We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad to support mom and pop places, could use some fixing up.”
Review of Sunset Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moriarty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed during a cross country move. Lots of room in the parking lot made getting in and out very easy and we were put in the room on the end so we could park our vehicles near our room. The woman at the desk was wonderfully friendly and helpful. Our room was mostly clean. We found the beds slightly uncomfortable but after driving all day, it's possible it was just us. We did notice there was no screen on the front window and it was not possible to open the window anyway. The blinds did not slide or turn and there were holes in the screen on the bathroom window. It looked like someone caulked over mold in the bathtub but the rest of the room seemed clean. We found it a bit pricey for what amenities were there, but since we like to support mom and pop hotels when we can, that's a minor issue. I'd probably stay again if we found ourselves out west again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived just as sun was setting and brilliantly lit up the hotel sign Sunset Motel, so we could not miss it. Kind lady tried to book us in but I got so excited by the Route 66 pin badges that she had to open the cupboard door to get them out. Then we were given keys to our room and in we went to large queen double beds, air conditioning, or heat, so we could get as warm as we wanted and TV, coffee, hot powerful shower, hair dryer. Everything just as one would want for stop of cross country. And extra blankets as I am always cold. The perfect Route 66 experience.

Room Tip: Any room would do. All face quad where cars are parked, so easily in and out again any time of day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scoopminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a well-priced nice motel on Route 66. We always try to stay in the local places when we are traveling near Route 66. The room was nice-sized and very clean; the bed was comfortable There was full bathroom and a sink and counter outside the bathroom. There was a good sized flat screen TV. The friendly owners had coffee, cereal, muffins and fresh fruit available in the lobby for breakfast. Because there is no seating area, you bring the breakfast back to your room where where is a table and chairs. This is really not an inconvenience, as you can continue to get ready or watch TV while you eat. It s a great little local motel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlgdlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Good, clean, no frills hotel that's easy to get to off the freeway. Like others have said, this is an old motel but it is spacious and clean and the sheets and pillows are quite comfortable.
The front office closes around 10:30 so if you are planning to pull in late like we were make sure you let them know. They will meet you with a key when you arrive.

Room Tip: Room 19 has a sticky front door. It was very difficult for us to get it to latch and lock. If you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiZyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This Motel is located on the old Route 66. The owner's parents started the motel, and they are continuing the tradition. The hotel is dated, but very clean and affordable. If you believe in supporting these type of family ventures, this is a great facility. I have stayed here many times.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It’s a Motel, the old kind, one story park right in front. Clean, quiet, great parking, friendly, cheap. Not fancy. It’s a rejuvenated original Route 66 motel, not a theme park recreation. A little frayed around some edges, but on the charm side.

A better stay than I had in most of the bigger chains, for much less money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bongo_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We found this hotel on tripadvisor.com and decided to take a chance on it. We were traveling with pets and most places wanted a small fortune that was non-refundable. Sunset Motel was pet friendly. The lady at the front office was very pleasant, helpful and accommodating. Although the building is older, the rooms are large and clean. The beds were comfortable and the area was quiet. We asked for a food recommendation and were referred to Dad's Diner. Both Sunset Motel and Dad's Diner were worth the stop. I would stay there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty40879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Moriarty hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Moriarty Heritage Inn
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Moriarty
Super 8 Moriarty
#3 of 6 in Moriarty
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 6 in Moriarty
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Moriarty
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 501 East Old Route 66, Moriarty, NM 87035
Location: United States > New Mexico > Moriarty
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Moriarty
Price Range: $71 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An American Classic Motel located on historic Route 66 on the east end of Moriarty. Owned and operated by the same family that constructed the motel in the 50's and 60's. You'll enjoy the nostalgia of the original solid oak furnishings and decor as well as the more modern conveniences, such as coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators and FREE wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing