We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight for adults and kids”

Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Sky City Cultural Center and Haak’u Museum, rich in cultural architecture, serves as the reception center and museum for visitors to the Pueblo of Acoma, as well as a research and community use facility for tribal members. The primary 40,000 square foot Cultural Center is a two story structure with a basement and central courtyard/plaza area. The Cultural Center was designed to represent and recreate the ancestral architectural styles of the Acoma people – which include natural stacked stone and natural mud plastered adobe – while showcasing Acoma Pueblo architecture both past and present. This world class facility is dedicated to the preservation of Acoma history, traditional pottery and other art forms, the repatriation of objects of cultural patrimony and the development of both educational and interpretive programs.
Delaware
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A highlight for adults and kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

Visited Acoma in April with an 11-year old child who is not particularly interested in history during a trip to NM. We both ended up enjoying the whole experience from speaking with Acoma artists at the cultural center, dining at the cafe and touring the historic pueblo on top of mesa. The walking tour turned out to be a highlight, in part, because of the engaging, knowledgeable tour-guide Christine, and we learned a great deal about both the history of these people as well as their contemporary life. if you are shopping for Acoma pottery or jewelry, there is plenty of opportunity and choices and you won't find better values than at the Pueblo though it is a bit rushed. Our regret is that we didn't go back after the tour to take advantage of the chance to buy directly from the artists. All of the folks we interacted with were extremely friendly.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PC2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    108
    34
    14
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The history wad interesting...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

And our tour guide was friendly and witty. The views are spectacular of the scenery...but you don't get to "see" the culture. And the "museum" does .OT reconstruct anything for you...it's current day artists on display- photography right now.

Helpful?
1 Thank jereitz3549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkyCity_C_C, General Manager at Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We appreciate your comments and we are still in the planning stages for our permanent exhibit which will construct our history. Times you can fully experience our cultural will be September 2nd which is one of our major feast days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
536 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Visit here before you tour "Sky City"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

The museum is well done and you can get a wealth of information on "Sky City" and the Acoma Pueblo Indians. You can have lunch here and outside on most days the Indians are there to sell pottery and jewelry. My wife bought some of each and it's very good quality.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Indiana
Level Contributor
536 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“On a beautiful mesa sits Acoma Pueblo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

On your drive to Acoma Pueblo or "sky city" you will be astonished by the many mesas,the vast valley, and unusual rock formations. Acoma is the oldest continuously inhabited town in America. If you want to tour the city you must go on a guided tour which is excellent. Our guide named Gary was very good in explaining the culture and he definitely knows, he is an Acoma Indian. I believe you have to pay a fee if you want to take pictures and then you are limited in what you can do. You can't take pictures inside the church or pictures of their burial grounds, those are sacred places. You can take pictures of everything else and you will have an opportunity to buy some Acoma pottery during your tour. This is a must see when in New Mexico!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank terrsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
school
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Limpert is the best! He gave us the history of the Pueblo , where he lives with his family. He even invited us for the feast of St Stephens in September as well as for Christmas. No running water, electricity, and NO plumbing.... Ck out the Acoma ATM's.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank yeeteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sky City Cultural Center & Haak'u Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing