We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Obligatory for O'Keefe fans”

San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.00*
and up
Taos Highlights Small-Group Driving Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Buttressed church photograhed by legendary photographer Ansel Adams, and painted by famed artist Georgia O'Keeffe.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Obligatory for O'Keefe fans”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Step into an O'Keefe painting, but make sure that you see the inside of the church too for Spanish Colonial atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beccabas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    176
    41
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
328 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Take pictures at different times of the day”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

National Historic Landmark & World Heritage church


San Francisco de Asis c 1771, located near Taos in Ranchos de Taos, is one of the most photographed churches in the world. Ansel Adams & Georgia O Keefe have made the church an important stop for visual artists from all over the world. Take pictures from all sides. We stopped by 3 times to photograph at different times of the day. The enclosed courtyard is beautiful. The plaza surrounding the church is historic district.
San Francisco de Asis Mission is an active parish. They work hard to keep this famous building preserved.

One of the times we stopped, we took time to view the Mystery Painting. You go to the gift shop, pay $3.00 and then they will take you to where the painting is kept. 1st you watch a short film about the painting and then you get to see the magical painting. It was worth the $3.00 to see this.

The last time we stopped we ate at the restaurant in the plaza – Ranchos Plaza Grill. What a treat that was!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank limey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
204 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The church really is beautiful. We decided to visit it in the late afternoon, and the light on the church was gorgeous. There was a mass going on inside, and it was nice hearing the congregation singing acapella while I took in the beautiful architecture. The church is located in Ranchos de Taos, which is south of the plaza area of Taos. We visited the church after spending the afternoon down in the river gorge, which worked out well as far as the direction of our travel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pedrothelion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“historical must”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

facinating adobe church, older than time, history, and quaint gift shop with very appropriate souvies, great photo op

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lucky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a short stop”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

A beautiful adobe church that may or may not be top of your list of things to see in Taos but certainly worth a stop to look at inside and out for the gorgeous adobe architecture.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sc0utFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church also viewed

 

Been to San Francisco de Assisi Mission Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing