We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Enlightening

The Acoma Pueblo is an easy one hour drive from Albuquerque. Go to their website to check the days... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
SelbyDale
,
Saint Paul, Minnesota
A must-visit if you are in Albuquerque

When a friend highly recommended that we visit Sky City, I was at first hesitant, worried that it... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Judith D
,
Berkeley, California
Read all 889 reviews
  
Reviews (889)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveler rating
661
125
34
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
125
34
15
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews our tour guide pueblo tour no electricity san esteban new mexico beautiful pottery tribe members hand holds mission church for sale valley floor no pressure to buy vendors selling take pictures living history walking tour cultural experience
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 849 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Acoma Pueblo is an easy one hour drive from Albuquerque. Go to their website to check the days/ hours the pueblo is open for visitors and the tour times. These vary depending on the winter/ summer schedule.

Our tour guide for the Sky City village was just great--such an articulate young man who shared the history of the Acoma. Beautiful pottery for sale in the village as well as some prepared food sold from homes.

A bus takes you to and from the Sky City village for the tour, though you have the option to walk back to the Cultural Center/ Museum. We did not eat at the cafe in the Cultural Center but did visit the museum that shows changing exhibitions. We spent about two plus hours on our visit.

Thank SelbyDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

When a friend highly recommended that we visit Sky City, I was at first hesitant, worried that it would be like some of the touristy "pueblos" in the Southwest. I was so wrong! Once I researched Sky City, I knew that we had to go. We went with two family members who live in Albuquerque. They had not been to Acoma in a few years and were surprised to see the new--and nicely done--visitor center, which had exhibit galleries. On our visit, one was devoted to the well-known and highly regarded local pottery. To visit the settlement on the mesa, you take a small bus and follow a well-informed guide. If you like, you can descend via the stairs, with handholds in the rocks, following the path that Acoma predecessors used for many years. Learning about the history was fascinating, and the views from the mesa are stunning.

Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This Native American site is approx. 60 miles west of Albuquerque, NM on I-40. The Sky City is the oldest continually inhabited city in America. You'll need to go up to it on a bus and with a guide. No water, no electricity and no plumbing for the approx. 5,000-6,000 residents. Fascinating!! (also pricey) Nearly $50 for the two of us. Tour takes about 90 minutes.

Thank Cal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinJ163, Manager at Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning and than your for your feedback on your most recent visit with us here at Acoma Pueblo and the Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum. Yes, Acoma Pueblo "Sky City" is considered to be the oldest continuously inhabited community in North America dating back to 1150 A.D. The pueblo village sits atop a sandstone mesa 370 feet above ground level. It is still a living community without the convenience of running water and electricity. The Acoma people continue to preserve the enriched culture and native language.

There are other local villages within the Acoma Reservation where most of the tribal members live but return to the old village on a daily basis and//or for feast days or religious activities.

Our Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum admission packages include the pueblo guided tour, Haak'u Museum admissions, and a camera permit. We believe our package fess are very reasonable, as many visitors agree.

We also have our very own Yaak'a (Corn) Café and Gaits'i (Beautiful) Gift Shop for guests to enjoy.

As always, we appreciate all comments from our visitors.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

People have mentioned getting lost. If you are coming from Albuquerque, when you come off the I-40 follow the signs to Acomita. The cultural centre and museum is lovely, clean and well laid out. It is worth spending some time to watch the video, either before or after the tour up to Sky City Acoma Pueblo. We had lunch in the cafe after the tour and found it very reasonable, serving cafeteria type food and good quality - certainly easier (and cheaper) than looking for somewhere in ABQ. We found that service throughout the visit, whether on reception, on the tour or at the cafe was very good. Oh and the tour is a must.

Thank dragonphoe18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Do not use the directions to Acoma Sky City on their website! They will take you out of the way and once you take Exit 102, the signs are very skimpy. Out of 4 cars of people in our group, 3 of them got lost! This turned out to be costly because we arrived at the visitors center late and scattered. Some of us were able to get on the tour and others in our group had to wait until the next tour which meant that we lost our group discount. TAKE THE EASY WAY INSTEAD! Exit 108 off I-40 and it is a straight shot south (State Rd. 23) about 11 miles to Sky City on your left. Eazy-Peazy. ;-) The day was gorgeous and the scenery stunning. Highly recommend. Oh, and the green chile french fries in the cafe were especially good. Should be shared...to large for one person.

Thank Luna2349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We got the tour bus from the visitors center and were met by our guide who spoke from personal experience about life in the oldest continuously inhabited community in North America. He explained the way life operates there and the importance of water to his people. Along the tour of the mesa we met with some of the Acoma people who had set up tables displaying their handcrafted goods. The pottery was especially beautiful. We also heard about the challenges the Spanish made to the way of life and spirituality of the Acoma people.
Back down off the mesa we tried the cafe that is part of the visitor center. We were very disappointed with the service and the food served. I would not recommend the cafe at all. Because we took so long in there we missed the museum and the gift shop.

Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinJ163, Manager at Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning and thank you sharing your experience with us here at Acoma Pueblo and the Sky City Cultural Center & Haak’u Museum. I’m glad to hear you had a good experience while on your pueblo guided tour.

On the flip side, my apologies for not having a good experience in our Yaak’a Cafe. We strive to provide quality customer service and we do the best we can to serve our customers in a timely manner. We apologize if the food was not to your liking. We do get many compliments on how the food was as well as our service.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

Have a safe and happy holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We watched the video before embarking on the Pueblo tour. It was excellent. Clean restrooms. The view of the Pueblo is excellent. In retrospect, you can skip the tour ....very commercial from my perspective. We did not try the cafe.

Thank WC-Travelers-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The drive from I-40 is well marked. The views of the mesas are amazing. The view FROM the mesas will take your breath away. The Cultural Center is home to the Haak'u Museum. Definitely walk though the museum and read the stories about the Acoma people. Definitely read the steps to making their intricately painted pottery. Be sure to buy your Tour Ticket as you first enter. There are scheduled times for the shuttle bus to drive you up to the top of the mesa. You stay with your Tour Guide the entire time, but this is not a hinderance, but a welcome way to learn about Sky City. Residents have tables with pottery items, and other local crafts, for sale. Suggest you support the mesa residents and buy something. You won't be disappointed! If your legs are strong and your shoes sturdy, I recommend taking the stairs down the mesa. You will have a short walk back to the Cultural Center, as the shuttle won't wait for you at the bottom of the stairs. Be sure to tip your Guide!

Thank Marcia-ABQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelvinJ163, Manager at Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so kindly for sharing your experience all while visiting with us here at Acoma Pueblo and the Sky City Cultural Center. It sounds like your visit was pleasant and breathtaking.

Please continue to share your experience with others and encouraging them to come learn about the living history of the Acoma people.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

The museum and center are clean, neat and modern. Information is mainly gained by reading the stories of local people and their families and ancestors. We were disappointed that we could not walk beyond the museum and instead had to take a scheduled bus ride. The museum is quite a drive from I-40 and the return route is not well marked.

Thank samuel755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Acoma has an absolutely beautiful cultural center. The stonework is gorgeous, and it's a pleasure just to walk around the building. It has space for a museum, a shop, a restaurant, a theater and more. The Haak'u Museum has a permanent exhibit and smaller changing shows. The former, "Growing Up Pueblo," is basically a collection of oral histories (some presented in video form, much more in print on the walls). It could stand to be edited down to something more focused, though I'm sure it's satisfying as is to the Acoma people themselves. I was struck by how often individuals' testimony mentioned the loss of the language.

Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews