We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy stay!”
Review of Travel Motel

Travel Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travel Motel
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Travel Motel for just one night after we had been staying at Motel 6 for three nights. Immediately we adored our room for it's space and amenities. Our stay was comfortable and affordable.

While Motel 6 gave us good service, our room at the Travel Motel is much larger and cleaner. We have our own Microwave, mini fridge, ane coffee maker. Our room was stocked with lotion, shampoo, facial tissue, and bar soap. The service was friendly and more personable than that of Motel 6. All this was provided for rates that compare with Motel 6 and other motels in this area and price range. Since the Travel motel has rooms to fit single people to families with pets I recommend you stop by next time your in town!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcalcorn223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 20 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

I'm a 70+ year old man and a 100% disabled veteran i live to please God not man,I have been staying here when i come to Raton,NM to visit my daughters and grandbrats:) I usually stay because i like the manager and the peacfulness here,yes the motel is from 1970's but still always clean and compy and i haven't been disapointed ever.Look at all the reviews and what do you see?NONE are bad reviews,only 1 has hatefulness in his review(i personally know who wrote this hateful review and it is"NOT"true! He thinks he is smart(book wise yes)but i assure you he is hateful hasn't a brain God gave a goose as for common sence,he usu's $500 words that only a brain surgon would know not normal people when $.50 cent words would work the same!This is a shamfull human being who could tell these lies about another human being when it is"NOT"true!He has now planted his rotton seeds and now he will reap his rotten harvest and that is sad to me to see these sort of scumbag non human being to live in the country that folks like me fought so hard for so there could be peace and happiness here.I do pray he learns this very soon before it is to late:( Like i said this motel is very old but you will"NEVER"find what he claimed he did.He is being hateful and revengful because someone(me)told him what he really is.If your nose sticks up in the air well i belive this place wouldn't cut it for you but if your someone who likes cleanlyness and peace and a great friendly manager then you won't have a problem,i don't and i'm paticular and most of all my little 14 year old 11.2 lb female dog loves it here and the manager loves her:) Use plain old common sence and logic that God has put in EVERYONES brain and check all the reviews you will only find this one hateful one:) Thank you for reading and God bless this mess!Ray

Room Tip: From years of experiences(at least 50 out of my 70+ NEVER belive ratings that don't even sound r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I checked in late at night, ready for a good night's sleep. I'd been here a fair bit over the years; my usual cheap & genteel-shabby sort of stop. The rooms have always been adequate to date.

This time was atrocious.

Not only were the floors dirty, but there was trash on them and in the drawers.

The sink was dirty, the toilet had unflushed feces in it, the switchplates were filthy, and the bathroom had no fart fan.

There were no washcloths or towels. Luckily, I had my own.

Also, the bathtub was slippery; needed some of that non-skid tape.

For pluses, the place did have shampoo & soap. The shower head was decent.

The room had modern electrical outlets, and the heat was decent.

The bed was made, and appeared clean. Still, I had to wonder....

My guess (playing detective) is that the room was partially cleaned, the maid called away, and the rest forgotten. This is why I'm giving the motel a "poor" rather than a "terrible".

On this occasion, I declined to tip. I would have complained to management, but it was way late.

Even though previous visits were okay, I have no real desire to go back given this last experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very nice manager, friendly, courteous.
Clean and comfortable. Pet friendly.
Worth the stop when on the road and need a place to stay that's not going to empty your wallet for a few hours sleep.
Not the Waldorf Astoria, but not paying Waldorf Astoria prices either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My plans for my month long vacation fell thru because there was a fire where I had planned on staying. Thank to Aimee the manager at the Travel Motel I was able to have a clean, comfortable room for my stay here in NM. The price was very reasonable and the location was great..close to restaurants, convenient stores and gift shops. This may be a older motel..but its clean and comfortable and quiet. If I happen to pass by this way again I would be happy to stay here again. A BIG thanks to Aimee the manager for making my stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

found this Route 66 type motel, to be better than expected.
Amy was awsome and sincerely cared about my comfort.
Nice to have refrigerator and microwave in room.
Great location for exploring.
Be back soon.....
Thank-you

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solmaryrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We tried the quality inn across the street and they where just rude and they wanted over a hundred for a king. We saw the travel motel and they offered us a king for 39.99(smoking and non smoking) DEAL we said. When we checked in they gave us a business card that was good for ten percent off at the local restaurants. We went to eat at sands Mexican restaurant. every thing is homemade and delicious. The room in the motel was good for the price but the bed was HUGE California king huge. I would totally recommend and stay there again... thank you guys.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badgerfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raton hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Raton
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
1.7 mi away
Raton Pass Inn
Raton Pass Inn
#3 of 18 in Raton
170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Raton
Travelodge Raton
#12 of 18 in Raton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Motel

Address: 400 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740-2345
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travel Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing