We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, relaxing, intimate indulgence!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just north of Santa Fe is Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs’ secluded sanctuary. Deemed sacred by Native Americans of Northern New Mexico, our legendary waters have been soothing body, mind and spirit naturally for centuries. Ojo is the only hot springs in the world with 4 unique, sulfer-free mineral waters. The resort is historic, yet modern and fresh with eclectic charm in a relaxed and tranquil environment. The full-service spa offers a wide array of restorative treatments including nurturing massage and hydrating face and body treatments. Don’t miss a soak in a private outdoor pool by fire at night or in the seasonal, detoxifying mud pool. We offer an unpretentious and uncomplicated atmosphere with a variety of lodging accommodations including enchanting suites, charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. All lodging includes access to all mineral pools every day of your visit. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Creative dishes include Green Chile Crusted Salmon, homemade pasta, and Ribeye. Lighter fare is available in the Wine Bar & Lounge. Yoga classes are offered 7 days a week. Ojo is nestled in a valley on 1,100 acres and is adjacent to thousands of acres of hiking and mountain biking trails. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments, private outdoor pools and dinner before you arrive.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
328 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing, intimate indulgence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

What a magical place! Halfway between Santa Fe and Taos – it’s a world-class spa that historically has been in use for thousands of years by the indigenous people and now available to everyone. There are several small, intimate pools each with their own mineral composition. These small pools are ‘whisper zones’ and are perfect for relaxing or meditating. They have many different programs and packages if you’re so inclined featuring all the usual ‘spa-like’ stuff.
The restaurant is extremely good – we had both lunch and dinner there and the prices are reasonable, the staff is very friendly and knowledgable and the food is amazing.
One thing NOT to miss is booking a private pool – go at night and you have a cozy fire in the fireplace and the high walls make it private but you’re still open to the stars. Very amazing experience!
There are numerous hiking trails in the area and we tried a few of them. Just to make the experience more enjoyable tho I think they could use more signage as some trails were confusing. Plus when you got to the 'Joseph Mine Site' ... there was nothing telling you what it was or any info. Ditto for the Posi Pueblo ruins ... lots of potshards and some stakes with numbers on the ground but no other info. Just a thought.
The ONLY not so great thing is the campground experience. They do have an RV park and campground which, while rustic, is still ok by us. (There are no facilities like restrooms or showers etc.) But there’s no one on-site … you have to register at the hotel. They tell you to go and pick out your site and then come back and register which we did. We booked one night and decided that same night to book a second night. We found out the site we were in was already booked for the next night so we’d have to pick another site. No problem. They told us which sites were available so we picked one and registered and paid. The next morning tho there was some one already in the site. We spoke to him and all decided to head to the hotel to clear it up. We ended up letting them stay in that site and booked another. When we got there tho … someone was in THAT spot. Back at the hotel we were told that no one was registered in that spot and they’d get security to check it out. No problem. We took a hike for a bit and came back and the people were still there … they were outside so we spoke to them and they claimed that they WERE registered. We finally pulled into an empty site and then went to register. I mean … come on. How hard can this be?? The good thing that came from all of this is that for our trouble we were given a pass into the pools and a free private 50 minute pool. So we ended up happy but I think things need really to be addressed in the campground area. The staff handled the problems very well tho and all in all … I loved it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest:

It was a pleasure to read your kind review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa, and took advantage of the many activities and modes of relaxation we offer. Your compliments have been shared with all of our staff members and are much appreciated.

We do apologize for the confusion you experienced with regard to your RV/camping site arrangement. We are working on a new system for RV check-ins and assignments which should alleviate the problems you had in securing the site(s) you wished. In addition, we expect our new RV restroom and shower facility to be completed by the end of June, which will include 3 private shower/toilet enclosures. We also look forward to making additional improvements to the Ojo RV/campground in the not too distant future. Most of our hiking trails are located on Bureau of Land Management (BLM) lands, and we are working with this agency to create new maps and trail markers, which we hope will be ready this summer.

We thank you again for your visit and your recommendation, and hope you will visit us again in the near future to enjoy the upgrades to the camping facilities we have planned.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    142
    49
    16
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,Al
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I have driven from Birmingham to Colorado many time and our one "must stop" locations is Ojo Caliente! Our trips are always roughing it trips so we have only camped at Ojo. The campground is nothing spectacular but I am thankful that it is available. The waters are amazing and definitely help energizer us on our long trips. There have been many improvements over the years and I hear that more are underway. The mud bath is a must!!!! And before bedtime sitting about the community fire pit is a must. We have always met very interesting folks:)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rhgbBirmingham_Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Rustic hot springs, great daytrip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

My hubby and I have been living in Abq for 2 years and I wish we had discovered this gem sooner. It's an hour north of Santa Fe, a beautiful drive in the country. We went on a Monday which was perfect since we missed the weekend crowds. The admission was reasonable ($18 pp) however, I misread the website and thought that included robe and towel. It didn't so we forked over another $15 pp for a robe (since it was chilly outside), towel and locker w/lock. Lockers are provided free but not locks. The robes barely kept us warm as they are thin cotton, so I was missing my nice thick terry cloth robe at home. Also wish I had brought towels too as the towels they provide are pretty thin. The landscaping and pools were lovely and rustic, set against cliffs. There's about 6 or so separate hot springs: lithium, arsenic, soda and iron. One pool is large enough to swim in. We also loved the wet and dry saunas and the outdoor kiva fireplace burning with pinon wood. The women's locker room was fine, showers were stocked w/shampoo, conditioner, hair dryers, etc. It was a little small so again I'm glad we went on a slow day as it probably would have been uncomfortably crowded on a weekend. One thing I didn't know until I got there is they they only allow "natural, oil-free sunscreen" whatever that is, so if you're fair like me, you might want to wear a surf shirt in the pools. Last thing we did was eat in the restaurant attached which was quite good. Get the potato crusted green chile fries; they are strips of mild green chile with a cornmeal like crust and sweet chile dipping sauce. Yum! All in all, a nice relaxing day. Will definitely go again!

Helpful?
1 Thank mustluvdogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate your kind review and compliments following your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We wish you had discovered as sooner as well!

We regret that confusion you experience concerning the additional cost of locker and lock. We do provide this information on our web site, along with encouraging our guests to bring flip-flops or sandals, and their own robe and/or towels, as needed for their comfort. In order to keep the mineral waters as clean as possible and free from outside chemicals, our policy is for all of our guests to shower in the locker rooms before entering any of the pools. We apologize that our sunscreen policy was not fully explained to you at the time of your visit. We do offer oil-free products in our Gift Shop for the convenience of our guests.

We have plans for an extensive remodel and expansion of our Main Bathhouse that will include new designated men’s and women’s spa guest changing facilities with a cozy waiting area, and other attractive amenities. Additionally, there will be a new steam room and sauna accessible from the Cliffiside area available for all guests. Upgrades to our spa therapy rooms will result in 12 perfectly appointed and aesthetically pleasing treatment rooms. We believe that these enhancements will allow us to continue to provide the unique healing experience that Ojo is known for, while improving our ability to better meet the expectations of the modern spa-goer.

We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is the closest hot spring if you're in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

It's a bit overpriced. It has been rebuilt since it burned down years ago. It lost lots of its charm from the rebuilt. But, what the heck, it's the only natural hot water to dip in unless you want to drive 1.5 hours south into the Jemez, where you generally run into weird hippy types and I'm a hippy. I've had better treatment at 10 Thousand Waves in Santa Fe, but then you're exposed to poopy Santa Fe types. The old Hotel/restaurant is still intact and in original condition...I could recommend eating there instead of what's available in Ojo Caliente. Again, NM campy for sure, but I still frequent the place and intend to keep that up during winter when I’m close. Not that far from Taos, maybe worth the drive for some. If you're going back to Albuquerque, go around the north side of the Jemez to Cuba, much more scenic than through Espanola.
Just south of the mud pit you can take a trail onto federal lands and walk right through a fairly large and rich pueblo site and get the feel for the ancient reason this place was nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. How wonderful to hear from a guest who has been visiting Ojo for so many years!

As you noted, there have been many enhancements made to Ojo over the past 13 years, all with an eye toward maintaining the unique and sacred essence of this special place. Ojo is a legendary oasis and has been a gathering place for diverse groups of people for thousands of years. We are committed to continuing that legacy, while making the improvements that will add to our guests' comfort and enjoyment of the Springs.

Ojo is situated in a beautiful spot in Northern New Mexico, very near Taos and other recreational areas. It is a very singular experience, and we hope you will continue to visit us in the future.

Thank you again for your comments and your patronage.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% must go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This springs and spa is one of those out-of the way places that everyone needs to pencil in to their trip itineraries. I stopped here with my wife on our way to Mesa Verde, and honestly, as fun as the national park was, this was even better. We will be stopping by again any time we are close to Taos.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colorado1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa also viewed

 
Arroyo Hondo, Taos County
 

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing