We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do in Las Cruces”

Double Eagle Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Mesilla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lafaye
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must do in Las Cruces”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

From the outside it does not look much, but step inside it is like a different world. The decor is worth a visit, and the food is great. This is a high end steak house, and the bill will reflect that fact. Perfect place for a special dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    100
    46
    42
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth a short side trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you are driving down I-10 near Las Cruses, it is worth a short drive to Mesilla to this unique restaurant. The place itself if worth a stop but the food is also quite good, with a surprisingly large menu and a bar straight out of the old west. Service can sometimes be a bit spotty, especially if is a extra busy time, but just accept the different pace of old world Mexico, even if you are still in the good ol' USA.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
“Party over 8, forget about service!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

For chip and drink refills had to see the hostess to get service. Not once but twice! And not once did the original waitress see if we doing fine! I guess her mentality is if party is big, she gets automatic tip for the persons seated ! I'm still sitting at table fuming how it seems no one in establishment cares! Poor place! If your looking for service I would recommend another place in the mesilla square!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victor31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sapo60
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“STEAKS TO PERFECTION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were here in June 2014 and enjoyed our experience tremendously. Nice atmosphere, good service and steaks that were tender, juicy and cooked to perfection. We ordered Chateaubriand for 2 and the steaks were excellent and the sides were delicious also: stuffed tomatoes, potatoes and vegetables. Saturday night bonus- 1/2 price bottled wines.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sapo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
461 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Great architecture - walk through even if you don't eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stopped in for drinks when a quick rain shower came through the area. This place is MUCH bigger than it looks from the outside. It has multiple rooms and is beautiful. When you first walk in, there's a bar on the left and a few sitting areas on your right. We ordered one of their special margaritas. Very good but nothing special. We found some seating in one of the rooms which was very cozy. Even if you just go for drinks like we did, walk through the entire restaurant area - it's gorgeous!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RBonTheLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Eagle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Double Eagle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing