We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the World's Largest Green Chile Cheeseburger” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Double Eagle Restaurant

Double Eagle Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Mesilla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tucson
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Skip the World's Largest Green Chile Cheeseburger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We ate twice at Peppers, the more informal restaurant that is in the covered patio of the Double Eagle. The setting is attractive with plants all over, and the service was good both times. On the first visit we had a steak, which was adequate but more a medium rare or medium than the rare ordered, and a good baked potato with all the trimmings. The star of the meal was a coconut flan. The second time we had the World' Largest Green Chile Cheeseburger. It was large, easily the largest we've ever seen, and at $21 it needed to be. But meat was dry, and the strips of green chile covered only the middle of the dish so we had to eat a lot of bread to get to it. The cheese was good but didn't melt the way we expect with the usual GCC. Better ones are found at Blake's. We won't order it here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    99
    45
    41
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Double Eagle is a fantastic place to have a few drinks and some appetizers. I had the brisket tostadas and they were very filling. If you like your food really spicy, definitely ask for the sauce.
This isn't a place you would go to for a huge beer selection, it's more for a quiet and elegant place to have a few drinks and nice food. It is connected to a restaurant, although I didn't have much time to venture in. It is located in a historic part of Mesilla, when you arrive it may feel awkward to park on the street, but it's totally fine. Staff is very friendly and the menu prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrownEyedGirl414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COCOA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

First, this is not a Mexican rest. It's a fine steakhouse. They were running a Thursday night special on prime rib. So I tried it, while keeping my expectations low. It was excellent! So tender with great flavor. The mixed veg was just ok, and the twice baked potato was a little dry. Not bad enough to ruin the meal by any stretch. I really liked it and it was a beautiful place. Great for date night.

Helpful?
1 Thank MICHAEL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good place to have a drink in the bar, that's it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Double Eagle used to be one of my favorites, but after several visits in the past couple months, I probably won't ever go back for the food, but I will stop by for a drink in the bar...one of the best bars in the area for the great ambiance.

During my last visit, the server was fantastic, but the food was almost inedible, and I am not really a picky eater. It has been that way for some time, and sadly has affected the Sunday brunch. What was once a fresh and tasty brunch has turned into a room full of food that sits until someone takes it on their plate, even if it is dried out and looks unappetizing. That is if food is left. Sometimes empty serving containers sit until someone finds the nerve to ask a server if it will be refilled.

I would encourage visitors to stop by to see the building, which really is beautiful inside. Have a drink in the bar and recognize you are paying a little extra for the surroundings, but don't waste your money on the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank newmexicogirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“awesome aged stakes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

the steaks are just awesome the burgers and salad just delicious the Bar has all I mean all you can think off from the best wines to the best tequilas and beer just great best place to take you wife for a romantic dinner just fabulous

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fausto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Eagle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Double Eagle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing