We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Homebase for our Santa Fe Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rancho Jacona

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pojoaque
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rancho Jacona
Omak, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Homebase for our Santa Fe Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We had a group of 10 people, all friends from different areas of the country who wanted to visit Santa Fe. We wanted a place more in the country instead of an urban setting and Rancho Jacona fit the bill perfectly. We stayed in Frog House. It is a beautiful home with all the amenities. We liked the open floor plan. The bed arrangements were perfect for the couples in the group and there was plenty of room for the single people in the group. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds and the critters who came to visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. We highly recommend this place and some of us are considering another visit in the future. Thank you for such a wonderful place....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
10
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have stayed at Rancho Jacona 5 or 6 times, this time with another couple. Each time the stay has been perfect, whether with extended family, just as a couple, with our son or whoever.

The comments of others have pretty much covered the waterfront as far as the many positive qualities of the place. Lovely setting and housing ("casitas"), various animals to see, pool, out door art and garden, The casitas are just lovely and equipped for your stay.

I think that the second time we came (wife & I) was for a week starting the weekend immediately after 9-11-2001. Flying was out (we live near Chicago) and we debated canceling. It was, of course, an eerie time and decided that if the world was to end, this was the perfect place to be. We ended up driving there with little Interstate traffic. It was the perfect place. There was just one other casita occupied by two friendly, bright women from Minnesota. We hung out at the pool where you were in your own little sheltered world, although we also did the usual touristy things. It couldn't have been better.

If you are about 5' 11" or over be aware that the living room entry to Rooster (the 1700s "Boys House") is low. We have stayed there twice and each time I've cracked my head (some folks never learn). Bring tape and note paper to remind yourself of the doorway. Not a problem at all in the newer casitas.

Rancho Jacona and a place at Blue Mountain Lake, NY are our two favorite places to stay in the US. Perfection!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillOfChicagoArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Our extended family of 14 (ages 13-84) stayed at Rancho Jacona from May 26-31, 2011. We rented both the Butterfly House and the Frog House - they were both unique and perfect for our needs. The Butterfly House had 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms and the Frog House had 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Everyone had a very private retreat at night with loads of community space for gathering to talk, cook and eat. Some of our party used the pool, which looked lovely.
We were celebrating my in-laws' 60th wedding anniversary and LuAnn was so helpful in recommending restaurants for us to try. Gabriels was wonderful for the first evening meal - close by and terrific Mexican food. Our second night out was at The O Eating House - also good, but not nearly the ambiance of Gabriels.
I would recommend this property to everyone!

Room Tip: I think they are all very special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

We spent a wonderful week at Rancho Jacona in the Piglet Casita. Easy day trips to Santa Fe, Los Alamos, Taos.... Casita was clean, well stocked, quiet plenty of parking nice to have access to washer & dryer. We had breakfast (eggs from the chickens) in the amazing garden of peonies with the 3 cats & 10 peacocks. Then fed our toast to the many goats & 3 burros. Swam in the large pool. The owners & staff were very accomodating and lent us movies & puzzles. High recommend a visit for those that really want to get away and relax.
Walk the property in the afternoon with the 4 poodles

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We just returned from what I deemed the most leisurely, restful vacation we've ever had. Rancho Jacona played a huge part in this. My partner and I stayed in Parrot House and it was everything the website says. It was especially beautiful to look at the sunlight filtering in through the floor to ceiling stained glass window in our room. Rancho Jacona was so quiet and peaceful, we often found ourselves whispering to each other as we walked through the gardens and admired the beautiful landscape and sculptures. The animals on the farm are obviously accustomed to people and were a delight. Each morning we enjoyed a visit from one of the cats as well as the peacocks that would prance around our patio. The goats practically raced (they're in large grazing pens, not running around!) over to be petted when we visited them each day. We loved every second of our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vveltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoJaconaTeam, General Manager at Rancho Jacona, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
We are grateful that you, too, experienced what we have created here at Rancho Jacona for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back with baby goats and baby pea-chicks next year.

Thank you, The Team Here at Rancho Jacona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

Rancho Jacona is a very special place - completely unique in my extensive travel experience. It is part-resort, part-vacation home rental, and part-working farm. It has something for everyone. Our toddler loved visiting the animals (and when the peacocks came to visit us!). The adults loved taking walks around the property to see the gardens and sculptures. We all loved the pool and the well-stocked kitchens and living rooms.

The proximity to Santa Fe is great too as it gave us another destination to enjoy. But we really loved just being together in this lovely setting, making nice dinners, grilling, playing games together. Wonderful family time.

I was surprised to see the previous reviewers complaints about flies. There were no more insects at Rancho Jacona that you'd see at any rural location. We just loved our whole stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoJaconaTeam, Manager at Rancho Jacona, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments about your experience with us here at our rental casitas for Santa Fe.

Your points about your experience echo exactly what we strive for at our oasis in adobe 25 minutes north of Santa Fe itself.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back,
LuAnn and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

Flies were a constant problem inside Piglet casita. They hung around on the window screens and curtains. Bought some flying insect spray and used it outside around windows and door. Did not work. The flies ignored the spray and were inside the house during the whole stay. I couldn't figure out where the flies were coming from/where they were entering the house.

Everything else (except for the flies) about the stay was great.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasFeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoJaconaTeam, Manager at Rancho Jacona, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thank you for your comments.

When you came in with the spray that you wanted to use in the house, we agreed that it was fine to use inside the house, as it is the same one we use inside when wasps or flies come in and we have always found it works on bugs without hurting pets or people.

If we had realized that you were spraying it only outside, we would have offered to come in while you were away to take care of the inside. We hesitate to go into a house that is occupied unless asked to do so.

We have had other guests in Piglet since who have had no problem and we apologize for the inconvenience you suffered.

LuAnn and Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pojoaque
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Cities of Gold Casino Hotel
#51 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Jacona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Jacona

Property: Rancho Jacona
Address: 277 County Road 84, Pojoaque, NM 87506-2009
Location: United States > New Mexico > Pojoaque
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pojoaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation rental homes, fully furnished, farm fresh eggs. You bring your clothing, toiletries, food and beverages. Kitchens fully stocked, paper goods, soap products and linens provided. Studios, 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom, 3 bedroom and 4 bedroom available. Free wi-fi on property. Satellite tv. Large selection of movies available for free. Pet friendly, partner friendly, family friendly. Smoking outdoors only. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rancho Jacona Hotel Pojoaque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing