We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sands Restaurant - CLOSED

Sands Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed next door at the Hotel and was given a 10% off coupon. The outside of the place looked so run down and bad we almost didn't go. But we decided to give it a try after seeing it received high ratings on Urbanspoon. Surprisingly the food was very good. We both ordered mexican food (their menu is very diverse) and we were very pleased. Service was fair, but all in all a good meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pushing50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    31
    19
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Didn't stay to eat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

was recommended by the hotel clerk. Very old, very dated,
had to wait to be seated although the place was empty, then waited to get a menu, no one ever came back for our drink order.
left after about 20 minutes of waiting

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
237 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

This restarant was recomended to us by several people...It may have been what we ordered but we were both very disapointed..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
184 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Unfortunately, fails to make the grade”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stopped by the Sands traveling from Santa Fe to Denver, wanting an inexpensive non-chain restaurant where we could enjoy lunch.

We got both "inexpensive" and "non-chain", but the rest was down-at-the-heels. Obviously, this is a place that is trying to make it on a limited budget and failing.

Service was quite friendly, but non-professional. The menu is halfway between "american" and "south-west". The food is average at best. The staff was kind enough to let me order the "machaca" for lunch although it is only a breakfast item. Rather than "machaca" I was served shredded chuck roast with bell peppers and eggs ... perhaps "machaca" in Raton, but certainly not in other places.

The restaurant was un-tidy. I got a glimpse of the kitchen while looking for the men's room and wished I hadn't. The men's room was dirty & unkept.

Although Raton has limited choice when it comes to restaurants, perhaps there is something better.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cigano-Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stopped here based on a review I'd read. We both ordered burgers which were very good. Good service, attentive waitress and good burgers. Can't go wrong!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing