We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
View to east from casita.
Full size washer and dryer.
Pull-out ladder to futon bed in loft.
Road north of Pinos Altos
Storage room for all your gear and luggage.
Enjoy the clouds and stars, with thermal blinds.
Loft futon bed
Historic artisnal gold/silver mining town now perfect getaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pinos Altos, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
C R
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This little casita was absolutely delightful, tucked among the trees and birds and animals (even bears!) with everything you could possibly want. The owners are very kind and friendly, and though they live on-site you have all the privacy you need. They've thought of everything in the little house, which means you can just relax, sit on the porch, swing in the hammock, and make yourself a cup of tea to sip while you watch the hummingbirds. Close to great hiking trails in the Gila Wilderness and only a few miles from Silver City, this place is just perfect. It was the perfect weekend getaway for me and my husband.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
1 review
“Pinos Altos Casita”
Reviewed May 23, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the casita. It was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. Tom was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdm0929
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pinos Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I found this gem tucked away in Pinos Altos, NM. The cottage was wonderful with its modern amenities and location. Being in the quietness of the area provided us with stress-free surroundings. Daily we were able to sit on the porch to view and listen to the various abundance of birdlife in the nearly trees and birdfeeders. Not only can one sit on the porch but a sitting area, complete with table/chairs and hammock, can be utilized not far from the front of the cottage. Will we return to this special place.....absolutely ! Also, the owners, Tom and Debra, are so friendly and accommodating. You wish is their command.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytrippe...
Haverhill, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful mountainside retreat”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We came to this area to escape the cold of New Hampshire and explore this part of New Mexico with our newborn baby. This is a clean, well appointed, tastefully decorated casita nestled on the edge of the Gila National Forest. It is conveniently located close to several points of interest, including Silver City and The Gila Cliff Dwellings. Deb & Tom are gracious hosts whose attention to detail provides guests with many of the comforts of home, as described in other reviews. We had a great time sampling the local cuisine, checking out the opera house attached to the Buckhorn Saloon, exploring the cliff dwellings, and taking day trips to the City of Rocks and Mimbres. We were excited to come across a group of eight Javelinas while driving between Mimbres and Pinos Altos. This was a relaxing and enjoyable experience that exceeded our expectations.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdalng197...
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect "home" for our visit to the Gila National Forest and Cliff Dweller Site!”
Reviewed August 18, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect for the 2 of us and Zia, our dashound. Full kitchen which we loved - we like to cook. It had everything and items left for us to use, like fruit, eggs, and lots of spices, etc. The owners, Tom & Deb were very kind and helpful to arrange the stay and to be sure we had everything we needed while we were there. We enjoyed long walks around the property and in the ara. The town is very small, but cute; one very great restaurant, but we only has a drink there since we enjoyed the lovely kitchen at the rental. We didn't need more activity since the "home" was so nice. By the way, the price is right! Perfect location to travel to the Gila Cliff Dwelling site; it only took us 1 hr 15 mins to the visitors center; be aware, there is still a good 15 to 25 min hike to the dwelling - not an easy hike for us seniors - we did it and were very pleased - got to see it! The caves are so large they built adobe homes inside the caves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It was like being at home and the kitchen was even nicer than ours.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doublejac...
Bisbee, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of attention to detail and comfort!”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tom and Deb have created a very special casita that we're lucky they shared with us for a long weekend in Pinos Altos, our favorite "quick getaway vacation location". The casita is very clean and VERY well equipped with everything thing you could want and need -- some food items like eggs and butter in the fridge, snacks, coffee and spices in the cabinets, games, books, DVDs, magazines, brochures, and a huge thick binder with tons of information about the area and surrounds. Granite and stainless kitchen and bath and there's even a dishwasher! Custom touches are everywhere -- like the gorgeous shower and bath sink and while laying in bed, you can see the night sky full of stars from windows close to the ceiling that run the length of the wall! If you want luxury in the thick of oaks, junipers and pinon pines, this is the place for you. The hosts keep all the bird feeders filled and you see tons of birds everywhere. Thanks for providing a beautiful casita for us to recharge from our busy lives back home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to details, clean and well stocked.
Liked least: Needs dimmer switches on the lights.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman t
1 review
“Quiet, peaceful and extremely relaxing. I would recommend this gateway to anyone interested in getting some alone time.”
Reviewed May 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Only five mile away from downtown Silver City. This peaceful gateway provided us with the perfect balance between relaxation and simple, fun entertainment.

The owners are wonderful people who were there should I needed anything.

I will be back next year for the tour of Gila

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing