We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bear Creek Motel and Cabins
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gila Mountain Inn(Silver City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Silver City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Silver City(Silver City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copper Manor Motel(Silver City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palace Hotel(Silver City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Murray Hotel(Silver City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
77
21
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
21
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver citybuckhorn saloongila cliff dwellingsnatural wooddish tvmining townthese cabinsrustic settingnew mexicobedroom cabinfull bathcheck in was easywi fihot tubevery eveningbusiness triproad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 102 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed in Cabin 1 at $149 a night. The cabin itself was fine. But the stench of raw sewage was nauseating. Ask about their septic system before you make a reservation.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DianeTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We have stayed at Bear Creek twice now and highly recommend it. Not the cheapest place in the area, but the pines and altitude are worth it. Close to great hiking in the Gila wilderness but not too far from the excellent dining at Shevek & Co. in Silver City.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonLove2Eat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

we stayed 2 nights in a self catering two-storey cabin. Daniel in the office was very friendly, helpful and welcoming, and was able to offer us an excellent rate. the setting is amazing, well off the beaten track in the neat little town of pinos altos, north of silver city, nestled amongst the pines of gila forest. they also have a great hot tub. the cabin was amazing, with room enough for four to stay quite comfortably. it had a kitchenette, so we were able to cook our own dinner which was great. it had an open fire which was handy as it was quite chilly outside, but the cabin also had heating, but with the log fire, we didnt need this. it was well furnished, with nice decor, a TV and DVD, and a huge comfortable bed with lovely fresh, crisp linen. it also had a bath tub. overall, a comfortable, clean, quirky place to stay, which was excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This is our heaven! Stayed at Bear Creek 2 x/yr for the last 3 years, and in a diff. cabin each time. Been going to the Gila since 1986 & missed it all this time. Hidden by gorgeous grounds w/ Deer, squirrels and so many birds we need a book t look them up(never thought about looking such things up until at Bear Creek with the feeders at each cabin which make them hop rt up to you and cock their little heads)! We are picky eaters & money conscious, bring our our food(gros r cheaper at the foot of the hill). The cost has ALWAYS been factored in and we SAVE staying here. The staff bends over backwards & my own mother doesn’t treat me better! Soft cushy towels, fresh laundry smells, listen to the wind in the pines! All have lower level &upper level outer/covered porches with stocked BBQ pits - we live outside! Always had Lots of hot water for soaking & the bed in Cabin B- you rollover &watch the deer or the stars… breathtaking. Better viewing than on our hikes! The drive to the Gila at 6 am,amazing. You are so high up the clouds are below you. The drive is 2 hrs but it’s not just a drive, its an adventure. Where else can you see all this from your comfy car seat! Nowhere we have ever been! Hike thousands of trails, day hike to hot springs, Home to watch the deer/birds. Even on the day hike you won't see but max 6 folks total. Track an Elk, a cat or a Bear if you dare. Play in the copious water, fish and breath in the beauty of the last Wild place in the south. Cliff dwellings are amazing hike not just the site but the hike to them takes your breath away and makes you think how they lived & wonder why they ever left. Ranger station museum does too. We are getting older and a straight drive home after 3-7 days packing it in deserves pampering. We rarely go to Silver City unless we need gas. Pinos Altos is IT for us. We walk to the old cemetery, museum and the Buckhorn(rumored to be re-opening soon)... But cool just to see as you hike around a town that you can grab up book & say ”oh wow, Geronimo … were here not 100 years ago..” The Cat walk (Glenwood/Cliff)and the town of Mogollon are 2 other day things to do and so worth it even with more humans around. Bear Creek will direct you to horse rides, carriage rides & so much more. It is our home away from home, where we reconnect and refuel for a busy busy life.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GilaLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

We've been here over 24 times since 2004, and have always enjoyed the spirituality of the mountains, the beautiful tall pines, the wild animals, the peace, the comfort, and anemities of the cabins (Number 12 especially!), and most importantly, the respect, and kindness that Art and Daniel Bejarano have not only shown to us, but to friends that have also visited these cabins. Art and Daniel are not only our friends now, but our family. It is so sad to hear that they will not be there now on a regular basis for whatever reason. The staff will be missed by us, also. What wonderful people they are!. BCC will never be the same without them. Please let the owners know this so that Art and Daniel can come back, God Willing.

Thank you, Daniel and Art for everything you have given to us and to all the others that have visited.. Also, thank you for the respect you have given to the cabins. They are one of a kind. We will miss you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedChileTamales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews