We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food for a good price”
Review of Roadrunner Cafe

Roadrunner Cafe
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Pojoaque
Price range: $7 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Roadrunner Café is a small family owned (since 1981) business located in Pojoaque, New Mexico. We are open for breakfast and lunch. The menu includes breakfast (Breakfast Burritos, Huevos Rancheros, Traditional breakfast-- eggs, freshly made hash browns, meats like Top Sirloin steak/ bacon/ham/sausage; pancakes, French toast,etc.). Our lunch items includes New Mexican cuisine served with homemade Red or Green Chile (Try our famous sopapaillas); other lunch items such as Hamburgers, Club Sandwich, and other sandwiches; We have Fried Chicken or Chicken Fried steak served with mash potatoes and gravy, for lunch. Great place to eat! The locals love it. Come join us.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Decent food for a good price”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We stopped in for breakfast. I got huevos rancheros, and my husband got a breakfast burrito. We were surprised that the food was not at all spicy (almost bland), since it seemed most the food we had in New Mexico until then all had a little kick to it. My husband really liked the coffee, although I thought it was a little weak. The restaurant was cute, and it was conveniently right off the highway on our way to Bandelier National Monument from Santa Fe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kexueli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    14
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brunswick, me
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stay away”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We pulled in because of a dozen vehicles in the lot-later found out they were locals using the lot for biking. We didn't expect much, and were still disappointed. First clue-waitress advised us this was her first day; second clue-an applicant for the kitchen was filling out an application at the counter. Breakfast burrito-soggy and tasteless; kids had pancakes-they were OK, but the bacon was cold. Waitress brought out a gallon jug of generic syrup for the pancakes. Orange juice? Not sure what it was, had the odor of dishwater...and the coffee was one step below instant. Keep driving South!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bebet53, Owner at Roadrunner Cafe, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
The Roadrunner Cafe is a family owned restaurant and has been in existence since the early 1980's. We cook our own food--pinto beans, red and green chile, spanish rice, etc. We do not use can food when it comes to these foods. We are known for our homemade food and our whole wheat sopapaillas. On or around August 25, 2010, we lost our main cook to cancer. Needless to say, at that time, we were searching for a new cook. The restaurant has been upgraded since that time and we are happy with the staff. We hope that you come to visit us and enjoy our food. Breakfast is served all day. Thank you for your feedback; we are always looking for ways to improve our food, services and business in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, CO
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't eat here”
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Food was bland, greasy and almost inedible. Posole tasted rancid. Green chiles and rest of the food was out of a can and reheated. "Cheese" was not real cheese. Don't think fryer oil had ever been changed. Waitress was rude and unavailable. Place seemed dirty. Chile relleno had batter on it 2 inches thick. Food may be cheap(er) but is overpriced in terms of value. Just hope I don't get sick from it. We live in NM and this is not a good representation of the food here. Stay away!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank salcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well . . .”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I left a fancy place where I was staying because I didnt want to pay their prices and drove north looking for breakfast. This was the first place I saw on the left between an RV park and a fireworks store -- so you get the idea.

It was kind of beaten up, but inside it seemed like a restaurant for just plain folks -- nothing fancy but theyll do their best. The breakfast was fine.

I wish they would spruce it up a little -- get rid of some half dead plants. But some of the unusual items they had around the place were interesting.

At least it wasn't pretentious -- didn't pretend to be anything it wasnt.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank williamthekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Local, authentic, very inexpensive”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This is the real thing. A local restaurant with authentic New Mexican cuisine with some American items thrown in.

It is very inexpensive so don't expect fantastic food or great decor. However they can do the standard breakfast as well as anybody at a fantastic price.

Very friendly service and surprisingly a few vegetarian items. It looks a little rundown on the outside. Don't be a snob, give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank S0uthwesternTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roadrunner Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Roadrunner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing