We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ehh, It was Passable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Ehh, It was Passable”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Not the best night stay I've ever had, but No. 5 in Raton gets you just above the Motel 6. So, you have to consider the competition. This hotel has a strange lay-out. The rooms have oddly placed lighting and windows. The breakfast was lame (it's not a "hot" breakfast with eggs and such, but cereal and muffins only, with very little seating), so we ended up at McDonald's. I won't say that I wouldn't recommend it. It wasn't awful. But, if I'm passing through Raton, next time, I'm staying at some place in either Trinidad, Colorado, or Santa Fe, New Mexico.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillF07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    313
    102
    29
    21
See reviews for
323
259
93
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay at this motel. Rooms were clean, friendly staff. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

A pleasant surprise in this economical little hotel...the room was clean, the beds were comfy, the service was pleasant! Our only complaint would be the wafting smell of cigarette smoke coming from the first floor. Otherwise, a very great bang for your traveler's buck.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candadavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, MS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Warning - if you make online reservation - they will NOT refund it. I would like to talk about quality of hotel. But, my wife changed her mind last night, now we are told we are stuck for hotel bill for a stay that is over two weeks away. Nothing like paying for a Ghost hotel. This is simply an outragious business practice - roach motels treat you better!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewBussom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

Stayed here for three nights while visiting family. Location is great, easy access to I-25. Check-in was quick and uneventful. Got up to room (no elevator) on second floor and our key cards did not work--my FI had to get them switched out twice over the course of the trip. The room itself is small with not a lot of room to walk around. Went into the bathroom and there was dried urine on the pedestal of the toilet-----was so grossed out that I ended up buying disinfecting wipes and disinfected the whole room. Next day when I went to take a shower there was hair on half of the towels in the bathroom. Had to get new towels from housekeeping before we could take showers. Housekeeping starts knocking at the door at 9:00 so if you want to sleep in this is not the place for you----no do not disturb sign was available to place on the door. We were late getting out of the room one day and noticed that housekeeping had left our new towels on the floor next to the door in the hallway. Not the place I would want to see supposedly clean towels left on the dirty carpet outside the room. The walls are very thin---on our third night there we had noisy neighbors and could hear every word that they were saying until after midnight.

Would not recommend this hotel unless you have no other choice and be prepared for it to not be clean.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toxypharmgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I can not tell you how many times we have stayed in Microtel Inn on our way up north from south Texas, but it is always one of the best places to stay and we look foreward to it, going and returning from our trip! It is a top notch hotel! Thank you for making our stay a pleasant one!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrillHooker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We got upgraded to a suite which was nicely arranged, staff was friendly, nice computer set up in the hall, cont. breakfast was decent.
Unfortunately we had a problem with loud guests in front of our ground floor window at 5 am and the night clerk was nowhere to be found, very annoying.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shock43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Raton
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
18.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Trinidad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Quality Inn Trinidad
Quality Inn Trinidad
#4 of 10 in Trinidad
306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Raton Hotel
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Address: 1640 Cedar St, Raton, NM 87740-2444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Raton
#3 Family Hotel in Raton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Raton Hotel Raton
Microtel Raton
Raton Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing