We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise!”

Ranchos Plaza Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Greeley, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Very quaint. Nothing fancy about this place but their food was great. One plate of food could feed two people. Can't miss it leaving Taos heading to Santa Fe next to church.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nativson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    95
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Walpole, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Go Out of Your Way!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

It's a REASON to visit Taos. This restaurant is proof that honest presentation can be beautiful and wonderful. If you're looking for Margaritas and Fajitas galore...this is NOT the place...This is a friendly warm beautfiul little restaurant that serves well prepared thoughtfully created dishes. The BEST sopapillas, large, fluffy, warm and filling. The green chile sauce with a nice low heat, I We ordered and additional side it was so good! And...Maybe the best chile rellenos ever!!! The staff work well together and are efficient and friendly. There were many 'regulars' in while we were there and it's easy to see why. This place is a testament to New Mexican cuisine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible, Don't miss out”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best New Mexican restaurant I have been. We had the carne adovado enchiladas and a combo plate (cheese enchiladas and tamales). Everything was outstanding, even the normally throw away beans and rice. Meal came with giant delicious, flaky sopapillas. I can not begin to describe just how good the food was, so try it for yourself. The place appears to be a family run operation and is minimally staffed. It took awhile for us to be seated despite numerous available tables, but after we had our table the service was prompt and the waiters frequently checked to make sure things were good. Don't be discouraged if you have to wait for someone to have time to seat you. Your patience will absolutely be rewarded by delicious food! Your taste buds will thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best ever”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have a get away home in Taos. We stop for lunch or dinner regularly. If we are arriving and they are opened we pull in before even unpacking! The atmosphere is great. We love to eat on the patio. The staff is very friendly. The outdoor area is minimal. But you can see a landmark next door and all the tourists are fun to watch taking pictures. You also have a great view of the mountains. The food is breathtaking! Authentic! Delicious! The guacamole and their salsa are killer! It is so hard to pick which wonderful entree you will have. You can't go wrong! The beans are home made and not some deadly refryed glob thrown on a plate. The iced teas are very nice ( the raspberry is my husband's favorite). No alcohol here because of the proximity to the church, but they are a packed house without it. It is about the perfect food! Then there are the sopapillas!! They truly the best in the state ( I have personally tested hundreds of them)! This is a family friendly place. The casual atmosphere allows you to relax, breath the fresh air and have one of the best meals you will ever eat! Going back in a few weeks and can hardly wait!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent Food with Moderate Service”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

First off, let me start off by saying that I would definitely eat here again! The food was excellent, fresh, and the sopapillas were amazing! The service was a bit on the slow side. Everyone was very friendly and welcoming, but a took a while to get seated and served. If you have the time, come enjoy this great food, you won't forget it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric2000f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranchos Plaza Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ranchos Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing