We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and not well maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portales
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portales
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and not well maintained”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times the past 3 years, as my child is a student at ENMU. The price has increased by over $50 a night since and the hotel continues to decline. This will be our last time to stay here. The hotel next door just completed renovations and charge $60 less per night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express Portales, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear HaroldD,

I am disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    22
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
8
1
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Our room here was very clean and pleasant. We enjoyed our free breakfast, with a nice selection of hot and cold foods. The staff was very nice. The room has all the amenities you need, free wi-fi, a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. We stayed here because we were on our way to Clovis. It's fairly close and it didn't take us long to get to our destination. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoFourTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Visited Portales on a job interview and this hotel was my base of operations. Hotel was located just a couple blocks from Eastern New Mexico University, the biggest institution in the town. Staff was friendly and efficient. Pool, workout room, and business center were easily accessible and comfortably met my needs. Room was very comfortable and clean. Just a nice all-around experience and good value for the money.

Free wi-fi worked like a charm, which is always important to me too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevej4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artesia, New Mexico
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

After checking a couple of reviews in Portales, this looked like a winner. Hubby had to go to some training and I went along for the ride. For 10 bucks more we reserved a suite with a sittng area, micro-fridge, 2 TV's, lounge chair in sleeping area, and nice view. Breakfast was great, with omlets and ham the first morning, then scramble eggs and sausage the 2nd morning with hot biscuits and gravy, cereals hot and cold, juice, fruit, yogurt, fresh sweet rolls. Very nice. There are also fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon. Complimentary paper. Very clean room, nice business center, but there is wifi in the room, staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back if hubby has more training.

Room Tip: They are pet friendly here. If staying for a few days pay the extra 10 and get a suite. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n5wbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I simply liked it. Check in and out was a breeze. I did not spend a lot of time at the hotel, however, the room was very comfortable, breakfast was nice and the interaction I had with the staff was pleasant. I would stay again and would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perezic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stayed two nights while we attended the Prairie Chicken Festival in Milnesand (~ 38 miles south of hotel). Hotel is well located just south of Eastern New Mexico University. Room (two queen beds) was adequate size with good layout. No room safe was present. Both in-room refrigerator and microwave were present. Linens were contemporary. Mattress a bit hard and pillows average at best. Lots of drawers. Closet small but adequate. Mirrors were fine. Shower had good water pressure. Towels were excellent. One sink in the shower area - no separate sink. Counter space was fine. Adequate TV channels but no HD. Very clean common area and room. Front desk very responsive. They went out of way to have breakfast ready by 03:00 AM as that is when we had to drive to Milnesand. Didn't try WiFi or indoor pool. Plenty of parking. Room was away from highway and was very quiet - don't know how noisy rooms would be near highway but probably to avoid. Overall, this was one of the best Holiday Inn Expresses we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Probably avoid rooms overlooking highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

This is still a very nice Holiday Inn Express, but when I'm paying over $100 a night, I expect things to be spotless. This place has slipped from my last visit a couple years ago while the price has gone up.

There is a nice shelving unit under the bathroom sinks. Unfortunately, there was dust, dirt, and dead bugs beside it and on the bottom shelf. There were also crumbs and debris in most of the dresser and nightstand drawers. The room needed a good vacuuming with furniture moved to get in the corners and hard-to-reach spots.

Many of the very nice aspects of the hotel were still there. Breakfast was good. The granite shower walls were still very nice. Internet worked well. The towels were great.

At the prices charged, though, the hotel should be able to afford a detailed cleaning for its rooms more often.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovePgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portales
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Clovis
Hampton Inn Clovis
#3 of 13 in Clovis
268 reviews
18.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Clovis
20.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Clovis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Clovis
18.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Clovis
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Portales
Super 8 Portales
#1 of 4 in Portales
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portales

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portales
Address: 1901 West 2nd Street, Portales, NM 88130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Portales
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Portales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Portales 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest addition to Portales, New Mexico is the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Portales, conveniently located on US Hwy 70, just 1 mile southwest of downtown Portales and near Eastern New Mexico University, the Greyhound Arena and Stadium and Cannon Air Force Base. This beautifully appointed property includes 65 brand new overly spacious guest rooms that all offer free high-speed Internet, microwave and refrigerator, 27 TV, and coffee maker. Guests are also welcome to relax in the indoor pool and spa or use the fitness and business centers. Guests can also enjoy a unique breakfast experience at the new Express Start breakfast bar served every morning from 6:00 AM to 9:30 AM featuring scrambled eggs or omelets, sausage or bacon, biscuits, gravy, and our trademark cinnamon roll.Local businesses include: Abengoa Bioenergy, DairiConcepts, Southwest Cheese, Southwest Canners, and Western Dairy Transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portales Hotel Portales
Holiday Inn Portales
Portales Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing