We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, peacocks.....perfect!”
Review of Rancho Jacona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pojoaque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Jacona
central Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful, peacocks.....perfect!”
Reviewed March 29, 2009

Rancho Jacona is truly a hidden gem! A 20 minute car trip will get you to Santa Fe, Bandelier, or Los Alamos, but why leave? Rancho Jacona is a destination unto itself! We stayed for nearly a week and loved every minute of it. The staff was great (thanks, Jose!), and if you don't need anything, you won't even have to see a soul. The key was in the casita door before our arrival. If you value your privacy and appreciate not having someone on the "other side of the wall" like you'll have in a hotel, this is the place to go. We stayed in Rooster, the oldest building on the property, and even though it was built in the 1700s, we had a washer/dryer, microwave, satellite TV, and every other convenience. The thick adobe walls will have you sleeping-in, it's so quiet! Not often mentioned are the beautiful gardens, outdoor sculptures, and amazing views of the Jemez Mts.
We've stayed at LaFonda, which was nice, and hotels in Los Alamos, but they don't compare with the experience you'll have at Rancho Jacona. Everyone in your extended family, golfing group, girlfriend getaway, will have a great time!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiscojoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2009

I just wanted to thank Anna for a wonderful, relaxing week! Our family had a mini-vacation during the week of Thanksgiving! We had 3 houses plus one room. Everything was clean, comfortable, kitchen well stock with dishes, silverware, utensils, and pots and pans! Anything that you would need was available! The grandchildren had a wonderful time watching the animals.I can only imagine the area during the spring and summer months! A perfect location between Santa Fe and Los Alamos, with plenty to do! Thank you!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank geyer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We have just returned from Rancho Jacona. We were a group of three families, stayed in two casita's. As they call the home. Ours was Piglet. The home is really fabulous. This is our first time. We came here on the Christmas eve and woke up in he morning with snowfall. Kids have enjoyed making snowman and others playing the snowballs. Private patio are is simply superb. Fresh eggs from the Rancho chicken and feeding the peacock is really a memorable experience we had. Staff is really friendly. In night we have lite the fire and gazed at stars. They are so many stars visible....Wow!!!!
We have made up our mind to return to this place at least once year.

  • Liked — Mountain View from the room and private patio and Peacocks
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2008

The other reviews for Rancho Jacona have stated already why this is such a great place, but I am mostly writing this just so that I can add some photos of what is truly remarkable locale. Our family enjoys staying here for a few days when we visit Santa Fe in the summer so that we can also enjoy the serenity of Northern New Mexico that isn't provided in the same way in beautiful but busy Santa Fe.

Three reasons our family will keep coming back here each summer:

1. feeding the rabbits in the rabbit warren
2. enjoying the large video library that keeps our teen relatively happy (given that the property and the surrounding environs aren't exactly hopping with action for thrill-seeking teens)
3. being able to watch each evening the peacocks fly from the roofs of the casitas to a very tall tree

There are many other reasons we love the place, not the least of which is the care the owners give to ensuring your stay is a good one.

However, should you be thinking of staying somewhere else in the Santa Fe area, before you make such plans, just consider if you could: (1) wake up to the sound of peacocks, (2) enjoy some fresh eggs from the rancho chickens, (3) sit on a log and watch rabbits munch on grapes, (4) enjoy all the comforts of home in a place that isn't your home, (5) swim the afternoon away below the beautiful New Mexico sky, and (6) watch an amazing sunset from your private patio that sits adjacent to a meadow. A truly transforming vacation retreat doesn't get much better. . .

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank skiddered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pojoaque
2.6 mi away
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#53 of 60 in Santa Fe
90 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#9 of 60 in Santa Fe
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Los Alamos Entrada Park
15.6 mi away
La Fonda on the Plaza
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,183 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Los Alamos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Jacona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Jacona

Property: Rancho Jacona
Address: 277 County Road 84, Pojoaque, NM 87506-2009
Location: United States > New Mexico > Pojoaque
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pojoaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation rental homes, fully furnished, farm fresh eggs. You bring your clothing, toiletries, food and beverages. Kitchens fully stocked, paper goods, soap products and linens provided. Studios, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom and 4 bedroom available. Free wi-fi on property. Satellite tv. Large selection of movies available for free. Pet friendly, partner friendly, family friendly. Smoking outdoors only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Jacona Hotel Pojoaque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing