We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great afternoon of relaxing”

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Just north of Santa Fe is Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs’ secluded sanctuary. Deemed sacred by Native Americans of Northern New Mexico, our legendary waters have been soothing body, mind and spirit naturally for centuries. Ojo is the only hot springs in the world with 4 unique, sulfer-free mineral waters. The resort is historic, yet modern and fresh with eclectic charm in a relaxed and tranquil environment. The full-service spa offers a wide array of restorative treatments including nurturing massage and hydrating face and body treatments. Don’t miss a soak in a private outdoor pool by fire at night or in the seasonal, detoxifying mud pool. We offer an unpretentious and uncomplicated atmosphere with a variety of lodging accommodations including enchanting suites, charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. All lodging includes access to all mineral pools every day of your visit. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Creative dishes include Green Chile Crusted Salmon, homemade pasta, and Ribeye. Lighter fare is available in the Wine Bar & Lounge. Yoga classes are offered 7 days a week. Ojo is nestled in a valley on 1,100 acres and is adjacent to thousands of acres of hiking and mountain biking trails. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments, private outdoor pools and dinner before you arrive.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This review is only for the mineral pools - not the hotel itself.

My wife and I stayed in Santa Fe in April 2012 and debated staying here at the hotel and resort but opted for a Bed and Breakfast in Santa Fe.

The second day of our stay we decided to make the trip north to Ojo Caliente and enjoy an afternoon in the hot mineral pools. The drive wasn't bad - 45 minutes to an hour but seeing that the main focus of our trip was Santa Fe we were glad we opted to stay closer to the city as there wasn't much in the area of the spa.

The mineral pools were all clean and nicely done. Several people mentioned numerous upgrades to the pools in recent years. The bath houses (changing facilities) were clean and nicely done as well.

We arrived a little before noon and stayed till 3:30 or so in the afternoon and we could see a noticeable increase in the number of guests over our 3 hour stay. Only one of the pools were covered (aka shade) so if you burn easily bring plenty of sunscreen. I thought I had plenty on but left with a red head and shoulders.

The lounge areas around the larger pool were great for relaxing and cooling off a bit.

As we left we said we enjoyed our time and wouldn't mind returning if we were in the Santa Fe area but if we were going to pick a similar place for more than a few nights we would probably return to Pagosa Springs in Colorado (2-3 hours north of Ojo Caliente) as there's more pools/tubs and more to do in the immediate area.

1  Thank jdblundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori C, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

We appreciate your kind remarks and are so glad you decided to make Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa a part of your trip to New Mexico.

Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is located in the middle of the Land of Enchantment and is a launching point for a multitude of desirable destinations. A short drive to Taos offers the beauty of the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, rafting, llama trekking, hot air ballooning, and many other activities. In addition, the Ojo property sits on 1000 acres adjoining BLM property, and offers extensive hiking and biking trails. We hope to soon be able to provide beach cruiser bikes for rent here at Ojo as well. Our website also gives a more thorough description of activities and locations of interest under the “Activities” section.

We honor the tradition of the springs as a special and unique place of healing, and are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

528 - 532 of 602 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

Fortunate enough to stay at the hot springs for three nights...they have various types of accommodations. We soaked every day and each got two massages. Wonderful, wonderful! There are natural springs outside under the clear, blue New Mexican skies...pools with iron, soda, arsenic and a mixture. Expensive, yes, but worth the splurge!

Thank llillywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have been to Ojo Caliente many times. My most recent visit was Friday. There is no dispute that he tubs are very relaxing with a great choice of temperatures. Touches such as more chaises, hammocks and pergolas have been added. But, with every visit the price seems to increase - $30 for the day makes you determined to stay all day. The place is certainly not spotless. In the summer, the place is jammed packed making soaks close quarters (and $30 for the day definitely too much). I prefer the temperature of the tubs near the mud bath; for some reason, every time I am there, and despite signs to whisper, there are always a few people in those tubs who insist on chatting loudly and at length forcing me to move to a different location. I have not tried the restaurant, but the food smells delicious.

Thank LovesNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit and appreciate your compliments about this year’s enhancements to the Springs.

We feel that we provide our guests with a great value in their Springs entry fee, which includes access to all our mineral pools, steam room, sauna, and mud pool (open seasonally). Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is open from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. 365 days a year. We value all of our guests and work to preserve the legacy of Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs as a gathering place of diverse people. Our Springs’ entry rate is less during week days and we also feature a “Sunset Rate,” which is a discounted Springs entry rate after 6:00 p.m. On Mondays through Thursdays, the Sunset Rate is $14 per person. On Fridays, Saturdays, and during Holiday Periods, the Sunset Rate is $24 per person. We also offer a seniors’ discount of 10% for lodging guests 65 years and older. In addition, we have special discount cards available for purchase. Our Club Ojo Discount Card provides 9 visits for $149 (maximum of 2 soaks per visit). Our fellow New Mexicans can purchase the Club New Mexico discount card, which features 9 visits for $119, Monday through Thursday only, and excluding Holiday Periods, (maximum of 2 soaks per visit). Both discount cards offer a substantial savings over individual daily rates. We also offer special packages and seasonal specials which are posted on our website at ojospa.com.

We have increased the rotation of our housekeeping and maintenance staff during our busier times to ensure that the entire facility is kept up to our high standards of cleanliness.

We apologize that the Whisper policy was not adequately enforced during your visit. We hope you took the opportunity to bring this problem to the attention of our spa staff or front desk staff so that it could be addressed immediately. We are actively working on better methods of enforcing the Whisper policy, and will be featuring a Native American flute player in the Springs area, which we feel will help to maintain a quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

Our guest experience is very important to us. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. If I can answer any questions or further assist you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (505) 583-3221.

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We used to go to Hot Sulpher Springs, but the owners there don't care about how run-down it's getting. With that in mind we have searched several places looking for that perfect place in just the right distance from home or worth the extra commute. Well, Ojo Caliente is just such a place. We were there the weekend of April 13th and the service, the people, the chef at the on-site restaurant were all over the top. Don't stay without getting a massage at least once! Their staff is professional and very accomodating to the visitors schedules.

Please check out this fine piece of heaven in New Mexico but don't tell others about it! I'm glad they are getting busier as the economy improves but I hope there will be a place for us at least four times a year!

Please note, two years ago the owner actually reinvested into the property! First, he has improved the infrastructure of the piping of the waters, secondly, built more accomodations so visitors have more choices according to their budget.

Finally, Owner, I thank you for seeing value in our blessed hot springs. And creating something very special here.

Kindest Regards,
Diane Tune

Thank lv2travel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Need to have more and better shower amenities in bathrooms. found there to be a lot of pomp and prep with spa services but not high skill. This is an average spa. that said, if you are into mineral pools, then the pools are nice. They have small private mineral pools heated to around 98 degrees. they feature log burning fireplaces and are fantastic for 2-4 people.

Thank immelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori C, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments about your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed our mineral waters and private pool.

We have recently launched our signature body care line of bath products, which can be found in all of our rooms, and these amenities will soon also be available in our spa and changing facilities.

We are surprised by your lackluster spa experience, and encourage all of our guests to inform us about any services or amenities that do not meet their expectations so that we can attempt to remedy the situation at the time of their visit. We consider ourselves fortunate that we attract a very talented and specialized group of licensed massage therapists, who seek out Ojo in order to combine their skills with the benefits provided by our mineral waters.

While we do not consider Ojo to be a standard high-end spa, we relish and value our nature-based offerings and the authenticity of the Ojo experience. We are always open to listening to feedback about ways we can improve our guest satisfaction, and thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Based on the very positive feedback our guests give us about their spa experiences, it appears that yours was an isolated incident, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide the quality service for which we are known.

Our guest experience is very important to us and we thank you again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. If I may assist you personally in providing information or answering questions, or if you wish to discuss your visit with me, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at (505) 583-3221.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa also viewed

 

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing