ground floor rooms available. The response? "Well, I'm new... so if I changed things around then I might mess something up so... sorry." So because the staff wasn't trained well, and obviously felt uncomfortable asking for help, my 74 year old father had to go up two flights of stairs... carefully... and painfully. After all that, my parents woke up at around 6:30am the next morning and turned on the TV and received a bang on the wall from another guest wanting them to turn it down. They did... to a point where they could barely hear it, and the person next door banged again. Thin walls... not something you want in a hotel/motel. Also, this is the first time I've ever stayed anywhere that doesn't have a mini fridge in the room. Plan on throwing out any leftovers from dinner. On the positive side, the beds were comfortable. Nevertheless, with many other better options available, we definitely won't be staying in a Microtel ever again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RavRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_ratonnm, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear RavRM,

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. Based on your review, your stay was far from exceptional, and not up to our standards on which we pride ourselves in. I would like to touch on a couple subjects that were troubling to you during your stay.
Because of your review, we became aware that the online travel agencies (Priceline, Travelocity ECT…) are not displaying that we do not have an elevator. This issue has since been addressed with them. With this being said, we do like to encourage our guests when making reservations, to call our hotel directly. When calling directly to the hotel, amenities and all other questions you may have are explained. Plus, typically, we are able to give either the same and more often even better rate than what you pay when booking online.
I want to apologize for the way your issues were handled by the front desk. The gentlemen that checked you in did not handle the situation correctly. Our staff is well trained and is held with high expectations. Unfortunately, he did not meet those expectations and the appropriate actions have been taken.
As for the walls being thin, this has never been an issue here at this hotel. In fact, the previous owner who built this hotel has developed in excess of 100 hotels, and prides himself on putting extra sound barrier in the walls and does more than what typical hotel developers do. In the past, he has gone through extreme expense in fixing this issue in his hotels when he has found out it doesn’t meet his satisfaction. This hotel was built with the same level of sound barrier. Unfortunately, as is the case with all hotels, if the TV is turned up extremely loud due to hearing issues, the neighbors may have heard this with less sound distractions in their room.
Once again, I would like to apologize for the troubles you experienced during your stay with us. I hope you will give our hotel consideration again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

it was a good stay. it would be nice if you spelt my name correctly. everyone at the hotel was very courteuous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank CRYSTEL J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel is the best mid-priced hotel we have ever stayed in.
Beautiful room, spotless.
Friendly staff.
This is the chain to stay in and we will book other micro hotels when we travel.
The owner when out of his way to insure we were happy with everything.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank annegaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel seems fairly new, rooms are clean and pleasant. The hotel doesn't offer a lot of extras, but that's okay - it's still a fine value. Travelers won't be disappointed. The coffee in the beakfast room was the only thing that wasn't of good quality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Thank KURT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

AWESOME. The Hotel General Manager Steven and his Hotel Staff were Amazing. the entire stay met our needs as MICROTEL INN and SUITES was our HOSTING HOTEL for our event.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank JDV P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Room was clean and easy to cool, restaurants and fast food were with in a reasonable distance from the motel. They allow pets which was a great help to me not having to look for somewhere to put her. The area was quiet and allowed for a wonderful nights sleep. Wifi was non existent but needed sleep not Internet access. They had a nice choice of food for the continental breakfast. Would stay again if traveling through this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrylady1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_ratonnm, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review. I am glad you enjoyed that we are a pet friendly hotel and liked the location. As far as the internet, fortunately, we recently installed a new internet system with 6 new wireless access points, twice as many as before, and changed our internet provider. Unfortunately, when the new system was installed, we were having issues with the firewall. The downfall, during this time, was no access to the internet. This has since been resolved.

We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
131 reviews
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#3 of 10 in Trinidad
317 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Address: 1640 Cedar St, Raton, NM 87740-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Raton
#3 Family Hotel in Raton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Raton
Price Range: $83 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Raton Hotel Raton
Microtel Raton
Raton Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing