We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great start, no follow-thru”

Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Mimbres
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great start, no follow-thru”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I hope this charming, very out-of-the-way place gets its act together! My husband and I visited on a whim just after the Inn opened. We had been on a wonderful getaway and chose to come back home through Mimbres so we could try it. The food was great! We had a wonderful meal, enjoyed the wine from the good list. The service was adequate but spoiled by the waitress embarrassingly tooting her horn about how SHE shaped the menu and guided the new owners to this fabulously successful opening. The atmosphere is just stunning -- out in the woods, beautiful inn that has been nicely refurbished. We've been back twice since and were bitterly disappointed! Brunch was a total nightmare. Waitress (different one) was stressed nearly to the point of tears, told us we would be waiting a long time. Husband and I were in a very good mood and said, "Fine, just bring us some coffee and we'll be happy." Waitress said it would be about a half hour for coffee as they had run out, were making more, and there were 10 tables ahead of us waiting for coffee. Yikes! And she wasn't kidding! Another brunch trip later and, again, things seemed in total disarray and chaos. Took forever to get server's attention, forever and a day to get our food. Yes, the food is good but not extraordinary. Certainly not worth waiting over an hour for! It's quite a trip for us, so we will not be back until they work out the bugs and get it together.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodWineDogsLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    10
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eat. Stay. Love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I had brunch at Little Toad Creek on 9/15/12. This place is awesome. The dining area is flooded with light by windows that frame in the second floor deck. Just outside the windows are multiple hummingbird feeders that get plenty of action. The service was the perfect combination of attentive, informative, friendly and fun. The green chile chicken fried steak was amazing! We visited specifically to try this dish and were not disappointed.

On top of great service and food, Ty and Dave (owner) will do whatever it takes to make sure that you leave smiling. I mentioned to Ty that I had not been able to find a place to rent a canoe anywhere nearby. Within 20 minutes we were pulling out of the parking lot with Dave's PERSONAL canoe in the back of our truck on the way to Lake Roberts!

You will have to search high and low to find customer care that comes remotely close to what is offered at Little Toad Creek. So, give yourself a break and let them ensure that you have a wonderful time in the Gila!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gunshow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Hummingbird Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stumbled into Little Toad at about 8pm after a longer than expected drive over the Black Range from T or C. We had intended to tent camp at a campground near the Cliff Dwellings. As Illinois "flat landers" we were concerned about continuing the final leg of our trip in the dark with what looked to be an impending storm. Dave, the owner, assured us that it likely wouldn't rain that night but we decided to stay at Little Toad regardless. We were definitely happy with our decision to do so.

We had a couple of beers at the tavern. They had a great selection of micro brews. We did not eat at the tavern. The owner was very welcoming and informed us of some little known attractions throughout New Mexico.

Our accommodations were spacious and comfortable. The decor was a bit dated, but it appears that they are in the process of renovating many of the rooms. The bedding was great feather, pillows and duvets, very nice!

The best part was viewing all of the hummingbirds the next morning. They were everywhere. I could have sat there for hours watching them feed from what had to be 20 hummingbird feeders located throughout the property.

Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERoeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Little Toad, Big Taste, and Lots of Fun!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Eight of us from Tucson spent the Labor Day weekend in the Silver City, NM (SC) area. On Saturday, we had dinner by reservation at the Little Toad Creek Inn (LTCI) north of SC at the intersection of NM routes 15 (road to Pinos Altos and the Gila Cliff Dwellings National Monument) and 35 (from Lake Roberts and Mimbres, NM). LTCI is a long-needed upgrade to a facility that had been deteriorating over the last 20 years as Grayfeathers Lodge and The Breathe Inn. Now much needed modernization is underway, and judging from the large numbers of customers, it looks like LTCI is on track to success. We arrived early and joined a small crowd in the outdoor garden to listen to a singer and guitar duet doing classical pop tunes. A combination of New Mexico locals and tourists was clearly having fun. We were seated for dinner in the tastefully appointed large dining room featuring lots of local wood decor. The 12-ounce New York strip steak was tender and perfectly medium rare. It was imaginatively served with two small grilled potato cakes, grilled Brussels sprouts, and tastefully seasoned sauteed zucchini. The orange ginger tilapia was superb. The chipotle chicken Alfredo was mildly spicy and delicious, as was the marinated grilled eggplant entrée. The full-size spinach entrée salad featured bacon, dried cranberries, roasted red peppers, red onion, and tender grilled salmon filet with delicious home-made blue cheese dressing. Service was good, although several of the wines listed on their all-American list were sold out. Downstairs under the dining room is small tavern that has a few tables and some comfortable sofa and easy chair seating areas. Food is also available here. LTCI is waiting for its full liquor license and plans to also produce some microbrew beers. This will likely enhance the LTCI experience that is already a thriving and pleasant gourmet addition to the Silver City-Pinos Altos-Mimbres dining and drinking scene.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buckstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't eat in the Tavern, unless you have no place else to eat.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

Having heard all the RAVE reviews about this place, three of us made the lonnnnng trip from Silver City to try it.

When we walked in, the bartender was paying a solo game of pool and there were two dirty tables. We took the only clean one. While we were eating, another party came in and helped him clean up a table to sit at.

Their watermelon/cheese and onion salad was made by the bartender and included STILL FROZEN watermelon. The feta cheese was crumbled and each item was place on the plate seperately. It looked nothing like the one thast is pictured on their website. And described as "Slices of baby seedless watermelon, feta, red onion slivers, basil, & black-berries finished with raspberry vinaigrette". The raspberry vinaigrette was offered as an afterthought.
.
One person had a prime rib sandwich that was made with meat that was not readily identifyable and was not tasty. I had a sandwich that was served w/o any dressing on it.

The creme brulee was excellent.

My friends that rave about the place still rave.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mzwhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tmdbltc, Owner at Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We are so sorry you had a negative experience in the tavern! It seems you were there on a rare "owners day off". We are a new business and still getting a solid staff trained to keep things exceptional through and through. I believe the experience you had was a rare one, not the norm, and we've worked to solve the issues you've mentioned. Our tavern prime rib sandwich generally gets exceptional reviews. The restaurant, open Thursday through Sunday, is run by our top-notch chef. I'm certain you will enjoy his food. When you get the chance please come back and give it another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern also viewed

Been to Little Toad Creek Inn & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing