We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXING WITH NATURE”

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just north of Santa Fe is Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs’ secluded sanctuary. Deemed sacred by Native Americans of Northern New Mexico, our legendary waters have been soothing body, mind and spirit naturally for centuries. Ojo is the only hot springs in the world with 4 unique, sulfer-free mineral waters. The resort is historic, yet modern and fresh with eclectic charm in a relaxed and tranquil environment. The full-service spa offers a wide array of restorative treatments including nurturing massage and hydrating face and body treatments. Don’t miss a soak in a private outdoor pool by fire at night or in the seasonal, detoxifying mud pool. We offer an unpretentious and uncomplicated atmosphere with a variety of lodging accommodations including enchanting suites, charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. All lodging includes access to all mineral pools every day of your visit. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Creative dishes include Green Chile Crusted Salmon, homemade pasta, and Ribeye. Lighter fare is available in the Wine Bar & Lounge. Yoga classes are offered 7 days a week. Ojo is nestled in a valley on 1,100 acres and is adjacent to thousands of acres of hiking and mountain biking trails. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments, private outdoor pools and dinner before you arrive.
Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“RELAXING WITH NATURE”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We drove from santa fe quick and easy, checked in our cottage which was surprisingly a mix of modern and stylish South West decor & very roomy, had a small kitchen with tasty organic coffee we brewed to perk us up, we donned our robes and headed to our herbal bathe which was very earthy and detoxifying, then moved us to get the Milagro wrap for meditation and a nap!, later that evening we had a private spring heated pool for 2 with outdoor fireplace at nite which was AMAZING!!! Crisp nite with stars all above, relaxed in room later and dinner at the Artesia, DELICIOSO! Next day enjoyed the iron pool and arsenic pool. My partner was truly surprised with this holiday gift.

Helpful?
Thank JessandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    150
    50
    20
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
babesh
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, wait, wait, wait”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

It cost us $30.00 per person to enter a disney-like Line experience. The place was so over crowded that we practically had to wait in line to slather on and remove mud, wait for empty spots to open in the different pools where it was cheek to jowl with everyone else and the written capacities were always overlooked. The place has nice amenities and you do get access to the steam room and sauna, however, no heat can build up in a space with a door that is constantly opened and closed. The ladies locker room was so short on lockers that people just pushed their belongings in any available space above them. I would rather have been turned away at the door and I'm sure the environment would benefit from some capacity limitations. This was on the Friday between Christmas and New Years. The hotel was sold out for the time period. I would have been very unhappy if I had been an overnight guest. We waited over an hour to get into the arsenic pool. The waters probably are wonderful but I felt like I was in people soup.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit with us here at Ojo. We sincerely apologize that you did not have the relaxing soaking experience that you had expected, and that Ojo is known for. We value your feedback, and your observations regarding the overcrowding are well received and are very helpful to us in addressing areas of concern.

This year we did experience a much higher volume of day guests than we have during past holiday seasons, partly due, we believe, to the unseasonably warm weather.

We indeed were challenged with maintaining Ojo's sacred serenity - we're concerned about it too - we assure you the tranquility will not be lost. We often recommend that out-of-town guests visit us during off-peak and non-holiday times during the winter when we are far less crowded.

We consider ourselves stewards of this historic destination who are dedicated to preserving, honoring and enriching all that is special about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs. As ambassadors it is our commitment to share this legendary oasis with all who seek it. Protecting the integrity of these sacred waters is one of our highest priorities.

We will be evaluating ways to balance the occupancy of guests in the pools and throughout the rest of the property including adding more areas for guests to relax when not soaking. Due to our remote location, and without the opportunity to give ample notice, it is difficult to turn away anyone who has driven an hour or more to visit us.

As a point of reference for those guests who stay in our suites, we are pleased to offer the additional access to our Kiva Pool which is separate from our public pools.

Your review and recommendations are greatly appreciated, and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon so you can truly enjoy the unique and tranquil Ojo experience. If I can be of further assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (505) 583-3221.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guests Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relax in the wonderful waters”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went to Ojo for a relaxing soak after a trip through New Mexico. We were taking advantage of the "3 nights for the price of two." The middle of the week and really cold temperatures meant that the Spa was under utilized. It was easy to sit in a pool by ourselves and really relax.

The restaurant served very good meals and was able to accommodate my wife's celiac diet. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner there. The waitstaff was attentive.

It would be an improvement if the Spa put in walkways to the rooms of larger gravel. Walking back and forth from the room to the pools is on a fine gravel that is tracked into the room and the pools.

We left an item at the Spa and When we let the front desk know, it was sent via USPS quickly. We paid for the shipping, but it was our mistake and Ojo was gracious about it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobert1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent hot springs and massage”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Clean and well appointed resort property. There are several springs including Arsenic, Iron and Sodium springs. The Arsenic and Iron pools are open to the sky and the Sodium pool is enclosed. My wife and I arrived at 5:00pm and soaked in the pools until our 80 minute massage at 6:00pm. After our massage we went for a 25 minute "Milagro" wrap.

We both agreed that the Arsenic spring was our favorite but we also like the Iron spring mainly because the pea gravel bottom felt good to our feet. We both also enjoyed our massages. I'm not a massage maven but I remember taking my mom, who was a massage maven, here 15 years ago and she said it was the best massage she'd ever had. Very professional and thorough.

The resort does enforce a "whispers only" environment which I appreciated very much. Kind of hard to relax when there are loudmouthed people carrying on a conversation in a small pool.

The only downside is that it's kind of expensive. Ended up costing about $300 for the massages and $25 for the wraps. My wife an I agreed that next time we'll forgo the wraps since we didn't particularly like being wrapped up like a papoose and left on a hard table for 25 minutes.

The resort also has casitas, a restaurant and a wine bar as well as common relaxation areas with fire pits. We plan to go back for a weekend in one of the casitas to get the full relaxation experience.

P.S. I do not recommend this place for an exciting Vegas type experience. The staff called down several loud groups of people.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sivilsld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa.

We recently implemented additional methods of reminding guests to whisper, including the use of signs which the spa attendants carry as they monitor the pool areas. We are pleased to hear our efforts are working. Maintaining a tranquil environment for our guests is one of our highest priorities.

For your next visit, consider our De-Stress for Less Spa Special which offers complimentary Springs' entry and Robe and Locker Amenity to guests who purchase $100 in spa treatments Monday - Thursday, and $150 in treatments Friday - Sunday and Holidays. This represents a savings of $33 - $43 per person.

We realize that our Signature Milagro Wrap may not be for everyone. It is one of the long-standing therapies that has come to be known as an "Ojo Original." Based on the Native American sweat, guests are first wrapped in a cotton blanket and then a wool blanket. We encourage you to soak first to raise your core body temperature. Many of our visitors choose the Milagro Wrap so they can have a taste of an authentic New Mexican spa experience at an affordable price. The Signature Milagro Wrap is $12 per person for 25 minutes.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future. Please check our website for specials and packages that are offered seasonally.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pure relaxation”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I went with girlfriends to the spa. The mineral pools are wonderful. The price is right. It is very clean and the scenery is beyond amazing. I had a massage which was perfect. I will be back and bring my husband.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa also viewed

 

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing