We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Budget Motel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Kapp Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Kapp Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Taos, NM
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Budget Motel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This older motel ha a lot of great things going for it that make it a better value than the Motel 6 down the block.
The bathtub in Room 6 is large, and there is great water pressure in the shower.
The towels are large and fluffy and the tile looks new.
A coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave are all pluses.
The bed is comfortable and the linens clean and fresh.
The staff at the front desk is also friendly and helpful.
I travel to Raton often, and this is my budget motel of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k9taos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
5
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Even though the room was older, the room was clean and the people at the front desk were extremely helpful. We stayed here for over a month and never once had any issues. We would stay here again if we traveled back here through Raton. We have absolutely no complaints to voice in this review.

Room Tip: the further from the office the rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The room was clean, yet dated...The lady behind the desk was very helpful and nice. The price was right for a clean place to sleep and shower. It has a yummy restaurant right next door. close to shops and highway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I don't know how he can get away with advertising "Clean Rooms" on his sign without being sued by the State's Attorney General because the room was really bad. The carpet looked to be 50+ years old and never cleaned. Stay away

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeLafives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Raton hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in Jan 2012 one night, $49
but since then this hotel has billed my credit card twice months later for $33.71
I called and the manager told me to sue him!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We got to town late over the 4th of July weekend and everywhere else was booked. The was the only place left. It's a dump. The room was like Miss Havisham's house - covered in dust. Everything was grimy. The carpet was so dirty it was a completely different color than the original that poked out from under the armoire.

The thing that topped it off for us was the smoke detector. Someone had written "Do Not Touch" on it. Sometime in the middle of the night it started to beep, like if the battery had died. It seemed like a sadistic joke.

When we left in the morning I noticed the grounds A total mess. The pool was empty and in disrepair, the bottom was filled with garbage and debris. If I'd seen the outside in the middle of night I think I really would have slept in the car. Unfortunately we were all too tired to keep driving on. We sucked it up and stayed.

Even though the room was an almost unheard of $39, there's no excuse for for dirty.

Room Tip: Bring a hazmat suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunburnt_curt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Rude, surly hindu desk clerk. He would not honor his coupons in the Saver booklet. Just kept saying "busy time, busy time". He wanted to charge me more. I finally went up the road to the Motel6 and got a nicer, cleaner room at a better rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Raton hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Lemus Inn & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 19 in Raton
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Raton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Raton Hotel
1.5 mi away
Budget Host Melody Lane Motel
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Raton
Motel 6 Raton
#10 of 19 in Raton
3.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Kapp Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Kapp Motel

Property: El Kapp Motel
Address: 200 Clayton Rd, Raton, NM 87740-2312
Location: United States > New Mexico > Raton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Raton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Kapp Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your El Kapp Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing