We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't see the other motel in this town, but I would move on”

Sangre De Cristo Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Questa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sangre De Cristo Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Questa
Pacific Ocean
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“We didn't see the other motel in this town, but I would move on”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's run down and, even though inexpensive, not really worth it. If you are taking the beautiful loop around Wheeler Mountain, I would recommend moving on to Eagle Nest. It's not that far and there are many more lodging and food options.

Questa looks like it has been badly hurt by the economy. While there are a large number of places to buy liquor and beer, there is very little in the way of food. We did get a pizza and it was terrible.

This is a beautiful location on a stunning road. Someone really should put some money and energy into supplying a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sailsequoyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe NM
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We chose this place for is location- closest motel to the Valle Vidal and Rio Costilla areas for fly fishing and closest lodging to the Wild Rivers Recreation area. Close enough to Red River to go there but not have to stay there. The owner is very friendly and seems to be the only one around. He did not require a credit card for a reservation, and gave us a senior discount when we checked in. $50/per night included tax. The rooms are concrete block construction, so you hear very little noise from other guests. The A/C unit is noisy, but this is a plus as white noise. Mini-fridge, microwave, TV with lots of channels, plenty of lamps, a love seat, decent queen bed--all we needed for our 3-night stay. No internet, no shampoo, no phone. Local grocery store, dollar store and hardware store are just down the road for things you might need. But the motel really needs some work - old wallpaper on one wall was dirty and peeling - carpet not well vacuumed - dead bushes in front of each room - pile of brush/branches heaped next to the one outdoor table - indoor/outdoor carpet on steps coming off - constantly dripping tub faucet - and more. It is sad and tired looking. I hope the owner can fix it up some or it may not be around for long. It is a restful spot to stay in a beautiful part of NM, and would be missed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

As others have stated in previous reviews (which helped me to stay at this motel), this is a good place to stay. Questa is 12 miles west of Red River and Questa is not a tourist town (it is a sleepy community). Overall, the owner (Bud) is a great cordial person and the motel can be be viewed in my opinion as an early 60's type motel. The exterior is in need of some repair but the interior of the rooms were clean, beds were comfortable and equipped with small frig and microwave. As earlier reviewers have stated, this is not a fancy place but simply is a clean, comfortable inexpensive place to stay. I was able to make a reservation via telephone (no credit card) and was unable to make first night due to car trouble. Called Bud and it was no problem. If you check Red River they want your first born to make a reservation and there are no cancellation policies (generally 2 weeks notice). We paid $55 night for three adults (myself, wife and 18yr old son).

Would stay here again without hesitation. Actually this would be a great place to stay if you were skiing in Taos since it is not far from the Taos ski area and the rooms in Taos are outrageous (years ago we stayed in Red River and drove over to Taos to ski). At that time, I took a turn off at Arroyo Hondo (state route B143 to Arroyo Seco) and then into the ski valley. Been several years but it cut off several miles.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank osucowboy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

As others have said, this place offers an excellent value and a good location for exploring the nearby area. Close to Wild Rivers park and Red River. Good fishing and outdoor activities as well as breathtaking scenic beauty. The rooms are nothing fancy but clean and comfortable with small refrigerator and microwave. No internet at motel and almost none in town. Restaurants scarce. Owner/manager Bud is very friendly and helpful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Nice big room with a couch refrigerator and microwave. Good deal for the money. No internet and bring your own shampoo. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonnywiseblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A great place to stay if you want an inexpensive place to stay while skiing. This is not a fancy place compared to the places on the mountain, but can't complain as it had a bed, shower, and cable tv. Owner was great dude. Was able to get a room the night before I arrived.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usnate84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

This is a really neat little place, we liked staying there so much we are already planning another vacation to the area with plans to use the motel as a home base to explore the area more. Rooms are very comfortable and clean, they have a really neat retro/vinage decor that we really liked. The owner/manager was very friendly and helpful about providing info about area attractions. We usually prefer staying at the 'mom and pop' places, just wish all of them were as nice and clean and comfortable as this one. A great value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthwestTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Questa
10.4 mi away
Best Western Rivers Edge
Best Western Rivers Edge
#1 of 8 in Red River
532 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
The Blake at Taos Ski Valley
#1 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
80 reviews
10.3 mi away
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
Alpine Lodge & Hotel
#5 of 8 in Red River
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Laguna Vista Lodge
Laguna Vista Lodge
#1 of 4 in Eagle Nest
90 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ponderosa Lodge
Ponderosa Lodge
#8 of 8 in Red River
53 reviews
11.0 mi away
Alpine Village Suites
Alpine Village Suites
#2 of 2 in Taos Ski Valley
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangre De Cristo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangre De Cristo Motel

Property: Sangre De Cristo Motel
Address: Highways 522 and 38, Questa, NM 87556
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Questa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Questa
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing