We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a local's favorite for good reasons”

Ranchos Plaza Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“its a local's favorite for good reasons”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I will start with my bias: I have been coming here for over a decade and used to be a local myself. This is fabulous New Mexican cuisine, that is not Haute Cuisine, but the kind of food you crave when you have had homemade enchiladas and chile rellanos at all your relatives and friend's houses, and then you have to leave Taos for awhile. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu, and their sopapillas are my kid's favs. The gravel parking lot is usually filled with the trucks of local families who have stopped in for dinner. It's also popular with the retirees, and quasi-locals of Taos, and visiting Texans from their cabins in Red River. There is a great courtyard, local art on the walls, and freindlly service. And we always see someone we know who is happy to be there and have Taos home cooking. Take your time to enjoy a real New Mexican experience, and visit the wonderful historic Ranchos Francis de Assisi Church while you are there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yogitravelmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    95
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Authentic New Mexican Food”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The food here is the real deal. On our past visit, the carne adovada blue corn enchiladas were amazing! Other than the fact that they don't serve alcohol, this place is perfect. The food definitely makes up for the lack of margaritas!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Rellano”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

It is a very quintessential Taos type atmosphere. Some very nice murals and art work . The Chile rellano was done the right way and the sopapillas were hot and large. The green Chile was perfect. Lovely courtyard enclosed by an adobe wall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Would Recommend”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Wanted to try a mexican restaurant in Taos while on vacation and we hit the nail on the spot. The food was wonderful, wait staff was great and the food was served in a timely manner. Would recommend this to anyone. My husband and I did the combo so we could try three different items; too much food but well worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JandJ539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stop and try it!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Must go to this little place. Husband said his shrimp quesadiallas were the best he had ever eaten. The chicken caesar salad was delicious and not too heavy. Friendly service.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelplanner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ranchos Plaza Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ranchos Plaza Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing