We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxuriate in the Mineral Springs”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ojo Caliente
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Taking the waters is a wonderful way to de-stress and relax. The hiking trails are great although not well marked. Ask for a map at the front desk. The side rooms in the heritage hotel are not soundproofed and shuld be avoided.

Room Tip: I was in Room 31 in the old hotel and could hear every snore, moan and rustle in the room next door...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We appreciate your compliments and observations, and are pleased to know that you were de-stressed by our legendary mineral waters.

We apologize, however, that you were disturbed by noise in the Historic Hotel and hope you took the opportunity during your stay to address this with our front desk staff. As you may know, the Historic Hotel was built in 1916 and has the charm of an older building. That being said, it is our goal for all of our guests to enjoy a restful and tranquil visit, and we appreciate your feedback, alerting us to areas of needed improvement.

We are glad that you also enjoyed our beautiful hiking trails. We are currently working with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) on additional trail signage, as many of the trails are on BLM land.

We have plans for additional enhancements to the resort this winter and hope you will visit us again in the near future. Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,
Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

942 - 948 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

OJo Caliente Resort is mostly a very quiet, refreshing destination.

Opt for one of the nicer rooms with in room fire place and private mineral water soaking tub on a private patio that faces the hills.

Pros:
Very clean and zen-like quiet in the private guest area and soaking tubs.
Calming scenery with awesome views of the "black mesa".
Really nice restaurant on premises which didn't require reservations.

Con:
Only "con" is the failure to police noise levels in public ("whisper only") areas. These areas are available to day users who are not overnight guests. Some of these guests seemed to be locals who did not care to follow the "whisper please" policy around the soaking areas
This talking and laughter often broke the otherwise magical spell the atmospher casts.
(I would lower rating to a 3 1/2 rating because of these chatterers.)

Room Tip: Opt for a room with private soaking tub on patio facing the hills.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We appreciate your compliments and observations.

We apologize that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay and that the Whisper Policy was not adequately enforced. We are working to schedule more live Native American flute music in the springs area, which helps in maintaining a quiet environment. Additionally, during busier times we do have staff members walking through the Springs and Spa area carrying "Whisper Please" signs to remind guests of our policy.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stopped here on a road trip from California to Santa Fe New Mexico. We stayed one night in the historic hotel as all the cabins were booked up. The room in the hotel was just perfect! I can see how some would find it too rustic or old, that's what we loved about it. It was cozy and as far from the feel of a chain hotel as you can get. Super soft bed, clean and quiet. We didn't even mind that our showering had to be done over at the pool area... It was just another excuse to go to the pools again in the morning. The pools were fantastic. Our only complaint?

PLEASE ENFORCE THE WHISPER RULE!!

Our first hour in the pools was so peaceful and romantic from 7pm to 8pm, after that there were a couple of groups of women and several young guys that were talking and laughing loudly; talk about a different environment, it went from peaceful to annoying and stressful. This would be an easy fix for the resort. Post more "whisper zone" signs that are lit around the pool areas so that it is impossible to miss. And remind guests as they go into the pool area. It would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are gratified to know that you enjoyed our historic hotel lodgings and our legendary mineral waters. The hotel which has been restored to it's original splendor was in fact built in 1916, and is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places. The hotel is the only lodging type at the resort that does not include showers in the rooms as all of the bathing at the springs was done in the bathhouses until the cottages were built in the 1930s.

We apologize that the Whisper Policy was not better enforced during your stay. It is our goal and intention that all of our guests experience a peaceful and tranquil setting, and we appreciate you making us aware of the need for additional vigilance in this area. Our spa attendants and front desk staff are tasked with reminding guests of the Whisper Policy, and we are working to schedule more live Native American flute music in the springs area, which helps in maintaining a quiet environment.

Your suggestion regarding additional "Please Whisper" signs is well taken and be assured that we will do everything possible to provide a quiet atmosphere for our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was our first visit here and what a treat! The atmosphere was superbly relaxing and the waters hot and calming. However, the visit could have been even better if we had not faced some annoying problems, most of which revolved around the inability to speak with another human by phone (this had been addressed earlier by another reviewer). It would be better if the restaurant's/wine bar's menus, hours of operation, and phone extensions were to be provided to each guest upon check-in. Presently you need to call the main number from your cell phone (there are no phones in the room), leave a message, and then wait for a return call which in our case never came.

Regarding the pools, the Kiva pool was amazing - new, clean, and all around perfect. In contrast, the Soda pool was old and seemed dirty, a perception made a bit worse by the old and decaying roof overhead.

Room Tip: Viewed three types of rooms and, personally, felt only the suites could be recommended. Loved the b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbunnyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and left feeling peaceful and relaxed. We greatly appreciate your recommendation and continued patronage.

We have plans for continued improvements and enhancements to our facilities beginning November 2012, and appreciate your observations and suggestions. We apologize for the difficulty you had reaching our staff by telephone. I was immediately made aware of the problem you reported and have addressed this issue with our customer service staff. We typically check voice messages every 15 minutes. At check-in, you should have been provided a Property Map that lists both the Front Desk and Security phone numbers. We apologize if you did not received this and have asked all of our customer service representatives to make sure this is shown to each guest at check-in. Additionally, we are in the process of creating new Room Books that include this information as well as copies of our restaurant menus. Thanks to your feedback we have laminated menus including hours of operation in all the rooms now until the new Room Books are printed.

We would also like to assure you that all of our mineral pools, including the Soda Pool, are cleaned several times a week. The roof of the soda pool is somewhat discolored due the evaporation of the soda mineral water and steam.

Our guest experience is very important to us and we thank you again for sharing your experience. We encourage you to watch for email updates regarding our scheduled enhancements.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've been traveling the country hiking and then basking in hot springs for over three weeks now. Outside of Esalen California, Ojo Caliente has my sincerest 'Best in Show' vote. I personally believe that the waters should be accessible / belong to everyone : but if I must pay, then they deserve every dime (incredibly, and thankfully, very affordable).

Their esthetic is magical, serene, pristine and beyond therapeutic. I am in love with design engineers who honor the land, the process and avoid creating disney-like scenes where they clearly don't belong. Nature doesn't need a magic wand, it is the wand...

The vibe @ Ojo was incredibly personal and rejuvenating - that doesn't happen accidentally.
Likewise, fellow guests were sincerely reverent of the space : allowing everyone to enjoy solitude in the company of others...

Given more time, I would have happily spent the night and possibly more days : every guest raved about accommodations - the food was phenomenal and it was a relief to engage with staff who could get on as human beings rather than scripted spa-bots. If you find yourself within a 500 mile radius, you must go!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for your kind compliments and recommendation. It is our mission and goal to provide all of our guests with a relaxing and healing experience, and we make every effort to keep Ojo as serene as possible.

We hope you will continue to visit and brings your friends and family. Thank you again for your compliments and feedback.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Be sure to spend enough time to enjoy all the pools! Spend the night if possible. The stars are amazing. And, if you can splurge for a massage, do it! The yoga class and private pool are splendid. You can bring food to enjoy on the lovely grounds. The whisper zone is appreciated by many.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ssea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Enjoyed it very much. However, some services are lacking. Limited guest services. For example, coffee service available only for a short time in the morning. Had to leave pool area to get service, recommend beverage service in the pool area. Lack enforcement of whisper rule, family trying to teach a five year old how to swim very disturbing. Child screaming at the top of his lung. Resturant meal was outstanding and the price was appropriate. The extra service such as massages and wraps were reasonable. Side note the Management should checkout Glen Ivy Spa and Resort in Riverside, CA they could learn a few things about additional guest services. Oh, get someone to show you how to work the A/C and Heater in the room. It kept me up all night long and had to just turn the thing off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carveli28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojowaters, Guest Relations Manager at Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort & Spa. Your input is sincerely appreciated and your comments have been shared with the appropriate managers so they may address these issues in our ongoing efforts to improve our guest experience

We do provide complimentary coffee and tea in the hotel lobby from 6 am - 8 am daily, which is until half an hour after the restaurant opens at 7:30 am. In order to minimize the traffic and noise in and out of the pool and spa areas, we have opted not to allow food and beverages in these areas. We do serve lemon water in multiple locations around the pools for our guests' refreshment.

We apologize that the Whisper Policy was not adequately enforced during your stay and that you were disturbed by fellow guests. Our spa attendants and front desk staff are tasked with reminding guests, when necessary, of this policy. We hope you took the opportunity to address this concern with one of our staff members while you were here so that the matter could be resolved immediately.

In our effort to accommodate various types of guests who are looking for different soaking experiences, we have plans for additional enhancements to the spa and springs areas this winter where we will offer different whisper policies: the Cliffside area near the Private Outdoor Pools will be a more quiet, more relaxing location while the Large Pool and Mud Pool area will be a bit more energetic while still maintaining a tranquil atmosphere.

We believe these enhancements will add to our guests' comfort and enjoyment of the springs, all the while staying unique to the character and essence to this special place. If you would like to discuss your experience at Ojo with me personally, I invite you to call me at my direct number, (505) 583-3221, at your convenience.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Sincerely,

Eric Martinez
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojo Caliente
15.8 mi away
Abiquiu Inn
Abiquiu Inn
#1 of 3 in Abiquiu
402 reviews
18.6 mi away
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
Ohkay Casino Resort Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ohkay Owingeh (San Juan Pueblo)
57 reviews
21.5 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Casa Escondida Bed & Breakfast
24.7 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 50 Los Banos Rd, Highway 414, Ojo Caliente, NM 87549
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Ojo Caliente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ojo Caliente
Price Range: $109 - $449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs is one of the oldest natural health resorts in the country. Our sulphur-free, geothermal mineral waters have flowed from a subterranean volcanic aquifer for thousands of years. Over 100,000 gallons per day come to the surface, revitalizing those who soak in the long believed, healing waters. We offer a variety of lodging accommodations, including new enchanting suites and charming cottages, the historic hotel and private homes. We suggest that you make reservations for spa treatments and private outdoor pools before you arrive. We also offer spa treatments, pools, hiking and biking trails, a wine bar and lounge and a full-service restaurant. The Artesian Restaurant provides a casual dining experience and charming atmosphere. Our chef blends local flavors with global cuisine. Heal yourself body and soul with a retreat to Ojo. Whether it's for a weekend or a longer stay, you'll leave rejuvenated and refreshed. Welcome! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Hotel Ojo Caliente
Ojo Caliente Mineral Springs Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing