We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Motel”
Review of El Kapp Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Kapp Motel
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This older motel ha a lot of great things going for it that make it a better value than the Motel 6 down the block.
The bathtub in Room 6 is large, and there is great water pressure in the shower.
The towels are large and fluffy and the tile looks new.
A coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave are all pluses.
The bed is comfortable and the linens clean and fresh.
The staff at the front desk is also friendly and helpful.
I travel to Raton often, and this is my budget motel of choice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k9taos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

Even though the room was older, the room was clean and the people at the front desk were extremely helpful. We stayed here for over a month and never once had any issues. We would stay here again if we traveled back here through Raton. We have absolutely no complaints to voice in this review.

Room Tip: the further from the office the rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was clean, yet dated...The lady behind the desk was very helpful and nice. The price was right for a clean place to sleep and shower. It has a yummy restaurant right next door. close to shops and highway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't know how he can get away with advertising "Clean Rooms" on his sign without being sued by the State's Attorney General because the room was really bad. The carpet looked to be 50+ years old and never cleaned. Stay away

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeLafives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2012 one night, $49
but since then this hotel has billed my credit card twice months later for $33.71
I called and the manager told me to sue him!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We got to town late over the 4th of July weekend and everywhere else was booked. The was the only place left. It's a dump. The room was like Miss Havisham's house - covered in dust. Everything was grimy. The carpet was so dirty it was a completely different color than the original that poked out from under the armoire.

The thing that topped it off for us was the smoke detector. Someone had written "Do Not Touch" on it. Sometime in the middle of the night it started to beep, like if the battery had died. It seemed like a sadistic joke.

When we left in the morning I noticed the grounds A total mess. The pool was empty and in disrepair, the bottom was filled with garbage and debris. If I'd seen the outside in the middle of night I think I really would have slept in the car. Unfortunately we were all too tired to keep driving on. We sucked it up and stayed.

Even though the room was an almost unheard of $39, there's no excuse for for dirty.

Room Tip: Bring a hazmat suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Rude, surly hindu desk clerk. He would not honor his coupons in the Saver booklet. Just kept saying "busy time, busy time". He wanted to charge me more. I finally went up the road to the Motel6 and got a nicer, cleaner room at a better rate.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raton hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 18 in Raton
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
1.7 mi away
Raton Pass Inn
Raton Pass Inn
#3 of 18 in Raton
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Raton
Travelodge Raton
#12 of 18 in Raton
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Kapp Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Kapp Motel

Address: 200 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Hotels in Raton
Price Range: $44 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Kapp Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your El Kapp Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing