We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a place to come back to again and again”
Review of Old Martina's Hall

Old Martina's Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: O.M.H. Is a historic adobe nestled in the heart of the original Ranchos de Taos. Our fare is a marriage of contemporary, Southwestern flavors with New Mexican cuisine, serving Brunch and Dinner. The Bar has many local and import beers on tap with fine French, Italian, Domestic and Local wines on our list. Check our online calendar for upcoming Live Music shows!
Santa Fe
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This is a place to come back to again and again”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Ever since Martina's Hall opened up we have been regular visitors there, and it was only our laziness that prevented us from writing a review. The wonderfully restored building just across the street from the famous (amongst photographers) church in Ranchos de Taos houses not only a terrific restaurant but also an even hall for live events and art exhibitions. In summer there is a nice terrace on the first floor for out side dining.

The staff is very friendly and very professional. The chef comes form the kitchen frequently to talk to guests and solicit feedback on her creations. As to be expected from an Bavarian Owner, the pastry selection is out of this world, and Martina has taken a lot of care in assembling a wine selection matching her menu.

I have tried about very meal on the menu (except for things with cheese as I am lactose intolerant) and enjoyed them all. Keep going Matina, we wan to come bak often.

BTW.: If you want to take something special home with you, check out the cosmetic products from Martina's company in Germany.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meikie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    49
    21
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Every meal a feast”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have been to Martina's Hall many times, for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Every single meal has been delicious. The building was meticulously renovated by the current owner and has a great and welcoming atmosphere. On a recent visit, the cappuccino was brewed to perfection and the croissant simply delightful. You cannot go wrong! We always look forward having our meal there.
For a simple drink sit at the bar and relax. In the summer time you can have your meal at the upstairs balcony/patio.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Very average in every way.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I was not a fan of the table placement. The entire restaurant was pretty much open, yet we were seated at a table where the only way for the adjacent table to get out to use the restroom or anything was to ask us to get up! We asked for a different table, but we were told no as they were expecting large groups to arrive. This was 1:30 on a Saturday afternoon, but OK. The server was very nice, but I think she is ordinarily the bartender or something. She did not seem real comfortable even reciting the 2 daily specials. I commented to my wife that the one thing sounded like something she would enjoy, and the server had to start the entire spiel over again about the 2 specials. I also believe she forgot to put the order in for my salad. Once I reminded her, she actually ran to the kitchen, and the next thing I knew, my salad was on the table. Sadly, my meal was ALSO ion the table about 2 minutes later. I ordered the seafood pasta. It was a solid B. It was tasty, but would have benefited from a bit of Parmesan cheese, and some salt and pepper. It was somewhat bland. The pasta was cooked perfectly, and the seafood seemed fresh. Cindy ordered the special of the day, I cannot recall the name, and she loved it. The ambiance was lacking as the place was very loud. Also, like I mentioned earlier, even though there were only 4 tables seated, they ensured we were stacked on top of each other. If you are in the area, and hungry, it is a nice break from all the green and red chile dominated menus. That being said, I would definitely not go out of my way to make a repeat visit. The restrooms were immaculate, and tastefully decorated.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_from_Omaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We chose Old Martina's hall to ring in the New Year and what a great surprise. It has a beautiful bar and a large dining room located like in a ballroom type setting. At times there will be entertainment so you may want to call ahead to check out what may be happening the evening you will be dining. We chose the upstairs for New Years since there was a magic show and we wanted a little more privacy. The food was good and so was the service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelthroughmyeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great building, slow but charming service”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner here last week during a Taos ski trip. Gorgeous restored building across the road from the early 18th century church in Rancho de Taos - very beguiling spot. Beautifully presented and absolutely delicious food. The best dinner we have had in a long time. Service is very friendly but slow. They were aware of it which was nice. It was a busy night. Be ready to relax and enjoy rather than hurry.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Texastrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Martina's Hall also viewed

 
Ranchos De Taos, Taos
 

Been to Old Martina's Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing